What's wrong with my car now?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

sboo99

What's wrong with my car now?

Postby sboo99 » April 25th, 2007, 11:58 am

A thread for mitsu car issues and problems…and since my car ALWAYS have issues and problems, I'll probably be posting here often.

Meh car break down yesterday on the Beetham Highway 8am in heavy traffic. The battery died, or so it seemed. 800-4TOW collected it and took it to MasterServ where they changed the battery and checked the alternator. No alternator problems, new battery installed. 5pm I go to collect the car and turn the key in the ignition. Engine tumbles like normal and starts, but then the car start to vibrate like mad then the engine cut off. WTF? Didn't d battery JUST change? The mechs at master serv said that's how they got the car, so they assumed it was normal. One of dem was talking bout a "step-up" for the a/c (they a/c don’t work eh), but my noobness prevented me from understanding what dem was really talking about. I coudn't leave it there because they said they had a backlog in work so it woulda take 2 weeks to get d car back. I barely manage to get it home in one piece yesterday, because as long as I stayed above 20 km/hr, the engine was good (it wont cut off tho it still vibrate like mad).

So what wrong wit meh car now? And anyone know a good mitsu mech that they cud recommend? I still ain't have a mechanic.

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » April 25th, 2007, 12:09 pm

what kinda mitsu u have? most likely it's an idling problem....spark plugs, or coil packs as they say...eevn check the air flow sensor
Last edited by Lean Wid IT on April 25th, 2007, 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » April 25th, 2007, 12:09 pm

Thank god all you lost was your battery.
Master Serv seems to not be servicing, and poor service when they do...
Rough idle can be caused my lotsa crap.
Check your electricals - plug, plug wires, coilpack, poor connections
Check for vacuum leaks.
An injector service may be needed too.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 25th, 2007, 12:11 pm

There's an issue somewhere with the fueling of the car. Have someone check the efi system or ignition....

evokiller

Postby evokiller » April 25th, 2007, 12:12 pm

yeah i was now going 2 say,ur car idling badly....

Postby ronsin1 » April 25th, 2007, 8:12 pm

Check your electricals - plug, plug wires, coilpack, poor connections
Check for vacuum leaks.

Check these first!

You might want to tell us what type of car you have as well so you can get some more helpful info

Spikeboi

Postby Spikeboi » April 25th, 2007, 8:23 pm

YOUR PLUGS GET WET INSIDE

Postby X_Factor » April 25th, 2007, 9:51 pm

u got the 4g15 carb engine ent>?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » April 25th, 2007, 9:59 pm

yea..same ting happened to someone i know..and it was de gas. ppl put de wrong gas in d car. I dunno if it could be dat, im not a mitsu expert...jus my 2 cents. lol

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » April 28th, 2007, 7:41 am

Lean Wid IT wrote:what kinda mitsu u have?

PBC Mirage. Check the thread here for more info.

X_Factor wrote:u got the 4g15 carb engine ent>?

Nah. 4g15 fuel injected SOHC.

KURMAman wrote:yea..same ting happened to someone i know..and it was de gas. ppl put de wrong gas in d car. I dunno if it could be dat, im not a mitsu expert...jus my 2 cents. lol

I'm the only one who does drive my car and I does always put Super in it. Actually, now that I think about it, I put Premium in it about a 3 weeks ago because the gas station I was at had run out of Super. That's bad? Should I have my fuel tank cleaned or something? Where does do that on a Saturday?

Interesting turn of events. I left my car sitting in the garage for 3 days and when I started it up last night, there was no idling problem. Is that even possible? For the car to fix itself? I still gonna carry it somewhere today to check the stuff that allyuh mentioned...

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » April 29th, 2007, 7:05 pm

Got lazy yesterday and didn't carry it anywhere. This afternoon I try to start it up, and it having the same problem. This car have more mood swings than a girl on PMS.

So the engine can still start, but after 2 seconds it vibrates like mad and cuts off. It barely drivable (as long as it is constantly over-revved), and allyuh, ah still don't have a mechanic to take it to.

Postby X_Factor » April 29th, 2007, 8:15 pm

get someone to do a diagnostic on it...sounds like some sensors playin d ass

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » April 30th, 2007, 8:25 pm

I get the car back today. D man I take it to does deal with fuel injectors an dat kinda ting. He say he service the injectors and all dat, and the reason d engine cutting off is cuz the connector to the air flow sensor need changing cuz a wire loose inside. Have to take dat to fix soon. He also say dat the right-most spark plug have oil on it so something leaking in the engine and I need to service the engine soon. D car halfway wukkin (I manage to drive it home) but it still cutting off sometimes, just not as bad as before.

If I leave it in "drive" and DONT press d X, then I gud to go (which is sheit cuz then i wont get nowhere). Once I press d X and d car start to actually move past 15km/hr, it does start to buck and cough and d only way to prevent it from cutting off is to floor it (which still gets it nowhere cuz it feel like it choking).

Well at least it idling now. :evil:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”