idle noisey?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

iamjack

idle noisey?

Postby iamjack » September 28th, 2008, 9:57 pm

hey peeps
recently my car start idling pretty noisey which has gotten to be very annoying
someone mentioned it couldve probably been my airfilter, i have the stock box filter, so i changed the filter today and its still abit noisey
what else do you suspect can be the problem?

ive got a local ck4 lancer

thanks a heap!

Postby *KRONIK* » September 28th, 2008, 10:22 pm

how u mean idling noisy???

iamjack

Postby iamjack » September 28th, 2008, 10:40 pm

umm when i start the car in the morning and its warming up, its pretty loud or even when the car on park, its worst if the a/c is on as well

noisy = loud

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » September 29th, 2008, 2:01 pm

IAC vavle maybe dirty!!!!!!

Postby ronsin1 » September 29th, 2008, 2:28 pm

what's the RPM like when you are at idle

fras

Postby fras » September 29th, 2008, 6:37 pm

describe the sound nah... where it comin from and what it sound like :roll:

Postby *KRONIK* » September 29th, 2008, 9:39 pm

fras wrote:describe the sound nah... where it comin from and what it sound like :roll:

i was tinkin around them same lines :? :? :?

iamjack

Postby iamjack » September 29th, 2008, 10:33 pm

heard it could be a bearing?
my idle is around 600-800rpm

still thinking how to describe a sound via words
will return when i do

thanks for the advice thus far

venum

Postby venum » September 30th, 2008, 8:17 am

well :?:

iamjack

Postby iamjack » October 1st, 2008, 1:18 am

i think its the engine
when im warming up the car, i kinda accelerate it cause it cuts off when its cold
when im driving and accelerating, the engine seems strained and i think thats where the noise is coming from, its really noisey, like a strained noise when im accelerating

fras

Postby fras » October 1st, 2008, 7:40 am

i still lost u know :roll:

Postby ronsin1 » October 1st, 2008, 8:11 am

mee too can't help unless I know what it sounds like

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 1st, 2008, 12:25 pm

CK, CS, CY lime on the 19th @ Dex, bring the noise maker

or

the mitsucrew spose to be having a garage day soon
Image da fella ^

iamjack

Postby iamjack » October 1st, 2008, 10:02 pm

noise maker lol

someone told me it could probably be my exhaust manifold cracked or has a leak
tomorrow im going to the mechanic, so hopefully it'd be solved

fras

Postby fras » October 2nd, 2008, 11:41 am

iamjack up to now u ent tell we where the noise coming from or what it sound like...

idlemind wrote:CK, CS, CY lime on the 19th @ Dex, bring the noise maker

Postby ronsin1 » October 2nd, 2008, 12:08 pm

I lil birdie told me that on the 19th it might just be the biggest crew turn out ever :mrgreen:

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » October 2nd, 2008, 12:26 pm

ORLY :cry: and i'll be in bago that weekend :cry:

jab2001ph

Postby jab2001ph » October 2nd, 2008, 1:58 pm

may be...
1. try checking your idle servo motor if it moves back and forht by reversing the battery voltage
2. idle speed control
3. MAF sensor
4. TPS
hope this helps

jab2001ph

Postby jab2001ph » October 2nd, 2008, 2:00 pm

oops when you reverse the battery i mean, the supply voltage of the motor, try reversing it.

iamjack

Postby iamjack » October 2nd, 2008, 2:23 pm

hey guys
thank you for being patient and helpful despite how vague i was by trying to describe the noise
i went to the mechanic and he referred me to an Auto A/C guy
cause apparently it was the bearing that was bad (need to stop going through flood, thats what weared it down after awhile he said)
it was a long day, to get the bearing out, buying a new one then going to the machine shop, had to go back in and then gas the A/C up cause it had to be drained to remove the bearing

fras

Postby fras » October 2nd, 2008, 4:27 pm

good u got that sorted out... noise on a car not easy

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 2nd, 2008, 4:33 pm

now theres a fella that drives with AC on right thru :lol: :lol: :lol:

fras

Postby fras » October 2nd, 2008, 4:43 pm

who that

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 2nd, 2008, 4:47 pm

boss here coulda take off the AC and realise the problem long time :lol:

sickolancergyal

Postby sickolancergyal » October 2nd, 2008, 8:01 pm

Hey where did u get the a/c bearing i need one and how much did it cost. No where had

one and i didn't want to unmount a bearing just so they know if any other bearing can

work. I have the same problem...idling loud bcuz of the bearing. Never change it in

the 10 years we had the car. lol

iamjack

Postby iamjack » October 2nd, 2008, 10:20 pm

idlemind wrote:now theres a fella that drives with AC on right thru :lol: :lol: :lol:

with this heat, even in the night i need on that A/C when im driving :lol:

i got the bearing in chaguanas, considering you're from Arima "sickolancergyal" thats gonna be kinda far
i paid $200 for it
machine shop charged $50 to press it in
and labour was $600 :( i guessing refilling the gas for the AC is expensive
i felt $850 poorer

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 3rd, 2008, 8:57 am

anything AC-wise is expensive.

car know when is monthend yes

Postby ronsin1 » October 3rd, 2008, 12:39 pm

I going by the A/C guy middle of this month I have to change Dryer and expansion valve then re-gas might cost me a little over $600.00 (my estimated price)

sickolancergyal

Postby sickolancergyal » October 4th, 2008, 12:02 am

Are u kidding i drive all over the place. lol will be in chaguanas tom. where u got it ????

I'm was going to my mechanic who normally charges a low cost. but now i studying if i

shld if he has to gas the a/c back. what u guys think ?? I guess i'll ask him.

iamjack

Postby iamjack » October 6th, 2008, 6:52 am

can't remember the name of the parts place, will find out today
and call you back

to change the bearing firstly you have to drain the gas and then gas it back when you're finished
so the answer is yes, you'd have to gas it back if you want the A/C

Return to “MITSUBISHI”