CK4 Lancer Fuel Consumption

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Corollaman

CK4 Lancer Fuel Consumption

Postby Corollaman » October 11th, 2007, 11:51 am

Mornin tuners,

Lately, I've noticed that my mileage has been getting really poor with the lancer (4G92 SOHC Singapore). 300km/tank So, I decided to do try the usual fixes:

1. Make sure tires inflated properly.
2.Clean injectors
3. Change air filter
4. Spray out throttle body (and change oil after)

My mileage went up a little but not significantly.

So then I decided to run a little experiment. I filled up and, using a wideband O2 sensor, I drove in a way to keep the air/fuel ratio at least above 13.8.

One tank later, my mileage improved drastically (duh). However, I noticed that , once i press more than quarter throttle the car runs ridiculously rich - between 10.4 to about 12.5 lambda. I really REALLY had to feather the accelerator just to hit about 400km to a tank.

Is it that the stock engine management on the lancer is poor, or could there be another problem - eg. O2 sensor.

Thoughts and suggestions welcome!
Avin.

Postby Dave » October 11th, 2007, 12:31 pm

u cleaned the air flow sensor?
the sensor is heated and if dirty would run extra hot and the incoming air to cool and yield signal to ecu would not be relaying correct info
do when air flow stone cold and use electrical cleaner and let air dry and reset ecu too
did u reset ecu when u did above?
tps may also need recalibrating

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » October 11th, 2007, 2:59 pm

Thanks Dave!

Nope, didn't clean the air flow sensor.
I'll try that and see.

did u reset ecu when u did above?

Did what above exactly.

As for calibrating the tps, no, i didn't think of that.

Postby Dave » October 11th, 2007, 3:35 pm

reset ecu and check back tps
tps works with maf in telling injectors how much should be sprayed dependent upon air flow and how much the throttle is open
maf service interval is actually when air fliters are serviced/changed

twigs

Postby twigs » October 18th, 2007, 9:03 am

My lancer is also doing bout 300km\tank . I tried of the most of the things above.What i would like to know is how do u reset the ECU and calibrate the TPS.

venum

Postby venum » October 18th, 2007, 5:44 pm

reset ecu:

disconnect -ve battery pole only for ~ 10 min

make sure that the disconnected trerminal doesn't ground off

to calibrate TPS you need teh voltage specs of teh TPS and a voltmeter

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » October 18th, 2007, 7:39 pm

Where i getting those voltages hoss.
It's a 4 wire connector.

One hadda be +ve
One hadda be gnd
One hadda be the actual voltage off the wiper.

But what is the 4th wire for?

blazing

Postby blazing » October 19th, 2007, 9:44 pm

+ve
-ve
closed position sensor
open position sensor

tps closed should be 0.5v and wot should be 5.0v i think.
can anyone confirm?

ziggi_d

Postby ziggi_d » October 20th, 2007, 7:08 pm

^^^ i think i could second what blazing said b/c on Closed throttle i get a reading of +0.5v and on full open i get a reading of +5v on my AFC dilpsay. By its always best to use a meter in your case to make shure.

solidust

Postby solidust » January 4th, 2008, 3:14 pm

i also gettin bout 300km/h but one question. u all puttin super or premium???

mitsutt

stuff

Postby mitsutt » April 24th, 2008, 1:03 pm

solidust wrote:i also gettin bout 300km/h but one question. u all puttin super or premium???

dont mean to bring it back but d question didnt get ans.

mitsubishi

Postby mitsubishi » April 30th, 2008, 8:51 am

Well I don't know wat going on with my CK4 (local with 4G92). If we reading the same metres in terms of Trip Meter, I need to know if mine is in km or miles. If u guys are getting 300 km to your tank, then that u is still amazing compared to me. I only got 175 (km or miles).

What can i do?????

quintessentiallyenigmatic

miles or km

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » April 30th, 2008, 7:00 pm

mitsubishi wrote:Well I don't know wat going on with my CK4 (local with 4G92). If we reading the same metres in terms of Trip Meter, I need to know if mine is in km or miles. If u guys are getting 300 km to your tank, then that u is still amazing compared to me. I only got 175 (km or miles).

