mitsu cedia assistance (Need Serious Help!!)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

jwf iles

mitsu cedia assistance (Need Serious Help!!)

Postby jwf iles » September 15th, 2008, 8:15 pm

Good evening gentlemen.

I have or had an awd 2001 cedia and the tranny went bad. my mechanic told me he could source one for 7700. Gave him the money, got the tranny, but when he put it in the gears were not engaging. He tried to rebuild it, but could not get the belt for the awd tranny.

He then suggested that i convert it to fwd. So I agreed. it would require some re-wiring, changing the axles. So I was fine with that. He then said it would cost an extra 2800. ( 400 x 2 for the axles, 300 for the harness or something, between 800 - 1000 for the re-wiring and 11 quarts of cvt fluid which was for about 65 per quart).

To make a long story short:-

had to pay 3800 extra because the tranny mount at the bottom with the suspension was not lining up with the fwd tranny. He had to trade it in to get the fwd suspension to work.

fwd tranny worked for two days and i started to hear a noise.
He said it was the transmission so we had to exchange it. That took him a week.

Got another tranny, after three days it started to make a noise. carried the car for him to hear the noise in the evening. and he told me to bring it in the morning. Next morning the car reversed out the driveway, made it up the street and couldn't move to go on the main road. None of the gears were engaging.

(trying to make a long story short here fellas! :) )

Anyway, the mechanic diagnose that it was the torque converter. Checked it at chag auto and it was bad. Repaired it for 800.

Put up the tranny with the re-conditioned converter and the tranny did not work.

So now i have to get another. The mechanic indicated that the tranny was under warranty for a month.

I am still under warranty, however, if i do get one, who can i go by to check what the mechanic has done would work and does not give me anymore trouble?

I just have a feeling that he maybe either overlooking something or filing up the tranny too much (not sure if that would damage it) because the gauge reads over the full mark when the car is off.

CAN YOU GUYS HELP ME HERE????? :?: :cry: :cry:

Very frustrated right now! :evil: :evil:

I already ran out of money. its over 14k so far. because everytime a tranny is replace i have to buy more cvt fluid 11quarts.

Do you have any advice??? :?:

Also can someone give me a link for cedia engine and tranny maintenance so that i can avoid any more problems????? :?:

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 15th, 2008, 8:19 pm

Fellas, I forgot to say that i'm from central. So anyone i the near vicinity to help would be greatly appreciated as a first preference.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 16th, 2008, 8:56 am

wow guy...thats real stress.

there is only one person i know here with a awd cedia, his name is Jeewan
pm him and see if he can help you out.

did ur mechanic confirm part numbers in the first instance u changed the tranny?
plus u didn mention anything bout the ecu

was it replaced? or reprogrammed to facilitate the fwd?
im not even sure if this is reprogrammable eh.

but ur issue smellin like electrics more than mechanical

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 16th, 2008, 6:36 pm

Partner!

Dat is a good question. I will have to find that out. But if that was not done, what do i need to do?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 17th, 2008, 10:35 am

good question.

first u need to get the part number for the tranny ecu for the awd and compare it to the ecu for the regular cvt if u kno anyone with one.

ecu located behind the glove compartment (which can easily pop out)

need more CS gurus in on this one

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » September 18th, 2008, 4:55 pm

pal after that first 7700 you spend you should have insisted you get back your $ or a replacement tranny....... because you would have some sort of warrenty anyway we off that.......

PM me the chassie # of your car i want to verify the mount parts #'s
also what side wheels you have on the car

i feel i would have to take a look at the car or can you post pics?, before i offer any suggestion

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 18th, 2008, 6:59 pm

Spoke to one of the mechanics and everytime they change the tranny, they change the ECU as well.

When the mechanic went to get the last tranny exchanged, the dealer told him that we were over the warranty by three days.

As he and the mechanic are partners, what he did was replace the tranny but without warranty.

I realised that it is a risk i am taking but when you buy a transmission, you only get 7 days warranty. And the way my mechanic moves, it would take him two days to slap in the transmission as well as if he had to take it out. So if it work good for a couple days in my possession, i would still be loosing out.

So I checked the mechanic today. They mounted up the tranny but when is time for the car to move, it was labouring. is like when a manual in 3 or 4 and trying to go from a stand still.

He told me that he would get the man who did the re-wiring to check over the car and run a diagnostic to eliminate any electrical problems.

If there is no electrical problems, he will have to open the tranny to see what going on.

This type of thing real discouraging. I'm at my wits end with this one. thinking about selling it and getting the one right after it that diamond motors still selling. The problem is I feel that I'm not going to get a good price for it. :cry:

I like my ride and i want it back in working condition.

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 18th, 2008, 7:12 pm

This is what the car looks like.

JUS4SHO
I will get some more pics. But do you need anything in particular?

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 18th, 2008, 7:16 pm

Another thing.

I have the old transmission in parts but the cross member the mechanic exchanged it to get a cheaper price on the fwd cross member. So is like i almost can't go back. :(

Anyway,

if it is possible to find out what would work with my engine and electronics, that might be my best bet.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » September 19th, 2008, 4:01 pm

some thing not right eh cause i use the chassie # yuh send me and all the part numbers for all the engine mounts is the same thing as thoes for the fwd cedia and the cs3a export market lancer :shock:

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 19th, 2008, 7:21 pm

Suppose to know tommorrow what the electrician say about the car. The mechanic suppose to get a diagnostic done when they finish check through the car.

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 22nd, 2008, 6:35 pm

electrician said everything is ok with the wiring. However, they suspect that the transmission brain box could be the culprit giving trouble. My mechanic said he will see if he can get one to test to confirm that the box is the cause. If that doesn't work, my mechanic will open the tranny to see what's going on.

Any other analysis from the gurus out there???

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » September 22nd, 2008, 8:52 pm

what was the transmission fluid pressure reading when he did the mechanic did the scan on the car let me know this asap... i will will give you a troubleshooting path to see what has failed

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 23rd, 2008, 9:58 pm

will try to get reading from him. got an update that the brain box for the tranny was faulty my mechanic said but the car still not running properly. He has to check the solenoids in the tranny to see if they're good. He got a brain box for the tranny costing 800. is that a good price??

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » September 24th, 2008, 6:24 am

he can tell if a solenoids is bad if a proper scan was done ...

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 24th, 2008, 7:44 am

partner! :shock: Now yuh scaring meh! Because i getting the feeling that somebody don't know what they doing.

Will have to check him tomorrow and see how things going. I'm starting to think something wrong with the transmission itself now. Problem is i have no choice but to let him go through the motions to get it up and running before i can try someone else.

Not making excuses but i have been with this mechanic for almost 10yrs and he seems to know his stuff. As this situation happen because he source the parts and put it up himself, he is obligated to make sure it running properly. Ah mean, is yuh rep getting affected here.

I do realise i have to take the car to a specialist but i want to make sure all my bases are covered. So far, the only thing i know i have to pay for right now is the brain box and probably solenoids if they bad. Labour, he will have to stand that bounce. :|

Anyway, i think he using his connections to get to do the testing and relying on their word on it. Will ask him to see if he can get a read out from the diagnostic.

Appreciate the consult JUS4SHO. If you have any more options, let me know. Thanks

jwf iles

Postby jwf iles » September 27th, 2008, 2:18 pm

Spoke to the mechanic and there is apparently no problem with the solenoids. He took it for another scan this morning. I asked him about getting a read out and he indicated that the machine the electrician is using does not give you a print out of the scan. Everything is done on screen. I don't know if it's b/s but i definitely don't know what to do know. :roll:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”