WTK: Average EVO maintenance ???

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

ronald_22t

WTK: Average EVO maintenance ???

Postby ronald_22t » January 16th, 2008, 2:08 pm

fellas, need some advice on the average maintenance on an EVO 7.....nothing fancy, jus average maintenance....normal wear and tear parts....thanks guys

Postby crazybalhead » January 16th, 2008, 2:49 pm

Do a search on the mitsu forum, or go to www.zorce.com and look for the mitsu madmen forum.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » January 16th, 2008, 2:57 pm

avg maintenance..
per what?
month? year?

Postby crazybalhead » January 16th, 2008, 3:05 pm

That question is too open to get a straight answer actually.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » January 16th, 2008, 3:28 pm

exactly..

my next questions...

what do you want out of the car?>

what is its use?

how many miles per day ?

what is your driving style like..a young kid? or old grandpa? :lol:

Zim

Postby Zim » January 16th, 2008, 3:35 pm

No CT9A wrote:exactly..

my next questions...

what do you want out of the car?>

what is its use?

how many miles per day ?

what is your driving style like..a young kid? or old grandpa? :lol:

ronald_22t

Postby ronald_22t » January 16th, 2008, 4:36 pm

daily driver...jus work and back home about 3 miles...drivin style is hard to say, responsible, but come on i'm drivin an EVO...mindful though (somewhere between young driver and old grandpa) LOL , not wild and "show-offy"....
Maintenance....can't really say per month or year, jus a rough service figure. Could start with basic tune up....thanks again.

Postby crazybalhead » January 17th, 2008, 8:29 am

I have never done a basic "tune up", whatever that is. :shock:

Postby wagonrunner » January 17th, 2008, 8:35 am

crazybalhead wrote:I have never done a basic "tune up", whatever that is. :shock:

boy i hearing some new terms since i come back in this building.

think that is oil+filter change. air filter clean / change and changing spark plugs.

Postby crazybalhead » January 17th, 2008, 9:00 am

Well evo plugs don't have to change like regular copper lugs so never done that, air filter is a stainless steel HKS every now and then take it off and inspect it, never have to change it and never cleaned it really.

So lewwe talk oil change, about $30 for a filter, although a mitsu filter is more closer to $100 and about $60 a quart for 5 quarts of mobil 1.

And yuh good to geow.

Normal wear items like Clutch/PP and release bearing could cost anywhere from 4000-12,000 depending on brand

tires, again depending on brand

Brake pads 800 in front (HAWK) to 3000 (Original brembo pads)

Bushings, depends again on brand, about $1700 for an energy suspension kit, and more to install.

Dunno if that helps.

Labour for these things? Check yuh local mechanic.

ronald_22t

Postby ronald_22t » January 17th, 2008, 9:12 am

ok fellas to make things simple.....average maintenance for the year :
Daily driver (work and back approx. 3 miles)..
Responsilble driver
Cost of regular parts (brakes, bushings, etc.)

Postby crazybalhead » January 17th, 2008, 9:20 am

Did you read my post man?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » January 17th, 2008, 10:05 am

ronald_22t wrote:daily driver...jus work and back home about 3 miles...drivin style is hard to say, responsible, but come on i'm drivin an EVO...mindful though (somewhere between young driver and old grandpa) LOL , not wild and "show-offy"....
Maintenance....can't really say per month or year, jus a rough service figure. Could start with basic tune up....thanks again.

clutch- one of the first problems...will need to be replaced with aftermarket.

brake pads- Last for a reasonable time depending on driving style. However, original pads are expensive, but expect to pay about $2,000 for good pads.

fuel- You not really going far. But if you drive it hard..expect to spend tons of money on gas. A fast drive to grand bazaar from sando and back would empty a full tank for me.

Various- Expect to find random problems....TPS sensors, air flow sensors, leaky radiators, whining transfer case, grinding from gearbox etc..are all common problems imo...many owners have reported this as well as many other issues.
Although some are small issues...parts are relatively hard to find and if you do...are very expensive.

it's a great car..don't get me wrong..but at the same time don't be fooled by the fact that you can have an evo 7 for $140-$150K..seems to be a great bargain..
but running costs and maintenance are a beyatch! :?

Postby Dave » January 17th, 2008, 10:11 am

x case and diff oil is every 15k km

the parts are available for them but in some cases, has to be imported and helps to have a lil inventory of some items :mrgreen:

once u recognise what u have then u would understand when certain things need be done

60k km is the timing, balance shaft belts and the tensioners that goes with them
it takes 1 drive belt(crank and accesories) and not so available so keep one always or change at intervals, don't want to shut down for this

The car is about maintainence and helps to have some items always at hand as u just cannot walk into any parts place and get what u want

obeiron

Postby obeiron » January 17th, 2008, 11:16 am

Good advice by all. Depending on your driving style, the clutch may not be a problem...just don't launch the car!