What can i do?????

to know for sure on your odometer the larger numbers indicate what is being checked......my ck4 has miles larger in white & km in yellow smaller
so therefore it's really 175 x 1.6 to get kms (280 kms)
i get like 140 miles on 3/4 tank don't run under 1/4
hope this helps & what those guys said above , regular servicing, you'll see the numbers going up

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 1st, 2008, 11:01 am

that 300km is worth how much $$$$ as you say per tankful????

From my past experience with the GDI galant 300 km use to cost around $80 in terms of short driving frequent stops etc.........with long runs 300km was around $70...........premium gas I'm referring to eh!~

mitsutt

Re: miles or km

Postby mitsutt » May 1st, 2008, 2:07 pm

quintessentiallyenigmatic wrote:
mitsubishi wrote:Well I don't know wat going on with my CK4 (local with 4G92). If we reading the same metres in terms of Trip Meter, I need to know if mine is in km or miles. If u guys are getting 300 km to your tank, then that u is still amazing compared to me. I only got 175 (km or miles).

What can i do?????

to know for sure on your odometer the larger numbers indicate what is being checked......my ck4 has miles larger in white & km in yellow smaller
so therefore it's really 175 x 1.6 to get kms (280 kms)
i get like 140 miles on 3/4 tank don't run under 1/4
hope this helps & what those guys said above , regular servicing, you'll see the numbers going up

:shock: :shock: huh

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » May 1st, 2008, 2:38 pm

hmm..well, i sometimes had that problem, but not as bad. In a week, id do about 650km and thats on one tank of gas..full to near empty.

mitsutt

stuff

Postby mitsutt » July 2nd, 2008, 5:44 pm

bump

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 2nd, 2008, 7:08 pm

230 miles on a 4G15 DOHC. Moderate driving with AC mostly on :?

That's about 345kms

mitsutt

stuff

Postby mitsutt » July 2nd, 2008, 7:28 pm

Morpheus23 wrote:230 miles on a 4G15 DOHC. Moderate driving with AC mostly on :?

That's about 345kms

4G92 SOHC
ah need some help with d mileage AC on 24/7
change oil,filters,plugs,clean injectors and trottle body and still not happy what to do again

Postby *KRONIK* » July 3rd, 2008, 10:50 pm

Morpheus23 wrote:230 miles on a 4G15 DOHC. Moderate driving with AC mostly on :?

That's about 345kms

my 4g15 DOHC does about the same ting.....

mon-thur

grande to curepe
A/C only

fairly agressive drvin

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 3rd, 2008, 11:50 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

That's about 345kms

mon-thur

grande to curepe
A/C only

fairly agressive drvin

Really? You automatic too right? Phew, I thought it was just me. But I wonder if it's the general figure..........for this engine with auto tranny I mean.

blazing

Postby blazing » July 4th, 2008, 7:06 pm

230 miles... damn i get that in km

mitsutt

Postby mitsutt » July 4th, 2008, 8:10 pm

blazing wrote:230 miles... damn i get that in km

Postby *KRONIK* » July 4th, 2008, 10:28 pm

blazing wrote:230 miles... damn i get that in km

well u have ur reasons for dat...... dont u
:roll: :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol:

i just playin wit u.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » July 4th, 2008, 10:38 pm

Morpheus23 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

That's about 345kms

mon-thur

grande to curepe
A/C only

fairly agressive drvin

Really? You automatic too right? Phew, I thought it was just me. But I wonder if it's the general figure..........for this engine with auto tranny I mean.

i duz wonder the same ting

sickolancergyal

Postby sickolancergyal » September 15th, 2008, 1:06 pm

I get 240 Miles on $100- $120 premium when i asked the mechanic he was like that's good...lol I'll see if i can get fix this up. Thanks for the info.

silver racer

Postby silver racer » September 15th, 2008, 9:46 pm

wit a prestone treatment i got ovr 250 miles.. dats roughly ovr 400km wit a/c runnin rite tru, c-bay 2 uwi.. but i runnin on 17's doh so i dunno if dat offset d odo

Postby *KRONIK* » September 15th, 2008, 10:08 pm

silver racer, u in uwi???

Return to “MITSUBISHI”