Help me choose my next set of tyres

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Parvin

Re: Help me choose my next set of tyres

Postby Parvin » August 31st, 2010, 3:47 pm

Where you got them and at what price hoss?

I looking to get a set of 4 new 215/45/17

I used the same Direzzas before and they work very well on both wet and dry surfaces to me. But I saw men responses here and it had me thinking.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 31st, 2010, 11:02 pm

De Dragon wrote:How many people recommending tyres here have actually used them? I bought 2 Dunlop Direzzas 245/45/R17 95W last week and will buy 2 more this week and will let all know how they are. Mind you my use is strictly DD!

I am running them on my Evo but based on my power it's is a very unsafe even DD, I guess it's a good thing keeps me in check not to push to hard.

Postby crazybalhead » September 1st, 2010, 6:48 am

Exactly, they kinda scary.

Postby De Dragon » September 5th, 2010, 11:53 pm

Parvin wrote:^^^

Where you got them and at what price hoss?

I looking to get a set of 4 new 215/45/17

I used the same Direzzas before and they work very well on both wet and dry surfaces to me. But I saw men responses here and it had me thinking.

Tyre Clinic in Couva, cost $757 per tyre. 235's were $730, so I guess 215's will run you about $700 per tyre.

Postby De Dragon » September 5th, 2010, 11:54 pm

W2J wrote:
De Dragon wrote:How many people recommending tyres here have actually used them? I bought 2 Dunlop Direzzas 245/45/R17 95W last week and will buy 2 more this week and will let all know how they are. Mind you my use is strictly DD!

I am running them on my Evo but based on my power it's is a very unsafe even DD, I guess it's a good thing keeps me in check not to push to hard.

Kinda defeats the purpose........ no?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » September 12th, 2010, 11:55 pm

i see alot of ppl dont like Dunlops...but from personal experience...if u keep maintaining ur tyres properly (proper rotation, balance, pressure)ay to very good performance. I have these on my lancer bout 6 months now, and i like them..no complaints. Had michelins before that..lasted very long and durable for beat-out driving...nexens (i shame too bad to say dat yes)..and my originals were the bridgestones..
I try long and hard to get dem bridgestones back yes....but expensive yo.. :(

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 13th, 2010, 1:00 pm

^^^same here, cudn't find the Turanza's newhere i looked, went wit d Dunlop DZ101's & hav gotten mor problems dan i tort a HP tyre shud give... performance isn't bad, but it's far from the best!

Postby crazybalhead » September 13th, 2010, 3:38 pm

DZ 101's LOOK like a good deal, nice performancy tread pattern, Ok treadwear rating, great price, good brand name. And they perform OK, but the amount of understeer I used to get with them in solodex was horrible.

They also got very squirelly on the street at about half of their life.

I got a set of tyres, will do a review when mounted.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 13th, 2010, 9:12 pm

Anyone ever heard of or used 'West Lake' tires?

They any good ?

Postby De Dragon » September 13th, 2010, 11:18 pm

Parvin wrote:Anyone ever heard of or used 'West Lake' tires?

They any good ?

Sheitty Chinese crap. A guy who I worked with did some research. Google it!

Postby De Dragon » September 13th, 2010, 11:20 pm

crazybalhead wrote:DZ 101's LOOK like a good deal, nice performancy tread pattern, Ok treadwear rating, great price, good brand name. And they perform OK, but the amount of understeer I used to get with them in solodex was horrible.

They also got very squirelly on the street at about half of their life.

I got a set of tyres, will do a review when mounted.

Actually they look downright sedate when compared to the Maxxis Victras I took off!

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 13th, 2010, 11:28 pm

Parvin wrote:Anyone ever heard of or used 'West Lake' tires?

They any good ?

Sheitty Chinese crap. A guy who I worked with did some research. Google it!

Fuh real.

I saw one article stating that they were blames for a fatal road accident which lead to a recall of all those tires

Postby Dave » September 14th, 2010, 11:55 am

I am going to do a small review of same tyre Crazy would be writing about except I am comparing to the Dunlop Z1 Star Spec.

