Using NOS on a 4g92 or 4g18

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

livewire

Using NOS on a 4g92 or 4g18

Postby livewire » May 10th, 2007, 8:36 am

In the quest to get the most out of this engine i was advised that nos would be the most cost effective way to boost performance. How true is this statement and what benefits or adverse effects will this cause to the engine.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 10th, 2007, 6:16 pm

Before U get ahead of yourself, how do U plan to get Nitrous Oxide refills?

Since wallerfield close down, is there any legitamate means of getting NOS refills? I mean, what legitamate motorsport is there left in T&T that demands NOS? Don't U have to have a License to get this stuff?

Plan on using medical NOS? (giggle gas)

Then again, U probably have the hookups to get bottle fed so this might be a mute point.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 10th, 2007, 6:43 pm

the man speaking sense their^^

Postby X_Factor » May 10th, 2007, 8:18 pm

thats true about gettin the gas
but trinogas or igl wont sell u?

tell dem its for ur rally car

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 11th, 2007, 3:25 am

:lol: i wonder if they guh buy that>>>>i doh even tink ah rally car would need nos....

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » May 11th, 2007, 6:09 am

nah yuh cud get the tank filled easily, i know the engine can take ah 50 - 75 shot but if u have cvt i dont know how it will affect the trannie

livewire

Postby livewire » May 11th, 2007, 7:35 am

Just looking for info :!: This not for my car, i'm working on a different project myself.... the car manual btw. Gas refills won't be a problem...

fras

Postby fras » May 11th, 2007, 11:50 pm

50-75 What?
Not on my engine!

venum

Postby venum » May 12th, 2007, 12:54 am

JUS4SHO wrote:nah yuh cud get the tank filled easily, i know the engine can take ah 50 - 75 shot but if u have cvt i dont know how it will affect the trannie

i can suggest what that shot will do teh tranny if it is a F101A - it'll kill it

the 4G18, IMHO can't take that

4G92 with a F5M41\2 will handle it better

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » May 12th, 2007, 6:09 pm

I believe both engines will handle this well. I have tried a 75 shot in both instances and it worked properly...I never had any problems and these cars are bought daily driven...

fras

Postby fras » May 13th, 2007, 10:28 am

^^^ :|
But why go nos instead of turbo? How long does nos last compare to turbo?
Turbo you have constant power not at the push of a button!

Rudman

Postby Rudman » May 13th, 2007, 2:11 pm

^^That's a good point. I suppose it has to do with initial costs. A typical NOS system (solenoids, lines, bottle) can costs $5000-6000. You pay for the refills after (don't know how much this costs).

A well designed stage 1 turbo kit can cost as much as $15000! (depending on what brands U choose) If even U decide to swap with a stock turbo engine, this can still set U back close to $10,000.

So, initially, the NOS is a cheaper way of getting 50-75hp when U need it. Of course, if U operate a NOS system long enough, then there will be a point in time where to cost of using NOS will exceed the cost of operating a turbo system, due to the continued cost of getting NOS refills. So in the longer run, it actually pay to invest in a turbo system.

U can do the math and see which one will be cheaper to run, say, over a two year peroid.

venum

Postby venum » May 13th, 2007, 4:32 pm

NOS will put out more performance for less money than turbo according to Rudman's figures

what about maintenance after

with turbo, there will be little maintenance

what about teh effect of NOS on your engine after time?

seals? valves? etc

and if you can't get refills for your NOS application, then all your investment in that setup will unfortunately be wasted capital

with turbo, it's all a gain

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 13th, 2007, 4:50 pm

not really eh venum, cuz i heard with turbos it has a decent bit of maintance and also wen stuff goes wrong with the turbo its alot 2 fix.....i heard the best way of getting bang for u buck is a supercharger :? i read some post bout the differences in supercharger and turboes somewhere on tuner but cant find it now....but the main things i remmebered is that superchargers are less expensive 2 maintain,there is no lag and u potentially get more power on the whole.....so i wuld say dude go with a charger instead of NOS or turbo

just my opinion based on what i read...i honestly cant tell u how much a supercharger is for our cars hahaha

blazing

Postby blazing » May 13th, 2007, 7:06 pm

Of course, if U operate a NOS system long enough, then there will be a point in time where to cost of using NOS will exceed the cost of operating a turbo system

good point indeed

with turbo, there will be little maintenance

:lol: thats wrong

so i wuld say dude go with a charger instead of NOS or turbo

good luck getting that, i think only one place makes them and there half way around the world. Unlike a supercharger, a turbo is way easier to do ,has much more benefits for our cars and a kit can be custom made easily.

Also, superchargers and turbos are based on the same principle... one using the belt to spin the turbine and the other using the exhaust to do so.. so what exactly is less maintainace? the manifold? they are both forced induction systems compressing and putting more air into the engine.

If you are upgrading the car with a turbo, super or nos, there is no such thing as less maintainance. Dont even think about it. Get ready to constantly monitor and maintain your engine.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 13th, 2007, 10:08 pm

blazing wrote:good luck getting that, i think only one place makes them and there half way around the world. Unlike a supercharger, a turbo is way easier to do ,has much more benefits for our cars and a kit can be custom made easily.

Also, superchargers and turbos are based on the same principle... one using the belt to spin the turbine and the other using the exhaust to do so.. so what exactly is less maintainace? the manifold? they are both forced induction systems compressing and putting more air into the engine.

If you are upgrading the car with a turbo, super or nos, there is no such thing as less maintainance. Dont even think about it. Get ready to constantly monitor and maintain your engine.

I beg to differ. I've been doing some reading up on turbos & superchargers recently, and the supercharger is actually the simplest and easiest to install.

