RORO VEHICLE MILAGE

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

anthonyanthony

RORO VEHICLE MILAGE

Postby anthonyanthony » November 1st, 2008, 10:10 am

I notice a lot of people i know purchasing roro lancers such as 2003-2005
modles with price range between 98k- 110k with very low milage.
some are betwween 20k - 25k.

for vehicles this age these milage are very low, do the ppl in these countries do very little driving or are their standard of living so good that
a car can be changed like clothes.

or is somehow the milage can be rolled back, I saw 'CHRISTINE' on TCM
channel and notice as the car drives the odometer moves backwards, at the begining of the show the car had 98k miles on it and at the end of show car had close to 00 miles on it ( be aware d car was controlled by an entity'

kress1981

Postby kress1981 » November 1st, 2008, 11:10 am

bump

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » November 3rd, 2008, 4:51 pm

My 2003 lancer came with approx. 19k on the odometer (and I bought it last year), but the bonnet doesn't line up exact (yes I examined it with a measuring tape). It could be that somebody lean up on it and deform it, or it could be that it got into a minor accident where it came from and the owner had it sitting there for a while collecting dust before it was fixed and shipped over here.

But really, who knows? The owners could have probably lived within 5 mins of their workplace so they never really had much driving to do.

anthonyanthony wrote:are their standard of living so good that
a car can be changed like clothes

I think there's a law in japan (and other places) stating that a vehicle must be sold after a certain period of time... or something like that. I think.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 3rd, 2008, 10:00 pm

^^^ yeah japan law like dat wid d changing car thing.

ppl also rewind the odometers at japan when shipping...or so i've heard.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 4th, 2008, 9:10 am

^^they do

QG

Postby QG » November 4th, 2008, 11:56 am

*yikes* :|

I got my CS3 at 38K :shock: .

The car dealer whom I bought it from (neigbor), he goes online and gets the exact mileage of any vehicles that he purchases. He shows u (optional) it before the car is imported.

*Of course the mileage will raise a bit from the web...after driving it from POS dock to San Fernando at dealers location etc etc.
Point is the customer has an idea of the mileage they will be getting.

QG

Postby QG » November 4th, 2008, 11:56 am

u either buy it or leave it :lol:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 4th, 2008, 12:11 pm

they are rolled back, talk done.
bring in ur car urself or with someone you kno and you'll get the real story.

things to look for are any markings on ur dash near ur IP and
the screws around ur IP shouldnt look tampered with.

check ur belts for cracking

also check ur engine bay, gas tank cover, inside the doors, or under ur bonnet for any jap/spore labels with anything that looks like a mileage count.
mine has one in the inside of the trunk.

look for wear on ur steering wheel, gear shifter, hand brake, driver door upholstery and floor mats

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 4th, 2008, 12:40 pm

idlemind wrote:they are rolled back, talk done.

also check ur engine bay, gas tank cover, inside the doors, or under ur bonnet for any jap/spore labels with anything that looks like a mileage count.

look for wear on ur steering wheel, gear shifter, hand brake, driver door upholstery and floor mats

Question.. So then for a digital meter would roll back be easier... just hook it up to some kinda devise and "reset" it.
My car came from Singapore and it was virtually new.. mats, pedels everything...
I read an atricle about std of liing in Signapore and they use their cars a lot more than Japanese do but they change them faster..

QG

Postby QG » November 4th, 2008, 12:52 pm

Oleander wrote:
idlemind wrote:they are rolled back, talk done.

Question.. So then for a digital meter would roll back be easier... just hook it up to some kinda instrument and "reset" it.
My car came from Singapore and it was virtually new.. mats, pedels everything... .
I read an atricle about std of living in Signapore and they use their cars a lot more than Japanese do but they change them faster..

Singapore just may use their cars more in Japan. My CS3 came from singapore 38K on it :(

To be honest whether u have a digital meter or not, it is not difficult to rollback a mileage on a car. Most roro dealers does do it and fool people.

An electrician showed me a simple way to keep your ODO meter low..disconnecting a wire! It remains just as while u drive about the car...when ready to sell the car, people will get fooled by the low mileage :D .

You must use discretion...can't over do it.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 4th, 2008, 12:59 pm

Singapore just may use their cars more in Japan. My CS3 came from singapore 38K on it

:o Mine was around 37k

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 4th, 2008, 1:16 pm

Mine was about the same, and my family brought it down for me.
theres a thread somewhere about buying roro vehicles and rolling back mileage.

and dont get it wrong, these electronic meters imo jus made it easier to rollback, think! they dont even need to physically get to the counter, jus to ur ecu. and how easily is that done via that nice lil plug above ur left knee.

the biggest giveaway for roro age is the wear and tear and those lil jap tags that these local dealers here forget to pull off

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 4th, 2008, 11:31 pm

theres a thread somewhere about buying roro vehicles and rolling back mileage.

When checking out a roro car

maniac kid

Postby maniac kid » November 5th, 2008, 9:02 am

never really study that. Them dealers sad yes. good info

QG

Postby QG » November 5th, 2008, 12:15 pm

maniac kid wrote:never really study that. Them dealers sad yes. good info

Boy that's life yes. Everybody out to rob yuh and make money in their pockets.

NuffRespect
Location: In Partycrasher Office, to the left of Spongebobb and to the right of Partycrasher!

Postby NuffRespect » November 5th, 2008, 12:24 pm

i think we should be able to get a somewhat fair idea if the mileage is near to what it really should be dpending on the condition of the vehicle inside and outside and even the engine bay and trunk area, not to mention the undercarriage.

QG

Postby QG » November 5th, 2008, 12:32 pm

NuffRespect, I've seen my neighbor (car dealer) cleaned and bring back a car looking brand new/ or close to brand new.

He does painting over of the vehicles (when needed) and BODY WORK (where applicable). Under washing and putting new car mats and car seats etc...buff and polish his cars...he REPAIRS ALL DENTS/ SCRATCHES before he sells it to his customers.

You would be amazed! (From Run down to New look).
That's why his prices does be a lil hot though.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 5th, 2008, 1:32 pm

is true...when there is money to be made honesty is sacrificed.
:(

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » November 7th, 2008, 11:47 am

Oleander wrote:
Singapore just may use their cars more in Japan. My CS3 came from singapore 38K on it

:o Mine was around 37k

My 19k (odometer) was from Singapore too :(

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » November 7th, 2008, 7:35 pm

if you guys go on an sg sites you will realise that the owners cars have a lot more milage than that, in trinidad you can even get the first digit knocked off for $700 so hem must be doing it

www.lancerexclub.com is a web site for the o8 lancers and the guys there cars already cross 40 k+, they also speak about "dekitting" where they remove all the goodies of the cars and sell them or pass over to friends

Postby equipped2ripp » November 8th, 2008, 4:09 am

ROLLBACK mileage

Return to “MITSUBISHI”