Much quieter, car moves along quicker since it is a lighter tyre, Ride is smoother, because of the quieter nature i find myself driving harder as ears were tuned for more noise and also the lighter nature, throttle responds seems better. On just one tank of gas, mileage seems also improved with very similiar driving patterns. The Z1 Star spec also is a wide tyre even though it is the same size as the new tyre we are speaking about.

The Z1 star spec is a purposely built tyre and the next most aggresive tyre would be an all out track tyre so from the grip stand point I cannot talk about it as the break in period is approx. 800km's where as I did about 200km's on the new set.

I know the grip is not as the Star Spec but at second place I am sure it won't be too shabby.
Btw, for the ones who didn't click the link to see which tyre we are speaking about, this is the Hankook Ventus V12 Evo and what a more fitting tyre name for an Evo right. LOL
As u were.....

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 14th, 2010, 12:11 pm

Price on those?

Sorry if i missed it before

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 14th, 2010, 5:13 pm

Hey guys.

i kinda narrowed it down now. I'm finding 3 types I'd like to know which you recommend.

Dunlop Direzza 101

Dunlop SP Sport

Sumitomo HTRZ II

Any feedback ?

Postby crazybalhead » September 15th, 2010, 2:42 pm

The SP Sport isn't too bad.

Postby crazybalhead » September 20th, 2010, 7:16 am

Review:

Firstly, this is a nice looking tyre. Nice centre bead, solid shoulder for cornering stability. Off the car the sidewalls felt a little soft, but not bad. The compound by the treads also felt a little soft. The guy putting on the tyres noticed also, this is a good thing. Excellent for grip.

The guy at tyre clinic expertly removed some paint from the lip on my first rim :| and then corrected himself and was careful with the rest after.

Impressions:

These tyres are QUIET. I can hear every suspension noise and the music is much clearer in the car. I did some highway driving and backroad driving. The tyres seem to have a vague turn in on slow speeds but get more direct the faster you go. Sidewalls are somewhat soft, helping the ride, but seem to stand up well on corners. I have been taking it easy, so no tyre squeal or anything yet. Very confidence inspiring. To be quite honest these tyres remind me a LOT of birdgestone RE-01's, they are a little softer, but the characteristics are there.

This was only dry weather, will see what happens in the rain and write some more.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 20th, 2010, 1:11 pm

^^Fantastic choice there sir.

I trust it's the same profile/size as your last set of tyres? (Not sure if I missed that in your review).

Also, IIRC, didn't you use SportMaxx's on your 7? If so, how do the V12's compare to those (slightly different cars not withstanding :lol: )

Postby crazybalhead » September 20th, 2010, 1:56 pm

I still have the sport maxx on the VII rims for sale.

The hankooks are 245-40-18 XL. The XL designation means they are rated for a higher load, and have a stiffer sidewall (good stuff).

The hankooks are quieter. I don't think I really had enough experience with the sportmaxx, but they were very grippy and direct, but a little noisy.

Postby X_Factor » September 20th, 2010, 3:09 pm

"Consistently finishing last in all of the performance categories, the Ling Longs’ dry autocross performance was so far behind the other tires’ that we had to round its score up to zero to keep it from being negative" quote from Page 2

Postby crazybalhead » September 21st, 2010, 10:37 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Fantastic choice there sir.

I trust it's the same profile/size as your last set of tyres? (Not sure if I missed that in your review).

Also, IIRC, didn't you use SportMaxx's on your 7? If so, how do the V12's compare to those (slightly different cars not withstanding :lol: )

Lemme explashimirate a little here eh. The VII and VIII supposed to have the same suspension.

All the VII ever did was understeer and more understeer, with energy suspension bushings and the dunlop tyres.

The VIII on the other hand came with Dunlop 9090's on the stock rims, and while there was still understeer there is significantly less than with the VII, maybe my driving is a little better, but the VIII seems to want to rotate more willingly than the VII.

I really doh understand why. I have had three sets of tyres now on the VIII and same kinda feel, so far the V12's feel the best by far in terms of stability and cornering.

