Questions re: 1kz head and EGR

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

MDtuner70

Questions re: 1kz head and EGR

Postby MDtuner70 » February 11th, 2022, 3:40 pm

Good day Gentlemen.

I have a couple questions regarding the 1kz engine, see below.

1. The head is cracked and I need to get a replacement. I have two options, either get a new aftermarket replacement from Thailand (I think the brand is Headmasters) or get a used original Toyota head which requires shaving. The prices are ~ $9000 and $7000 (includes the cost of shaving) respectively. What would you tuner gurus suggest ?

2. As I am dabbling in this area, I am also considering doing an EGR delete. What are your thoughts on:

A. Leaving the EGR system as is and do a throttle body and intake manifold clean/service when necessary.

Or

B. Simply deleting EGR.

Or

C. Installing a catch can alongside EGR.

(Based on my research so far, I am considering option A)

Re: Questions re: 1kz head and EGR

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2022, 3:57 pm

Not sure bout the head situation

But as regards EGR...
Best bet is to put a blanking plate with a hole and put a GOOD catch can like a provent or similar can that uses actual oil/air seperation filter medium.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2022, 3:58 pm

Also, still do a full intake system clean inclusive of intercooler, you wont believe how much oil and soot is in there.
The catch can will keep the newly cleaned intake running clean and smoothly

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » February 11th, 2022, 8:28 pm

So I'm looking at keeping EGR and run catch can based on yr advice.

I am also currently in the process of doing exactly what you suggested in yr second post.

Give thanks Kronik

david12

Postby david12 » February 11th, 2022, 9:56 pm

^That's the best thing imo. The egr valve isn't open at all times so it shouldn't make too much of a difference. The catch can however is a great thing and I heavily recommend it. Did an intake manifold and throttle body clean on a car at 80k km and it was stink. Definitely not as efficient as it could be. As for the head, I think I'll go with a used Toyota head if I was in your position. Best of luck!

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » February 11th, 2022, 10:16 pm

david12 wrote:^That's the best thing imo. The egr valve isn't open at all times so it shouldn't make too much of a difference. The catch can however is a great thing and I heavily recommend it. Did an intake manifold and throttle body clean on a car at 80k km and it was stink. Definitely not as efficient as it could be. As for the head, I think I'll go with a used Toyota head if I was in your position. Best of luck!

Stink is an understatement. She dutty. Soot like that!

I am also going with the used Toyota head after doing more readings along with yr suggestion.

Yo thanks David.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » February 11th, 2022, 10:26 pm

This is the flick.

Ebay never fails.

Postby Dave » February 12th, 2022, 8:40 am

Always get a can with a baffle otherwise you won't be getting adequate air and oil separation.
For reference... gasoline engine from brand new and that's roughly 4k km since oil change.
Think about that allover your throttle plate, intake and plugs having fun!
514265462.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2022, 9:10 am

MDtuner70 wrote:^^

So I'm looking at keeping EGR and run catch can based on yr advice.

I am also currently in the process of doing exactly what you suggested in yr second post.

Give thanks Kronik
Yup
This is best practice

Tried and tested both locally and abroad

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2022, 9:15 am

MDtuner70 wrote:This is the flick.

Ebay never fails.

This is a great can
I wanted one of these initially, but the cost to land from from AU had me second guessing

Luckily, i was able to get my hands on a vehicle specific MANN-HUMMEL provent 200 from someone who brought in a shipment.

While my vehicle does have EGR, i'm still surpised at the amount of oil it collects every 5000km
Same oil which would have made its way into the intake system

jackal

Postby jackal » February 15th, 2022, 1:48 pm

Since my head went 2years ago, I changed the engine and I bought a head and have it parked down, just in case.

Wanna know about the EGR delete, when I bought the replacement engine, the manifold was real gunky, cleaned it out but never follow up on blanking off the EGR.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » February 22nd, 2022, 3:37 pm

Dave wrote:Always get a can with a baffle otherwise you won't be getting adequate air and oil separation.
For reference... gasoline engine from brand new and that's roughly 4k km since oil change.
Think about that allover your throttle plate, intake and plugs having fun!
514265462.jpeg

Noted and thanks.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » March 15th, 2022, 7:49 pm

jackal wrote:Since my head went 2years ago, I changed the engine and I bought a head and have it parked down, just in case.

Wanna know about the EGR delete, when I bought the replacement engine, the manifold was real gunky, cleaned it out but never follow up on blanking off the EGR.

I would say the best approach is maintain the EGR and let it do its job (there are many pros for leaving it). Run a catch can alongside and do the clean out when necessary.

Check Ih8mud, quite a few forums that go in depth into its pros and cons.

Return to “TOYOTA”