Holy mother...I did not know my evo was fast...

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

scientist

Postby scientist » February 12th, 2008, 6:53 pm

I considered going defi for my setup, then I started doing a lot of reading and settled on some STRi gauges which are a great alternative. They are very acurate and come with damn good sending units and reading units.

I bought a 30psi boost, Oil pressure and EGT for my car.

THe STRI goes up to 45psi

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 12th, 2008, 7:25 pm

exactly...
check back my post..I said I paid $6,000 for those gauges...and $453TTD shipping through my skybox delivered to my door.

that totals $6453..nearly $1500 less than what you are quoting..

W2J wrote:DF04404 2 3/8" BF Oil Press. (Amber) (0 to 140PSI) $1959.00
DF04504 2 3/8" BF Fuel Press. (Amber) $1959.00
DF04804 2 3/8" BF Exhaust Temp. (Amber) $1959.00
DF04704 2 3/8" BF Water Temp. (Amber) $1350.00
DF05002 Control Unit II (Ver. 2) $690.00

Total $7917.00
landed in Trinidad with all taxes and duty

No CT9A wrote:
W2J wrote:Fasial you were robbed and I feel you like it that way :wink: . Tein distributes for Defi in the US and I am sure by now somebody would have told you who is the dealer for tein locally :lol:

[quote="No CT9A"][quote="Sneaky Pete"][quote="hmph"][quote]
what brand/series you getting for that price?

So I'll be using a stewart warner gauge for this instead. 8-)

would like to know how much you would have charged me for this..

I paid $960USD for the above...
I still dont think it's that bad..

but would still like your price to compare for future purchases I may have.[/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote]

W2J

Postby W2J » February 12th, 2008, 8:35 pm

^ so shipping was free and no 35% duty and 15% vat was charged then ? I quoted final prices

$960 * 6.33 = $6076.00 (us to TT conversion)
$6076 *.09 = $546.84 (Freight)
$6076 + $546.84= $6622.84 (CIF)
$6622.84 * 35% = $2317.99 (duty)
$6622.84 + $2317.99 = $8,940.83
$8940 * 15% = $10,281.00

What you was suppose to pay legally is $10.281.00

Jameel

Postby Jameel » February 12th, 2008, 8:53 pm

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 13th, 2008, 9:12 am

W2J wrote:^ so shipping was free and no 35% duty and 15% vat was charged then ? I quoted final prices

$8940 * 15% = $10,281.00

I can scan my shipping bills as well...
Either way..I paid $6453...FINAL price..to my door.

All my small parts were brought in by me....and I paid substantially less than anyone here is selling for

W2J

Postby W2J » February 13th, 2008, 9:53 am

No CT9A wrote:
W2J wrote:^ so shipping was free and no 35% duty and 15% vat was charged then ? I quoted final prices

$8940 * 15% = $10,281.00

All my small parts were brought in by me....and I paid substantially less than anyone here is selling for

but in the end you do understand what I am trying to say right ? the only way you could have gotten this at the price is either

1. you walk it through customs and did not declare it.
2. Incorrect or no Values were declared.

hmph

Postby hmph » February 13th, 2008, 9:55 am

two of you know that this was in the past right? lol

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 13th, 2008, 10:03 am

W2J wrote:
No CT9A wrote:

$8940 * 15% = $10,281.00

but in the end you do understand what I am trying to say right ? the only way you could have gotten this at the price is either

mmhmmm...that's it...

Postby Razkal » February 13th, 2008, 10:30 am

^I callin babylon now...yuh nasty mc :|
that car will never see the road! :x atleast not with gauges :lol:

W2J

Postby W2J » February 13th, 2008, 10:31 am

No CT9A wrote:
W2J wrote:
No CT9A wrote:

$8940 * 15% = $10,281.00

mmhmmm...that's it...

aarrritteee scene.... :D next time buddy give me an opportunity to put some food on the table and get some pampers too nah :lol:

Postby Razkal » February 13th, 2008, 10:38 am

^ :lol: :lol:
know how long i didnt hear somebody wanna "eat-ah-food" :lol:

hmph

Postby hmph » February 13th, 2008, 10:39 am

Razkal, where i could get all the fluids for the evo?

W2J

Postby W2J » February 13th, 2008, 10:47 am

^ hmph whats the scene with your uncle bro you forget me ?

hmph

Postby hmph » February 13th, 2008, 10:50 am

W2J, boy that MC hard to get in contact with, but he dont wanna bring in cars again..and is not my uncle!! lol

but i trying to arrange with a next F-used dealer but he sticking!..

jeez and ages i hate waiting on ppl!

dont get the wrong idea i did not forget u...i not like that.

but i wanna find out about the meth/water injection kit u were taking bout for the future? :D

W2J

Postby W2J » February 13th, 2008, 11:00 am

^ Right now his R34 waiting on me for parts LOL.... and he don't even know who it coming from.. the Water injection kits I have instock check www.coolingmist.com for more details.

Gerrard

hmph

Postby hmph » February 13th, 2008, 11:09 am

well i need a lil help Razkal bring yuh self!

i dont know anything about water injection.so will read up ..but these for $3000.00
have the failsafe etc?

reading up on it now..