Not too sure if the balance is different or what, but a definite difference.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 21st, 2010, 10:41 am

All the VII ever did was understeer and more understeer,

Doesn't the VII have different caster settings to the 8? That helps! Just sayin eh :lol:

I really doh understand why. I have had three sets of tyres now on the VIII and same kinda feel, so far the V12's feel the best by far in terms of stability and cornering.

Well Unkle CBH......make sure and post how the tyres hold out as time passes by. I wanna see what kinda tread life you guys get. I've had ok life with Sumitomo ZII's (did you ever consider those?) but the grip loss wasn't very progressive.

I figured I'd want to experiment with some RE760Sports on one of the "weekend" cars.....as I've always had nothing but good experiences with Potenzas (both weekend cars on Potenzas...daily car on Kumho Solus's). Thing is...the review you posted has now upset my plan severely :lol:

The V12 seems to have the advantage over the RE760 in both price AND performance. I may have missed this also...but I guess you imported from Tirerack?

And...any reason why you didn't buy say...Sport Z1's or...err..something like that?

Postby crazybalhead » September 21st, 2010, 11:34 am

Z1's was too expensive, and the treadwear is pretty bad, plus they are noisy and I drive my car every day.

Z11's definitely would not have performed as well, probably the same as a DZ101.

The VII and VIII have the same alignment settings, I think.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 21st, 2010, 11:46 am

Ah so the Z1's ARE noisy. Just the answer I was looking for then....thanks! Last question - will you be using these in dex?

Postby crazybalhead » September 21st, 2010, 11:51 am

Perhaps. Depending on the laziness co-efficient. Which is pretty high. But these tyres were not cheap, soooo we will see. I think they will do well in dex. Might try them at least once and see what the damage is.

Postby Dave » September 30th, 2010, 5:12 pm

I have, according to many site, broken in my tyres which is roughly 500miles/800km of varied driving.
I have thrown around the car with all the usual things i used to do with the star specs and quite honestly, the response is no different. On a road course I am sure the difference will be known but so far, there is nothing to call home about.
The squeal when they do, sounds a little strange and as was said in the car and driver article, they feel like they would give up but they never do which is exactly what I felt as well.
I am throughly satisfied with this purchase and no doubt when in need again would be going back with these unless my job relocates me with lesser driving and then it would be star spec time.
Hands down the star specs look beefier and quite righty they are and more sexier than the Hankooks. The Hankooks has the edge in that they have Evo written on the tyre.
I would actually be visiting the dyno soon to see how much of this lesser rotating mass actually equates to more power.

Postby crazybalhead » October 7th, 2010, 1:22 pm

Ok, small update again. These tyres are still very quiet and comfortable. I tried ammmm testing the limit at the caroni roundabout this morning and got a little understeer, which is fine. As Dave said, they sound a little weird. Instead of the usual tyre squeal, there was a kinda quiet growl as they started to lose traction in front. For those antics, they definitely need a lil more pressure. I am currently running 33PSI front and 31 PSI rear.

In the rain they are fantastic. After driving with shitty and semi shitty tyres for a while now, I am more confident in the car's abilities and feel more connected.

Another slightly strange phenomenon, on a wide turn, at 80 kmph, like going up the flyover, when you think you have the right steering angle at first you have to correct a little and put in a little less angle. Weird.

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » October 8th, 2010, 3:28 am

As would anyone recommend Yokohama Advans,but as we all know,kindda impossible to get these locally.There is a place in Cipero Street in San Fernado,can't rem the name exactly, that I got somewhat of a replacement.I'm presently using Nexen's ON MY E8 with no problems.......not exactly what I wanted but its worth a try.

ecktt

Postby ecktt » October 9th, 2010, 10:50 pm

I have a set of Dunlop Direzza DZ101 245/40R17....No suitable for dex at all. Not even good for sprited driving.

Postby crazybalhead » October 18th, 2010, 7:12 am

Very nice for Dex!! Little scrubbing, no setta noise. Slight understeer, but overall very predictable handling, expecially in the wet.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”