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » January 17th, 2008, 2:29 pm

paid 600 for rear hawk pads and 890 for front....

oil change with oil and filter - 400
other fluids change , gearbox ayc etc - 1200
timing belt - 900
gas - in de millions
clutch change - 4500 plus 1000 labour ACT

Look on No CT9A''s face when i pass him on the highway last week in that black thing

PRICELESS :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ronald_22t

Postby ronald_22t » January 19th, 2008, 9:26 am

thanks for the info guys, really helpful....now to experience it first hand...lol

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 19th, 2008, 10:24 am

No CT9A wrote:...A fast drive to grand bazaar from sando and back would empty a full tank for me.

Jeezus!... and I thought my milage was bad.
Damn good reason for me to stay away from bigger Garrett GT turbos for a daily driver.

ronald_22t with the average costs posted, this might help for the actual Maintenance
schedule. Info is the same for Evo 7... and most of it suitable for Evo 4-6 too.

Link--> The Tuners' Guide - Inside Lancer Evolution VIII RS/GSR/MR

BTW the best "bang-for-the-buck" disk pads so far seem to be Ferodo DS 2500.
Stops better than OEM pads. Cheaper too and not as harsh on stock rotors as some other aftermarket pads.

My $0.02¢

adri21

Postby adri21 » April 27th, 2008, 8:46 pm

WTK. from sando to pos, under normal driving condition, how much fuel would a evo 7 burn. When i say normal driving condition i mean, not launching, no racing on the hi-way, driving about 120KM or so.

:?

Postby crazybalhead » April 28th, 2008, 9:33 am

Depends on your set-up. My car gets about 280KM's to a tank with highway driving. That is about 110-115 bucks.

You could do the rest of maths. :lol:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 28th, 2008, 1:33 pm

Dave wrote:x case and diff oil is every 15k km

the parts are available for them but in some cases, has to be imported and helps to have a lil inventory of some items :mrgreen:

once u recognise what u have then u would understand when certain things need be done

60k km is the timing, balance shaft belts and the tensioners that goes with them
it takes 1 drive belt(crank and accesories) and not so available so keep one always or change at intervals, don't want to shut down for this

The car is about maintainence and helps to have some items always at hand as u just cannot walk into any parts place and get what u want

U said 60K for timing belt. How come not 100K?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 28th, 2008, 1:46 pm

Never mind...

Courtesy Mitsubishi Lancer Register. Evo Owner's manual

http://rapidshare.com/files/111084825/M ... 0.pdf.html

hmph

Postby hmph » April 28th, 2008, 1:46 pm

U said 60K for timing belt. How come not 100K?

MISHI, that is typical for Evos,

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 28th, 2008, 3:20 pm

But isn't that under severe driving conditions?

Postby Dave » April 28th, 2008, 4:23 pm

u know what, about that timing belt thing, most of the data comes from the US and their dashes are marked up in miles so when they say 60k is miles which is our approx 100k km

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 28th, 2008, 8:02 pm

OK.. (whew)

adri21

Postby adri21 » November 24th, 2008, 5:59 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Depends on your set-up. My car gets about 280KM's to a tank with highway driving. That is about 110-115 bucks.

is evo 8 parts hard to get in trinidad?
what is the avg miles per gallon on an evo 8?

obeiron

Postby obeiron » November 24th, 2008, 8:11 pm

adri21 wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Depends on your set-up. My car gets about 280KM's to a tank with highway driving. That is about 110-115 bucks.

is evo 8 parts hard to get in trinidad?
what is the avg miles per gallon on an evo 8?

The usual filters, brake pads, rotors etc are easy to source. Never had to look for body part or anything else to be honest but what you can't find locally you should be able to import from the US/UK.

The tank in the evo 8 is a little larger at 55 litres so it's $220 per tank and as crazybalhead mentioned you'll get around 280km with that or less based on your driving style.

daymean

Postby daymean » November 24th, 2008, 10:40 pm

most of the 3rd generation evos (evo7-9) are interchangable....so they aren't hard to get especially since mitsu start selling them in the us.
and yes the timing belt issue is as dave said 60K miles or 100K kms. (i made sure and checked this as my evo has now crossed 60K kms and i did the research).

adri21

Postby adri21 » November 25th, 2008, 4:34 pm

WTK--would it be a problem to use super gas instead of permium?
super has a octane of 92
and premium has a octane of 95

would super gas affect the engine/injectors in any bad way?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”