WTK - Engine & Transmission

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

sboo99

WTK - Engine & Transmission

Postby sboo99 » April 21st, 2007, 11:22 pm

A couple months ago I took my car to a mechanic to change the transmission cuz the last one died on meh. The *new* transmission didn't work like the last one, and since I'm a generally new driver (1yr experience), I figured that all transmissions won't work d same.
This morning my uncle popped the hood of my car and discovered that I have a <expletive deleted> carburator transmission in my car, trying to work with a fuel injected engine.

So besides wanting to drop a cap in his ass for asking and paying for something I didn't get, what should I do? Would that transmission seriously frigg up my engine? Is it at least semi-compatible so I wouldn't have to worry about it? Or am I overreacting over nothing?
I have a 4G15 and an old model SE mirage...

Don't forget that I'm a complete noob when it comes to these things.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 22nd, 2007, 2:49 am

wayz jed...i feeling it for u..some mechanic does really do man wicked ting...stueps them ting does get me real vex jed..

well hear wah...i wanna ask u soemting....u wanna change it....

so do u wanna change the tranny or the entire engine and tranny..

u wanna go box..or u wanna stay auto??

and if u plan 2 change anyting..how much money do u plan on spending...

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » April 22nd, 2007, 3:02 am

Yea man I know. And I STILL ain't find a proper mechanic for my car.... I run through at least 3 so far and I ain't like none of their work (I kinda picky nah).

I wanna change the tranny cuz I like the engine and I wanna stay auto cuz I ain't able with driving to work (PoS) in hell traffic with a box tranny. I don't really have a budget in mind right now, so throw out yuh suggestions.

It's a C62A model btw. Noob question: How do you know whether your enging is SOHC or DOHC? Is it written somewhere?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 22nd, 2007, 4:15 am

well u cud watch the engine and tell from the head i believe..thaz 2 my observation...and well also it shud be written..

okay my opinion is u cud drive a manual car in traffic uh know lol....i going roytec and my classes does finish 4pm..by the time i reach that highway is real traffic...i brave enough to have a 4puck copper clutch no spring...and uh know thaz real pressure...but u cud go like ah street clutch or someting..normal..somehow i jus real like manual and cat tink of going bak automatic unless i drivn a benz or someting :lol:

well if u wanna change your engine...first of all..u hadda know wah u going for...u wah speed or jus someting normal..u want someting cheap or expensive...u wanna cross breed or not....all these tings.

then well if u wanna go boost or not..

i wud believe that the c62A is like the CB version i jus making a guess..so i guess u hvae the option of a 4g93/93T and even the 63/63T....along with alot of other engines like the 92 / 91 i believe came for the cb...

so basically its all up 2 u...if u wanna buy a complete engine or jus get the correct tranny for your car....

and well doh worry bro..i knwo about mechanics..lol it real hard 2 find a gud one..buh when u ready lmme know...i guh link u...with someting..wah area u from>>>

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » April 22nd, 2007, 11:00 am

jasonsjohn16 wrote:well u cud watch the engine and tell from the head i believe..thaz 2 my observation...and well also it shud be written..

Rephrasing the question. How does a non-experienced person tell if the enging is SOHC or DOHC? And where is it written? I opened the hood this morning and checked the name plate data tag and I don't see it anywhere.

Nah. I like my engine as is. It works damn good. It's d tranny that need changing.

I went and :google: "CB" (cuz I had no idea what that means) but I still aint find an accurate picture of my car. CB does come pretty close but it still aint the exact same thing. :?

Where to look for the correct tranny? And how much would that cost? (new and foreign used). I living chaguanas....have any good mechanics you could recommend?

venum

Postby venum » April 22nd, 2007, 11:35 am

you firstly need to provide the model of teh transmission that you have swapped in

and the kind of engine SOHC or DOHC

if it is a C62A then it might be a 12V SOHC EFI engine

you will find this on teh transmission itself

look for something that looks like F4A21, F4A41, F4AXX

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 22nd, 2007, 12:01 pm

Well you'd be a C62 model type. considering you're 1990 model.

