Power loss with 5AFE ( AE100 )
Posted: March 7th, 2019, 3:04 am
by krazykidzkrew
Good day
Sometimes while driving most of the times the engine looses power for a split second, the car "bucks", will happen alot in a row unless I accelerate.
Also what will cause the instrument panel to go defective in terms of the tach and odometer. It's the third instrument panel, first the tach will start to malfunction then the odometer. Now if I'm going 40 its really 100
Thanks
Re: Power loss with 5AFE ( AE100 )
Posted: March 8th, 2019, 3:41 pm
by krazykidzkrew
Bump
Posted: March 8th, 2019, 5:09 pm
by Supra GT-FOUR
I had a similar issue with an ae101 years back.
Have someone check your alternator charging voltage with a DMM.
When the regulator in the alternator goes bad it causes the output voltage to fluctuate (operating at over 14.4v at times) this causes the tachometer to jump around.
Most likely the overvoltage is damaging the instrument panel.
Your soloution would be to get the alternator regulator replaced.
Posted: March 9th, 2019, 10:25 pm
by krazykidzkrew
Changed the alternator recently. Was charging at 14.2v last time I checked. will check back the voltage then tomorrow
Posted: March 21st, 2019, 12:35 pm
by HSA
check your distributor cap for oil. inner or outer seals maybe leaking and trippin the rotor.
Posted: March 22nd, 2019, 10:41 pm
by krazykidzkrew
Distributor was changed also but a while back. Will check over the weekend.
It's not a issue I getting right through. Is mostly on the overdrive gear or just before at a certain speed I get the power loss for a split second. If I drive a little faster it goes away
Posted: April 1st, 2019, 12:54 pm
by make meh care
the ecu may be damaged by the defective alternator
Posted: April 9th, 2019, 5:15 am
by krazykidzkrew
Was thinking to change that as a last resort
Posted: April 9th, 2019, 5:16 am
by krazykidzkrew
But the car does work good other than that little issue everything fully functional. Will drive normal etc.
Posted: October 4th, 2019, 11:05 am
by kdwhiteoak09
Is the Engine check light on? As for the instrument panel, the capacitors in the instrument panel begin to leak over time causing the speedometer and tachometer to give an inaccurate reading.