With turbos, they get power from the exaust, which mean so install, you have to modify your manifold & exaust system, which means welding & fabrication. Then too the power only kicks in when the engine is running over 2000rmp, and takes a little while to spool up.

With superchargers, power is got from a drive belt from the engine. So essentially, it's similar to installing a second alternator. You can either (this is easiest) take out your A/C compressor and install the supercharger there, and then hook up the relevant intake hoses/pipes etc (ie you could do this in a day). Or if you need A/C you would need a longer drive belt and a modified mounting bracket. But still no real modification.

Anyway, there don't seem to be a lot of superchargers around. Why can't you get them cheap of off supercharged trucks and stuff? Surely they would have this sort of thing in the bamboo?

venum

Postby venum » May 13th, 2007, 10:13 pm

evokiller wrote:not really eh venum, cuz i heard with turbos it has a decent bit of maintance and also wen stuff goes wrong with the turbo its alot 2 fix.....

well i dunno much bout NOS installs

but with a turbo setup, assuming that you treat it properly, not abuse it and overly rough it up then I don't see what would be so cost;y about the maintenance

blazing shed some light on this if you can

I would like to know what are the post-install expenses\maintenance

livewire

Postby livewire » May 13th, 2007, 10:41 pm

Wow... good points everyone, i was told that that the most cost effective performance boost would be the nos i.e only when needed so the car will remain stock as an everyday driver and u use the nos only when necessary...any comments?

blazing

Postby blazing » May 14th, 2007, 1:29 am

I beg to differ. I've been doing some reading up on turbos & superchargers recently, and the supercharger is actually the simplest and easiest to install.

ok a supercharger is easy to install... if you have a direct bolt on charger i.e. the Raptor Supercharger which is pretty expensive. To custom make a charger from one of those trucks is not going to be easy. You have to make a bracket to hold the charger secure in a position where the belt can reach the pulley to spin it. Doing this without taking out the p/steering or A/C isnt easy if you watch the space that you have to work with under the hood.

It will be much much easier to just buy some sched 40 steel mandrel bends and make a manifold, or even take your stocker and cut and weld on a flange. Also you will have a good bt more space to work with and retain your A/C and powersteering once you build the manifold to suit it.

you have to modify your manifold & exaust system, which means welding & fabrication. Then too the power only kicks in when the engine is running over 2000rmp, and takes a little while to spool up.

the rpm at which the turbo starts spooling is greatly affecfted by the size of the compressor wheels. A smaller turbo will spin at lower RPMs than a bigger but die off sooner. Additionally, 2000 is not a bad spool up time considering a car idles at 800-1100 rpm. As for the welding and fabrication, you will be required to do this on both systems so that comparison is invalid.

I am not saying the supercharger cannot be done (actually i would like to see someone in trinidad with the necessary funds do it), but the turbocharger has much more potential on 4 banger engines and is more practical for our cars.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » May 14th, 2007, 8:41 am

^^I agree, the turbocharger is more practical for our cars. A supercharger may look more attractive but the use of it will be a parasitic load on the engine (belt driven, extra pulley), so U will be giving up a small amount of hp to make more hp.

The turbo however, utilises the motive power of exhaust waste gases, which would otherwise been simply expeled to the atmosphere (potential energy going to waste).

The supercharger is less maintenance than the turbo (no fresh oil feed, no turbo timers to worry about) but the turbo is the way to go.... :D

fras

Postby fras » May 14th, 2007, 12:22 pm

Has anyone bossted their 4G15/4G92 sucessfully... Or anyone willing to try boosting their 4G18 :?:

Rudman

Postby Rudman » May 14th, 2007, 12:43 pm

^^ W2J, blue Teknet lancer, boosted 4G92. Around 400 hp (so I am told, doh kill meh if that not correct).

He research the hell out of that engine!..... :D

fras

Postby fras » May 14th, 2007, 12:54 pm

Rudman wrote:Around 400 hp

Wonder how much you could get out of the 4G18 without internal mods

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 14th, 2007, 12:56 pm

blazing & Rudman,

You are right that when doing a completely custom job, a turbo charger is probably easier. I was referring to bolt-on supercharger applications.

Now people talk about the super being a parasitic device, ie robbing a certain amount of power from the engine. But wouldn't a turbo do the same? Isn't restricting the airflow in the exhaust system, thereby stealing some HP from the system?

blazing

Postby blazing » May 14th, 2007, 10:35 pm

But wouldn't a turbo do the same? Isn't restricting the airflow in the exhaust system, thereby stealing some HP from the system?

The loss in HP compared to the gains of the forced induction is minimal in both cases.

W2J

Postby W2J » May 14th, 2007, 11:18 pm

Rudman wrote:^^ W2J, blue Teknet lancer, boosted 4G92. Around 400 hp (so I am told, doh kill meh if that not correct).

He research the hell out of that engine!..... :D

Actually it's 409whp without spray and this was before what I recently did. NOS is the best bang for your buck IMO, stock 4G92SOHC will take 60hp shot with 1 step colder plug with 2 gallons of toluene and 1/2 tank of gas. Anymore and you will run the risk of breaking a ring land since the stock ecu is already runing extreme amount of timing for that amount of high dynamic compression.

Gerrard

Rudman

Postby Rudman » May 15th, 2007, 7:42 am

^^Well I suppose that's it right there!.........talk done!!..... :)

melbone

Postby melbone » August 9th, 2007, 4:41 pm

i have a 4g18 with extractors and k&n cool air intake and apex filter and some kind of air charger, and that s**t still dead. what else i could do :?:

fras

Postby fras » August 9th, 2007, 5:06 pm

Where u get extractors?

Link W2J... 50 Shot & Engine Management

melbone

Postby melbone » August 9th, 2007, 5:22 pm

i buy it just so. it was modified in singapore

Return to “MITSUBISHI”