Need more info bro... how exactly does the car feel now as compared to before?
Is it sluggish? is it not changing gears?

Did it have an overdrive ? (little button on shifter saying "O/D")

When mechanics go for parts they don't neccessarily ask for a car year... most times it's the engine. Now some come carburetted and some come Fuel injected, but both carry the same name. So if they did go and ask for a 4G15 transmission they will get just that.

If it is that the tranny you have is carburettor, it probably is a 3 speed. So then you'd be goin about 80 and find the car revving high or basically wanting another gear. Pretty much you're running as if your overdrive was off (4th gear)

Nothing will happen to your car. it won't overheat and it won't blow up or anythng. However, if it is that the car did come with an overdrive, then it's best to ask for a

CB-3 lancer 4speed transmission. If it is a 3 speed, then don't worry.

(if you don't know what I mean by 3 speed, then listen to your car as it drives. you will hear it change gears once, then twice and that's it. It won't change again until you mash down on the pedal or slow down almost to a complete stop.)

O/D will shift 3 times...

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » April 22nd, 2007, 12:15 pm

Model: E-C62A SRHE
Chassis: C62A - 0403550
Engine: 4G15 Ext: HD4
Trans Axle: F4A21

I do not know exactly what type of transmission dat d car using right now and IMO, my engine looks cluttered, so I don't even know WHERE to start looking for that. I just know it somewhere on the left side.

I repeat, I do NOT know whether the engine is SOHC or DOHC because I don't see it written anywhere. So I linked a pic to see if allyuh cud figure it out.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v347/ ... C01156.jpg

And yes, I know that the air filter needs a cleaning/changing.

MISHI: ROFL. I know what an overdrive is man. Thank God I ain't THAT bad off. Yea it have one. It's a 4 speed fuel injected transmission (at least that's what it supposed to have), but for the longest while I wasn't feeling the 4th gear and I didn't know why. That's when we checked the transmission yesterday and discovered it was a carburated tranny that in my car instead of a 4 speed fuel injected one.

To answer your questions, yes it felt a little sluggish, no it wasn't changing gears properly, and at least now I know why. I'll ask for that tranny when I going to buy a new one. Thanks for the info.

So where should I start looking?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 22nd, 2007, 12:56 pm

Ok my apologies. Just have to make sure :lol:

Well what you may have ended up getting was the f3A21 standard tranny. it will work ok for now as a get you her or there, but you need to get the F4A21 tranny.

the CB3- lancer 4speed tranny will work fine.

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » April 22nd, 2007, 12:59 pm

That's good to hear. I'll change my tranny soon then.

What about my SOHC/DOHC problem? Can you tell which it is just by looking at the pic?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 22nd, 2007, 1:48 pm

It's a SOHC

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 22nd, 2007, 4:47 pm

it have ah 4G15 Fuel Injected SOHC :? look at that :lol: i never came accross one...

well im from chaguanas also bro..which part u from? and well if i had my car now i wuda come and chck u and see waz de scene..it shudnt be that hard 2 get a tranny fro that car..

and how much so that wud go for ...a 2k or so..

wham to the original tranny that came with the engine???

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » April 22nd, 2007, 7:43 pm

Living in Lange Park (but doh get meh wrong I aint have no big setta $$ or nuttin).

jasonsjohn16 wrote:wham to the original tranny that came with the engine???

I have no clue. I didn't buy it new or foreign used....bought it local used almost a year ago so I not sure if the tranny I got it with WAS the original one dat come with d engine. The tranny that it had BEFORE this one had cap out on meh near priceplaza when I was driving home one day. Dat was real jones to get it home though. We had to reverse it all d way. :lol:

So where to start looking for a tranny to replace it? Should I just call around places? And do these places install it when you buy it or would I need a mechanic to do that separate? Keep in mind that I still don't have a mechanic for d car...

Return to “MITSUBISHI”