what to do first for more speed?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Lean Wid IT

what to do first for more speed?

Postby Lean Wid IT » May 28th, 2007, 8:36 pm

yeh fellas i wanna upgrade for more speed...but i aint turboing yet...no paper for dat now and i wanna keep it n/a to prove ppl worng...so what should i do first to get more speed?...and reach d 180 mark faster?.and grow on top end....CAI?....what?......all are welcome
it's a 4g92 SOHC

Postby X_Factor » May 28th, 2007, 8:52 pm

yep...CAI, Extractors, 2inch piping, Iridum plugs, 8.8mm plug wires, then u could go wit upgraded ECU/piggy back

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » May 28th, 2007, 9:42 pm

Don't forget about your braking system too eh :|

Postby X_Factor » May 28th, 2007, 9:46 pm

^^ EBC disc pads

ziggi_d

Postby ziggi_d » May 28th, 2007, 9:46 pm

the car comes with excellent plug wires, extractors already! Exhaust upgrade, free flow filter (i had plenty experience with that good and bad) and a good tune up for starters. lots of little things will help. PLease make shure ur brakes are in eXcellent working order b4 u speed plz! these little things cost a little raise so these are a few to start with. :evil: ECU and them thing goh come after!

bOOsTmaN

Re: what to do first for more speed?

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 28th, 2007, 9:54 pm

Lean Wid IT wrote:yeh fellas i wanna upgrade for more speed...but i aint turboing yet...no paper for dat now and i wanna keep it n/a to prove ppl worng...so what should i do first to get more speed?...and reach d 180 mark faster?.and grow on top end....CAI?....what?......all are welcome
it's a 4g92 SOHC

ent u is d one who say yuh driving slow dese days??? wallerfield close...
where u goin n do 180km hoss? legally?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 28th, 2007, 9:58 pm

ammm why not jus put in some cams,low compression pistons and like a turbo and manifold..
:roll: tha shud be enough speed :mrgreen:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 28th, 2007, 10:55 pm

He want's to keep it n/a.

Basic mods would be to upgrade the Intake and exhaust. 2" is good. a good CAI setup will help you as well.

A set of TUNED extractors... not the stock manifold and not what people making here....

A lighter body oil will help the car rev a bit better (note don't use too thin an oil)

An underdrive pully will also help revs more...

Outside of that, you can get a larger throttlebody.. to improve throttle response

Even add another throttlebody (but requires extra things such as piggyback ecu etc)

Some stage 1-2 cams....

Some sort of engine management system...

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 28th, 2007, 11:00 pm

u buy 2 throttlebodies and install them?? tll me more bout this plase mishi.....also wat cams u recommend?? this was a question i had 4 a while..

Postby X_Factor » May 28th, 2007, 11:33 pm

i was tempted to do a dyno test b4 and after a locally made set of extractors were made but that might end up being a waste of 1200 or so

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 29th, 2007, 9:13 am

evokiller wrote:u buy 2 throttlebodies and install them?? tll me more bout this plase mishi.....also wat cams u recommend?? this was a question i had 4 a while..

no didn't buy but RPW sells them. Interesting piece of Kit IMHO.

http://www.rpw.com.au/shop/index.php?op ... 20-%204cyl

RPW also deals with the cams so you can check it out there...

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 29th, 2007, 10:53 am

o sorry nah i left out "could" inthe beginning of the sentance...my keyboard decided 2 be difficult that night.......on this rpw site i cant seem 2 find the cams atall though mishi

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 29th, 2007, 12:10 pm

^^Before U even think about RPW, bear in mind they are halfway around the world in Australia. The shipping is what does kill.

Be prepared to spend $4000 + for the extractors alone!... :shock:

For what? 5-8hp gain from stock (depending on what additional mods U do)?

