Power loss with 5AFE ( AE100 )

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

krazykidzkrew

Power loss with 5AFE ( AE100 )

Postby krazykidzkrew » March 7th, 2019, 3:04 am

Good day
Sometimes while driving most of the times the engine looses power for a split second, the car "bucks", will happen alot in a row unless I accelerate.

Also what will cause the instrument panel to go defective in terms of the tach and odometer. It's the third instrument panel, first the tach will start to malfunction then the odometer. Now if I'm going 40 its really 100

Thanks

krazykidzkrew

Re: Power loss with 5AFE ( AE100 )

Postby krazykidzkrew » March 8th, 2019, 3:41 pm

Bump

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » March 8th, 2019, 5:09 pm

I had a similar issue with an ae101 years back.
Have someone check your alternator charging voltage with a DMM.
When the regulator in the alternator goes bad it causes the output voltage to fluctuate (operating at over 14.4v at times) this causes the tachometer to jump around.
Most likely the overvoltage is damaging the instrument panel.
Your soloution would be to get the alternator regulator replaced.

krazykidzkrew

Postby krazykidzkrew » March 9th, 2019, 10:25 pm

Changed the alternator recently. Was charging at 14.2v last time I checked. will check back the voltage then tomorrow

HSA

Postby HSA » March 21st, 2019, 12:35 pm

check your distributor cap for oil. inner or outer seals maybe leaking and trippin the rotor.

krazykidzkrew

Postby krazykidzkrew » March 22nd, 2019, 10:41 pm

Distributor was changed also but a while back. Will check over the weekend.
It's not a issue I getting right through. Is mostly on the overdrive gear or just before at a certain speed I get the power loss for a split second. If I drive a little faster it goes away

make meh care

Postby make meh care » April 1st, 2019, 12:54 pm

the ecu may be damaged by the defective alternator

krazykidzkrew

Postby krazykidzkrew » April 9th, 2019, 5:15 am

Was thinking to change that as a last resort

krazykidzkrew

Postby krazykidzkrew » April 9th, 2019, 5:16 am

But the car does work good other than that little issue everything fully functional. Will drive normal etc.

kdwhiteoak09

Postby kdwhiteoak09 » October 4th, 2019, 11:05 am

Is the Engine check light on? As for the instrument panel, the capacitors in the instrument panel begin to leak over time causing the speedometer and tachometer to give an inaccurate reading.

Return to “TOYOTA”