^ Right now his R34 waiting on me for parts LOL

what he doing with that now?!?

Postby 16 cycles » February 13th, 2008, 11:16 am

Sneaky Pete, a couple questions...

what's the ambient temp up there?

U said u're back to using the stock air box....are u using an aftermarket air filter? if so....any noticeable diff?

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » February 14th, 2008, 8:33 pm

Razkal wrote:^take yuh time on the road killa :lol: place wet these days 8)

i dont suggets you buy the UEGO wideband now though..

1) Your car is stock so there isn't improvements to be made via tuning now plus there is a wideband available for use at most dynos locally.
2) It costs $$ as well
3) Buying and leaving in the sensor will allow it to get clogged so to speak or nasty and by the time you actually need to use it for tuning, it'll not be able to produce accurate a/f ratios. when i bought mine i bought a replacement sensor with it.

I'll have to disagree with you on these three points.

1) Most stock evos in Trinidad can make a vast improvement by tuning...especially when stock. I've seen 10-20 counts of knock @ WOT on local evos. The cars feels like it's being held back because it's pulling sooo much timing. Beyond this you can make some more power by leaning things out slightly...the stock maps are pig rich...log with a wideband and you'll see. You can also tune the boost profile and boost error correction. In fact you can control boost via wategate duty cycle or load so that irrespective of atmospheric conditions you'll slways run the exact boost you set. This knock elimination costs nothing...and all u need is a wb02 for the fuel tuning.

The JDM evo IX's come with a 3bar MAP sensor which can be used as a tuning aid to smooth out your boost curve. This is essentially what the tuner did to Pete's car, except he is using the pill method rather than load based control. There are 4 pills you can buy on evolutionm which will replace the stock pill. Each pill will allow for a different amount of restriction in the line and allows you too push more boost than you otherwise would stock. As Pete pointed out the pills cost $25 US

On evo IX's there's also some low end torque to be gain via adjustments to the mivec Mivec map. cost - free

2) An innovative LC-1 kit cost $200 US, that's not much, especially considering it's probably the most important tuning aid you'll ever buy.

3) A WB02 sensor (on a permanent install) is supposed to be mount between 10 and 2 o'clock before the catalytic converter precisely to avoid residue and water build up. Innovative make specific reference to this on their website. The only way you'll reduce the life of the sensor is if you mount it at 6 o'clock where it'll be exposed to water condensation. Also, if you mount it after the catalytic converter you'll obtain void readings in your logs.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » February 14th, 2008, 8:48 pm

I forgot to tell Pete well done. I especially like the lean AFRs down low to aid spool up. EcuFlash and EvoScan are the future of tuning :D

Do u know if he installed a JDM IX 3Bar Map sensor, or possibly a 3.5Bar GM Map?

Postby Razkal » February 15th, 2008, 1:46 am

R. Mutt, thanks for the clear up though 8)
was just my perception of the tuning a stock jdm evo there, forgot here would be a different situation.
anything over $1000 is expensive eh bro! :lol: :lol:
and i didnt even know innovate suggested or recommended rather, mounting positions for the 02 sensor, i'll read up on it, i had mine mounted at about 45* to a horizontal, just thought was common sense to avoid residue build up...

But wouldnt the sensor eventually wear out due to residue etc no matter what angle its mounted at? or atleast loose accuracy? ive heard from several tuners that this occurs when widebands are mounted permanently...

hmph

Postby hmph » February 15th, 2008, 3:42 am

Most stock evos in Trinidad can make a vast improvement by tuning...especially when stock. I've seen 10-20 counts of knock @ WOT on local evos. The cars feels like it's being held back because it's pulling sooo much timing. Beyond this you can make some more power by leaning things out slightly...the stock maps are pig rich...log with a wideband and you'll see. You can also tune the boost profile and boost error correction. In fact you can control boost via wategate duty cycle or load so that irrespective of atmospheric conditions you'll slways run the exact boost you set. This knock elimination costs nothing...and all u need is a wb02 for the fuel tuning.

true! terribly sad though..most evo men dont even consider this..thank god i did!

But wouldnt the sensor eventually wear out due to residue etc no matter what angle its mounted at? or atleast loose accuracy? ive heard from several tuners that this occurs when widebands are mounted permanently...

i heard this as well my cousin has an LC-1 in his car mounted correctly and it went ad within in a week, i am thinking it was a defective part but not certain...

Postby Dave » February 15th, 2008, 8:14 am

u need to remember, stock evos in trinidad were tuned for japan as they are roro cars
my maps are totally different to a roro map as pulled by madcrix
he would elaborate more

scientist

Postby scientist » February 15th, 2008, 8:24 am

You are supposed to also clean the sensors now and again with gasoline.
Guys down here run their sensors on their daily drivers with monthly cleaning no problem.

Any car can benefit from a tune

Yeo

Postby Yeo » February 15th, 2008, 9:16 am

Stick with the stock intake.

Ent I tell yuh dat from de 1st day yuh get yuh car?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”