These are 4-1 headers BTW.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 29th, 2007, 12:13 pm

hahaha yeah i kinda didnt tink of that...and dude....a cam for my car...{yess i said cam :cry: } 5000!!!! lol bess i buy a evo engine and drop it in dude haha

blazing

Postby blazing » May 29th, 2007, 11:30 pm

u buy 2 throttlebodies and install them??

look at trouble

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 29th, 2007, 11:42 pm

lol wat dat supposed 2mean hoss haha?

blazing

Postby blazing » May 29th, 2007, 11:53 pm

^^well first you will have to weld the second TB flange to the plenum(aluminium welding) then you have to set up a throttle cable to open the second TB after the first one has been opened to a certain degree

and tuning twin TBs are a biatch. have to take in consideration the size of the second TB, turbulence that air in opposite directions meeting will cause, fuel, etc. Its slightly easier on the MAP 1.5s but the MAFs will be tough.

just get a single bigger TB and port match the plenum.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 30th, 2007, 12:00 am

hoss 2 things.....1)u see the kinda money for it? and the shipping...i culd get a whole engine wen i done buy forged pistons and the throttlebodies hahah
and 2)hoss is surgury u talking bout there brother...hoss wat is all dat wayssssssssssssssssssssss lol hoss my mouth drop with dat 1....normally wen mishi or venum lay down something 4me its easy....i swear u speaking a form of tongues there jedz...u a mech or wha ?? I dont even wanna look in this thread nemore jedz....mishi lock it nah jedz this man giveme a late night headache/tabanca and early life crisis yesss

blazing

Postby blazing » May 30th, 2007, 12:21 am

lol what so hard?

here is the pic from rpw.

silver thing is the plenum, with TBs on either side.
now this is already set up and hence you only need to unbolt and bolt on. To make one from scratch (aluminium welding etc) is cheaper but MUCH harder to do properly.

AS for tuning, you can see this is MAP based in the pic. For the MAF sensors in the 4g92/4g93 its gonna be even harder to tune since air is metered before the manifold and the additional air from the 2nd TB will cause problems as its unmetered.

And no im no mech, jus try a thing.
Best advice, upgrade to an eclipse TB and do the mods that MISHI suggested.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » May 30th, 2007, 12:27 am

or okies it makes sense now..the major part i was lost with ws the plenum but ill google dat

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » May 30th, 2007, 12:36 pm

Corollaman wrote:Don't forget about your braking system too eh :|

i have 4wheel discs already installed...so i one step ahead :lol:

iamjack

Postby iamjack » May 30th, 2007, 12:57 pm

Lean Wid IT wrote:

how'd you do that or how do you improve braking
ive got a fwd setup

Lean Wid IT

Re: what to do first for more speed?

Postby Lean Wid IT » May 30th, 2007, 1:15 pm

bOOsTmaN wrote:
Lean Wid IT wrote:yeh fellas i wanna upgrade for more speed...but i aint turboing yet...no paper for dat now and i wanna keep it n/a to prove ppl worng...so what should i do first to get more speed?...and reach d 180 mark faster?.and grow on top end....CAI?....what?......all are welcome
it's a 4g92 SOHC

ent u is d one who say yuh driving slow dese days??? wallerfield close...
where u goin n do 180km hoss? legally?

hoss doh study dat.... :twisted: :twisted:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 30th, 2007, 1:34 pm

iamjack wrote:
Lean Wid IT wrote:

ive got a fwd setup

amm u do that buy buying the rear disc brakes for ur car :?

and well u cud improve uh braking in many ways...depending on how much money u wanna spend.

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » May 30th, 2007, 1:45 pm

iamjack wrote:
Lean Wid IT wrote:

ive got a fwd setup

look for rear discs..i heard the bamboo got...so try there n see

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 30th, 2007, 1:48 pm

is about 2K the setup going for now

iamjack

Postby iamjack » May 30th, 2007, 11:19 pm

adding rear discs would mean there would be 4 disc pads?
which would make my car not a fwd drive car?

pardon my noobness

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 30th, 2007, 11:48 pm

you will have all wheel disc brakes.........i still have to do the conversion in my lancer, but when i do it i will show you iamjack

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » May 31st, 2007, 8:09 am

Lean Wid IT wrote:

Ahh, but what did you do about the brakes in front?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 31st, 2007, 8:10 am

iamjack wrote:adding rear discs would mean there would be 4 disc pads?
which would make my car not a fwd drive car?

pardon my noobness

Eh?......noobness aside, having 4 disc pads to stop a car does not make it an AWD! It would still be a FWD.

What is involved in making a car an AWD (in a nutshell) is the use of a transfer drive, rear differential and rear drive axels to deliver torque to the rear wheels, in addition to what is already going to the front. See this lovely pic here from another thread:

Last edited by Rudman on May 31st, 2007, 10:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”