Cedia to Evo conversion

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

0ffline

Cedia to Evo conversion

Postby 0ffline » October 1st, 2017, 8:06 pm

I currently own a Cedia Lancer and I want to convert it to an evo 7/9.

For now I’ll be focusing on body conversion for now, if you know any places that sells evo parts and prices please say.

For the engine conversion.... tell me your opinion and any suggestions

Kronik

Re: Cedia to Evo conversion

Postby Kronik » October 2nd, 2017, 7:50 am

Hardest part is the rear. To do the 4wd conversion and to put on the rear fenders, both require welding works. Other than that, everything is bolt on bolt off parts.

I myself have a CS lancer and have looked into this. Most cost-effective method is get a unregistered donor car (whole car or front/rear half) and swap out everything, you will get all the parts you need and will be cheaper than buying the individual parts

Postby *KRONIK* » October 2nd, 2017, 11:01 am

There was a tuner here who did that conversion
He had it for sale a while back

Do a search....or maybe he can post here if he sees this

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 2nd, 2017, 11:14 am

*KRONIK* wrote:There was a tuner here who did that conversion

That is 747 technologies you talking about?

He changed the whole back half from half way down the rear windscreen I think, he didn't finish the project, I know he was selling it unregistered and the back half had to realign and weld off

Postby *KRONIK* » October 2nd, 2017, 11:58 am

Kronik wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:There was a tuner here who did that conversion

That is 747 technologies you talking about?

He changed the whole back half from half way down the rear windscreen I think, he didn't finish the project, I know he was selling it unregistered and the back half had to realign and weld off

Yea
That guy

Didnt know the project needed that much work

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » December 4th, 2017, 8:42 pm

A guy in grande did it and completed it. I own the car now in Tobago. absolutely amazing and fun to drive.

Postby Dave » December 4th, 2017, 9:13 pm

Let's see some pics

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » December 5th, 2017, 9:51 am

FB_IMG_1512481568365.jpg
FB_IMG_1512481102641.jpg

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » December 5th, 2017, 10:01 am

FB_IMG_1512481117078.jpg

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 5th, 2017, 1:47 pm

That looking real mad

Postby *KRONIK* » December 5th, 2017, 1:53 pm

turbo boost wrote:
FB_IMG_1512481568365.jpg

How come it not wide bodied?
Didnt the previous owner add an actual evo7 rear end on it?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 5th, 2017, 1:59 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
turbo boost wrote:
FB_IMG_1512481568365.jpg

How come it not wide bodied?
Didnt the previous owner add an actual evo7 rear end on it?

It's the rim that would determine that. He probably running like 7.5" or 8" max width. From how it looking, the bolting point for the rim close to the outside.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 5th, 2017, 2:02 pm

Nah.
Evo7 does wide body into the rear door

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 5th, 2017, 4:16 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Nah.

Yeah I know that, but no need for the wide body unless he puts the wider rims. Looks like an exact lineup currently. Nice sleeper Evo, men will just say that is a tobo lansah like mine

Postby *KRONIK* » December 5th, 2017, 4:26 pm

Kronik wrote:

Yeah I know that, but no need for the wide body unless he puts the wider rims. Looks like an exact lineup currently. Nice sleeper Evo, men will just say that is a tobo lansah like mine

Yuh miss the point
I remember the evo conversion car that was for sale had an evo back end.
I wondering if is another car posted here.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 5th, 2017, 4:29 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Kronik wrote:

Yuh miss the point

orrr, the whole back half you talking about, i c i c.
looks like just a flooring swap like how the CK are done. you talking about the back half swap like 747 did

Postby *KRONIK* » December 5th, 2017, 4:30 pm

Kronik wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Kronik wrote:

Yuh miss the point

orrr, the whole back half you talking about, i c i c.
looks like just a flooring swap like how the CK are done. you talking about the back half swap like 747 did

Yea
Is 747 car i thinking about

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » December 5th, 2017, 6:38 pm

No back half was used. It's the original cedia back

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 5th, 2017, 7:14 pm

Hmm.... Details please, I have a CS too

Postby black start » December 5th, 2017, 7:19 pm

Kronik wrote:orrr, the whole back half you talking about, i c i c.

Most ck men swap plates...like that youth from princess town with the black lan...errr I mean evo

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 5th, 2017, 7:25 pm

black start wrote:
Kronik wrote:orrr, the whole back half you talking about, i c i c.

Most ck men swap plates...like that youth from princess town with the black lan...errr I mean evo

Ahem..... We talking about the legal thing, not posting pics of your lancer and then suddenly it becomes a Evo *connection lost*

Postby black start » December 5th, 2017, 7:50 pm

Yuh seeing that

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » December 5th, 2017, 8:51 pm

IMG-20171205-WA0004.jpg

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » December 5th, 2017, 8:57 pm

The car came original front wheel drive auto GDI 4g93T. The guy in Grande did the whole build. Evo engine, gearbox, transfer, rear diff (rs), subframe front and back, the whole nine yards. Was glad to benefit from his labour, but wouldn't recommend the build unless u r a real "hands on" person. Could easily run a budget of buying a legit evo.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 5th, 2017, 10:14 pm

turbo boost wrote:The car came original front wheel drive auto GDI 4g93T. The guy in Grande did the whole build. Evo engine, gearbox, transfer, rear diff (rs), subframe front and back, the whole nine yards. Was glad to benefit from his labour, but wouldn't recommend the build unless u r a real "hands on" person. Could easily run a budget of buying a legit evo.

Who is that man that did the work?

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » December 6th, 2017, 5:09 pm

The guy's name is Wavel Baird. A master in his own right. He did most of the fabrication and also wired it himself. Lost his # though

Postby *KRONIK* » December 6th, 2017, 6:54 pm

turbo boost wrote:The guy's name is Wavel Baird. A master in his own right. He did most of the fabrication and also wired it himself. Lost his # though

Ohhh
I from grande, but i dont know the guy.

Good job he did anyway

Postby *KRONIK* » December 9th, 2017, 10:59 am

https://www.facebook.com/groups/Trini.S ... 0485848148

This is the cs2 with the evo back end

Postby 1234 » September 17th, 2022, 12:07 pm

So basically once u change the back half of a cs3 lancer to evo 7 the front is just bolt on parts? I'm interested in doing one soon so all info will be appreciated. Want evo7 everything on a cs3.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 19th, 2022, 9:03 am

1234 wrote:So basically once u change the back half of a cs3 lancer to evo 7 the front is just bolt on parts? I'm interested in doing one soon so all info will be appreciated. Want evo7 everything on a cs3.

Basically yeah for chassis.
Advisable to do a weld in roll cage when doing this to help reinforce everything and to help with rigidity as Evo chassis slightly more rigid due to 1 more metal layers in the construction if I'm not mistaken.
May need to change nosecut, compare them and see

Return to “MITSUBISHI”