Tuning An Evolution

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

TREX

Tuning An Evolution

Postby TREX » May 18th, 2007, 7:52 am

This is an interesting Read for anyone interested in proper tuning ideas for our Evolutions especially with all the newer E7's on the road these days.

LINK:

http://www.lancerregister.com/showthrea ... did=145627

THE ESSENSE OF TUNING By EVO400
THE ESSENSE OF TUNING

By EVO400

Ever wondered why you ask for a simple power increase and what you end up with is shiny parts designed to cost you obscene amounts of money!! And then don’t work as promised !!!

Well I must get 20 calls a day from customers that are so confused they don’t know what to believe!
Do I need a dumpvalve or a new boost controller for an ECUTEK UPGRADE!!

Answers? Well it’s easy to say no! But do they actually make or give you any benefits to help product that hp increase you are paying for.

Essential the evo 7 and FQ evo 8 range were very similar in spec’s also the new evo 260 was also a lower spec still all be it a reworked evo 7 motor.
The MR’S appearance changed the game though having gone back to the larger frame turbine system (hot side) that gave better hp results.

The evo IX also smacked a few people with its easy of making hp, but as we found out with our own research and development on our own cars the GT variant had a inbuilt failure bound component. The MAG turbo compressor wheel. Dam that wheel was so good!!!

So! What do you need for a good Stage 1 pack on the evo 7/8 &260 cars!! Firstly to make a nice 350 hp. well it’s easy. Release backpressure and you will gain easy hp. The turbine housing from the evo 6 cars had been made smaller for the evo 7 cars it was made smaller from a 10.5t to a 9.8t unit Better response maybe? Not from what I had seen on road cars to be very honest.

I always recommended as a first hit a new MR 10.5t turbine housing. This is an essential component to release the evo 7/8fq & 260’s horrible backpressure issues.
Really easy to do if you take your time. Expect to be charged around 4 hrs for this job, as it requires a turbo remove and refit.If you do it yourself please be aware any damadge will render the unit scrap !!! If any doubts send the unit over to me and we will do it for a small charge .

Next real problem is the exhausts! Huge amounts of babble are talked about different exhaust systems but lets cut to the chase! A 3â€

Postby crazybalhead » May 18th, 2007, 8:07 am

Interesting. I've been thinking about geting a downpipe and cat delete for a while now. And was wondering about the increases this will provide.

Anybody know if deleting the cat causes any problems on a VII???

And tuning now...

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 19th, 2007, 10:24 am

Good info.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 19th, 2007, 3:47 pm

Randy, deleting the cat on the 7 will not cause any problems. But please remember, only get rid of the Evo Cat, all othere cats are to be kept and played with regularly. :lol:

TREX

Postby TREX » May 19th, 2007, 5:07 pm

Porn Star wrote:Randy, deleting the cat on the 7 will not cause any problems. But please remember, only get rid of the Evo Cat, all othere cats are to be kept and played with regularly. :lol:

You are a real CATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Last edited by TREX on May 19th, 2007, 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » May 19th, 2007, 5:22 pm

Porn Star wrote:Randy, deleting the cat on the 7 will not cause any problems. But please remember, only get rid of the Evo Cat, all othere cats are to be kept and played with regularly. :lol:

Okey dokey.

So what allyuh think is a "safe level" of bolt ons that can work well with the stock computer and does not need special tuning?

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » May 19th, 2007, 5:26 pm

:offtopic:

What that have to do with tuning? :?

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » May 19th, 2007, 5:48 pm

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 20th, 2007, 4:24 am

crazybalhead wrote:...So what allyuh think is a "safe level" of bolt ons that can work well with the stock computer and does not need special tuning?

At best usually 2.75" or 3" exhaust upgrade only. Size depends on other planned upgrades.
For an E7 with 9.8 hot-side (turbine wheel/housing) you can try the 10.5 hotside from E5,
E6 RS or E8 MR. It should be reflashed but you might get away using stock E7 GSR ECU.
Might be better to disconnect battery first, for 30 min then reconnecting and start.

Can't think of anything else that won't need a reflash.
A simple external Blow-off valve affects idle/stall characteristics on many (not all) models.
Modifying intake for "bling" changes MAF readings and has a negative effect on ECU.

Other stuff like cams, turbo, injectors etc. have an even greater effect on ECU tuning.
BTW... Why the obsession to avoid a reflash? It can give you even better performance with
even stock parts.... and for your model it's available FREE! IMHO it's very useful
and is cheaper/better(?) than a stand-alone ECU up to 500 WHP / 500 WTQ.

My $0.02¢

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 21st, 2007, 10:48 am

^Pretty^ wrote:

:offtopic:

What that have to do with tuning? :?

You obviously don't understand. :lol: Sounds like you need a good tuner to get the cat working properly....... :P :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » May 23rd, 2007, 12:58 am

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » May 23rd, 2007, 4:16 am

Damn ....the man real waste down the HKS intake...anybody else actually see this damage he talking about? :?:

TREX

Postby TREX » May 23rd, 2007, 6:10 am

Mudboy wrote:Damn ....the man real waste down the HKS intake...anybody else actually see this damage he talking about? :?:

A friend of mine lost a Turbo on A Fronter P/up with an HKS Intake. CAnt say for sure it was 100% the intake but crap got into the turbine wheet and distroyed it.

I will Stick to K&N, the filter medum is held firmly between two metallic gauze liners.

B

madness19

Postby madness19 » June 5th, 2007, 6:35 pm

Who allyuh does get allyuh car tune by, pm meh ah name and number if u cud, and i mean ah real tuner not some lil man with ah laptop...lol.

P.S. HKS Intake does make the AFR very lean in some places in the RPM range and some places very rich in some places in the RPM range, and u get alot of knock when leaning it out, a AFR regulator like the Apexi could fix dat.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”