wtk bout sharkmouth

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Mr. Mag

wtk bout sharkmouth

Postby Mr. Mag » January 8th, 2008, 2:14 pm

was contemplating buying a sharkmouth and was wondering....what should i look out for when purchasing? e.g common problems etc.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 8th, 2008, 3:48 pm

the hydraulic lifters always making plenty noise but if the oil was changed on a regular basis you should be okay, other than that they are nice cars they handle okay-ish, not bad on gas, parts have become easier to find in the bamboo an they not to big in engine power but they move

Postby *KRONIK* » January 8th, 2008, 5:42 pm

be aware of them Electronic Throttles!
and GDI injectors!

Mr. Mag

Postby Mr. Mag » January 9th, 2008, 7:44 am

how would I identify these problems if I were checkin one out fro purchase....symptoms of the problem?

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 9th, 2008, 8:20 am

well if it has an e-throttle i assume you won't see an accelerator cable by the throttle body, i've never heard of the injectors going bad but the guys here should have a better idea than me, the only problems i have had were the fuel pump on the engine gave out an for some reason my alternator is over charging, i working on that right now

Postby *KRONIK* » January 9th, 2008, 6:21 pm

not sure how to determine problems but i know form ppl who had GDI is rel pressure with the e-throttle!

Mr. Mag

Postby Mr. Mag » January 9th, 2008, 6:28 pm

would you say that it is a problematic vehicle? should I avoid buyin it as it could have the potential to cause headache?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 9th, 2008, 7:34 pm

yes^^

but then every car have the potential to cause trouble too :roll:

Mr. Mag

Postby Mr. Mag » January 10th, 2008, 4:28 am

yes thaz quite true...all car is headache but thanks.....

Postby *KRONIK* » January 10th, 2008, 6:45 pm

ill have to agree wit dat!

all car duz give they own kinda trouble!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 10th, 2008, 9:18 pm

they handle okay-ish

I would say they handle damn fkn good.......suspension is quite strong

Mr. Mag

Postby Mr. Mag » January 11th, 2008, 7:56 am

well I really am seriously considering buyin a sharkmouth does anyone one kno anyone who is selling one that isnt giving trouble or is not facing impending doom because thats what i'm trynna avoid...purchasin a problem :twisted:

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 11th, 2008, 7:57 am

your right, i jus bitchin cuz my shocks buss :(

Postby *KRONIK* » January 11th, 2008, 2:06 pm

hmm.. check the express classifieds! think i saw one!

and if u going to check ah car try to get ah mechanic or somebody from the mitsu forum to go with u!

mite be 4 ur own good!

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 11th, 2008, 3:20 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:
they handle okay-ish

i want to know why my front control arms keep f***in failing.. they need changing again.. this the third time in a year.. last time i change it was less dan 5 weeks ago dred.. wtf!

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 11th, 2008, 3:29 pm

WTF dude, you dexin that car or something? the suspension issues i had was my rear shocks gone and the bushings in the shock mounts now start making noise an thats cuz they never got changed since the vehicle was bought...5 yrs ago

Mr. Mag

Postby Mr. Mag » January 12th, 2008, 7:19 am

for you all who have owned one for an extended period are the problems frequent or few and far between? are replacement parts expensive?

Postby RBphoto » January 12th, 2008, 9:58 am

Dat is a bess car, only problems my fwens who have it tell me is the GDI ones give problems. Good looks and good speed. Never heard about suspension issues till now.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 14th, 2008, 7:23 am

Mr. Mag wrote:for you all who have owned one for an extended period are the problems frequent or few and far between? are replacement parts expensive?

its only recently ours started giving trouble and that was from lack of maintainence on my moms part, but i took over from her lol so things gettin better bit by bit

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 14th, 2008, 7:38 am

yea the one i buy was kinna fcuked up.. so i now tryin to sort it out..

but it does work good and it does look best :D

yuh hadda be ready to give it some time for maintenance cause it seems the gdi engine doh really like our gas and thing so u hadda take care of it.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 14th, 2008, 7:42 am

i on my last nerve, i got meh electrical sort out for 2 days an now it look like my starter pollin or somethin :evil: i wish april would come quickly :(

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 14th, 2008, 7:52 am

who is yuh electrician? my engine was dry as ass and up to now my oil light eh come on.. (I know i should be checkin that eh... buh thas wah the oil light for!)

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 14th, 2008, 8:05 am

well i dont exactly have one electrician cuz the guy who wired up the car never around anymore...you sure the oil sending unit in your car is working properly that may be y its not coming on, does the light come on when you put on the ignition?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 14th, 2008, 9:01 pm

hoss!

u must still pul ur dipstik every now and den!

doh wait till the car tell u!

hope ur engine alright! :shock: :shock: :shock:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 14th, 2008, 9:56 pm

^^ yea i know... but i was goin thru some hard times and i wasnt really caring bout anything.. far less meh car.

But it workin decent enough now.. i carry it by shannon and them in south..

i hadda change all meh engine and transmission mounts it seems.. always some more money to spend

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 14th, 2008, 11:14 pm

yep i need mounts, all four of them, an oh yea an alternator cuz mine was overcharging which killed my battery, now i need a new one 2

what a way to start a new year

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 15th, 2008, 7:02 am

yuh know.. how much the mounts costing u?

and i did the alternator thing aready too..

u still have that power steering pump for sale.. i jus have a feelin i hada change mine.. when it making a humming kinna noise thas the pump goin bad ent?

Postby ronsin1 » January 15th, 2008, 7:10 am

mitsu4life wrote:yep i need mounts, all four of them, an oh yea an alternator cuz mine was overcharging which killed my battery, now i need a new one 2

fella doh put it that way nah hear what take it as a learning experience for your car if you have the time when your is repairing get the info from the electrician I have done this in the pass with both electricians and machanics and have learned alot about the cars I have driven and also some that were the to repair key thing is always do good with themand yuh orn

remember thing are onw as bad as you make it for me I think if you start the year bad it can only get better

imagine starting the year good and it only getting bad :shock:

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 15th, 2008, 7:30 am

original_lollybob wrote:yuh know.. how much the mounts costing u?

and i did the alternator thing aready too..

u still have that power steering pump for sale.. i jus have a feelin i hada change mine.. when it making a humming kinna noise thas the pump goin bad ent?

i still have that for sale but now i not sure if to sell it, with my luck i will have to buy back one the day after i sell it

the mounts are about 300-350 for the small ones i.e the one buy the radiator an the one in the back of the engine not sure about the rest maybe around 500?

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 15th, 2008, 7:41 am

ronsin1 wrote:
mitsu4life wrote:yep i need mounts, all four of them, an oh yea an alternator cuz mine was overcharging which killed my battery, now i need a new one 2

fella doh put it that way nah hear what take it as a learning experience for your car if you have the time when your is repairing get the info from the electrician I have done this in the pass with both electricians and machanics and have learned alot about the cars I have driven and also some that were the to repair key thing is always do good with themand yuh orn

remember thing are onw as bad as you make it for me I think if you start the year bad it can only get better

imagine starting the year good and it only getting bad :shock:

well you have a point there it getting a little better already, i gettin a alternator either free or ridiculously cheap so its just the battery....on a more positive note i took out the speed cut in a vr-4 last night :twisted: how fast yuh think yuh going when d needle is past 180km an in line with the 4 in the VR-4 on the dash?? god i love those cars :oops:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”