Engine number location

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Engine number location

Postby Zh@ne » January 26th, 2010, 8:30 pm

I am looking for the engine number for my 4g63 but i cant seem to find it. I was told it some where the gear box bolts on but i guess i am blind. Can some help.

FYI - its the 4g for my evo 2

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 26th, 2010, 9:09 pm

Cant remember if your gen's box bolts onto the rightside or leftside

I think from the E3 and up the box/tranny is on the left side

Anyway its supposed to be in this general location..the tranny/box is located to the rightside of this pic.

Its engraved onto the block in a very thin lettering.

If you havent engine washed, then i suggest you clean up the block then try to look.

it supposed to be engraved in a way you can see from the front of the car, angled slightly upward

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » January 27th, 2010, 2:11 pm

Buddy, is below the exhaust ports + just above the alternator. Mark it with fluorescent chalk when yuh find it :idea:

venum

Postby venum » January 27th, 2010, 4:40 pm

some carb spray will do the trick

Zh@ne

Postby Zh@ne » January 27th, 2010, 7:16 pm

thanks peeps have a bottle of simple green would take a look at it in the daylight.

Zh@ne

Postby Zh@ne » January 28th, 2010, 6:12 pm

I still can't find it i am seeing some smooth parts on the block but when i clean it nothing is there i found the head cylinder number and the gearbox number ...but no engine :(

Return to “MITSUBISHI”