Godspeed progressive spring install on a Rav4

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

rebound

Godspeed progressive spring install on a Rav4

Postby rebound » November 2nd, 2018, 8:56 am

Tuners, I know some would have mixed feelings about this but, I installed afermarket wheels on my Rav4 and found that the fender to tyre spacing needed some help.

So I installed a set of Godspeed Traction-S springs on it. See before and after pics below.
20181102_061559.jpeg
20181031_075129.jpeg

Re: Godspeed progressive spring install on a Rav4

Postby Dave » November 2nd, 2018, 9:11 am

God speed partner!
Looks wise you have it. The integrity

rebound

Postby rebound » November 2nd, 2018, 9:32 am

Are there integrity issues with that brand?

Postby Dave » November 2nd, 2018, 9:41 am

Do a search on the name. In the past there was. Not sure about recently.

rebound

Postby rebound » November 2nd, 2018, 9:50 am

Cool, the reveiws on these were good so far, guess I would get to reveiw first hand

Postby Dave » November 2nd, 2018, 11:32 am

Well that's good. Please give us some feedback after you have given them a breaking in.

rebound

Postby rebound » November 2nd, 2018, 1:08 pm

Will do....first impressions for now is an excellent ride in the front, stiffer in the back and an improvment in overall handling..

Postby Dave » November 2nd, 2018, 2:35 pm

Fronts will settle quicker than back due to weight in the front. Get a couple bags of cement for the back to break those in.

rebound

Postby rebound » November 13th, 2018, 7:21 pm

Well, I surrender....Its too stiff for our roads or lack of roads in Trinidad....going back to stock tommorow.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 13th, 2018, 8:46 pm

But it looking harrrrddddd hoss

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 13th, 2018, 9:33 pm

Definitely quite a looker hoss.. van looks corkk with the lower Suspension... Coilovers next???

Postby Dave » November 14th, 2018, 10:13 am

It gets softer with use. How may kilos you drove. The short profile tyre won't help the drive btw

rebound

Postby rebound » November 14th, 2018, 6:50 pm

Dave wrote:It gets softer with use. How may kilos you drove. The short profile tyre won't help the drive btw
The guy cancelled on the swap today, it did about 100kms so far, do you think I should give it a little more time?

rebound

Postby rebound » November 14th, 2018, 6:52 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Definitely quite a looker hoss.. van looks corkk with the lower Suspension... Coilovers next???
Thanks bro....I might consider air if anything else....accuair has a nice kit...this is a different shot.
20181110_111302.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » November 14th, 2018, 6:57 pm

rebound wrote:
Dave wrote:It gets softer with use. How may kilos you drove. The short profile tyre won't help the drive btw
The guy cancelled on the swap today, it did about 100kms so far, do you think I should give it a little more time?
Yea hoss

More like 1000kms

Postby Dave » November 15th, 2018, 6:55 am

And even more if u carry hardly any weight and only see smooth road lol cause we hardly have any.

sharadu2

Postby sharadu2 » November 15th, 2018, 8:33 am

I did the same on my hybrid vezel but the ride is hard but I like the look. Used vogtland springs though.

sharadu2

Postby sharadu2 » November 15th, 2018, 8:37 am

sharadu2 wrote:I did the same on my hybrid vezel but the ride is hard but I like the look. Used vogtland springs though.

ImageImage
It takes some time for springs to break in.

rebound

Postby rebound » November 15th, 2018, 9:09 am

sharadu2 wrote:
sharadu2 wrote:I did the same on my hybrid vezel but the ride is hard but I like the look. Used vogtland springs though.

ImageImage
It takes some time for springs to break in.
Nice, so your springs got softer over time?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 15th, 2018, 8:03 pm

Vezel looking cork too

Postby Dave » November 15th, 2018, 8:11 pm

They get softer and lower. I have about 1500k on my rsr and they are still getting better

sharadu2

Postby sharadu2 » November 16th, 2018, 11:34 am

Yes they got softer with time. But there will always be a little stiffer than original.

sharadu2

Postby sharadu2 » November 16th, 2018, 11:36 am

The night pic was the same day I installed the springs. The other was about 6mts after.

rebound

Postby rebound » November 16th, 2018, 12:39 pm

sharadu2 wrote:The night pic was the same day I installed the springs. The other was about 6mts after.
Yeah, i am seeing the front got lower

rebound

Postby rebound » November 17th, 2018, 8:57 am

Guys, thanks for the advise and experience thus far. I drove the car today and it is in fact getting better.....I have to admit i was worried..

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 17th, 2018, 9:15 am

You still have the stock rims and tires?? Throw them on and give it a lil beach run an thing na man

Postby *KRONIK* » November 17th, 2018, 9:15 am

Naahhh
Nothing to worry about

When i did my 1set of lowering springs
The car was like a plate compactor

Then it got so smooth
Was nicer than stock

Postby Ted_v2 » November 23rd, 2018, 9:05 pm

So just a lil time i need to wait for my frontier ride to improve? :D

car lookin hard hoss!

rebound

Postby rebound » November 24th, 2018, 5:24 pm

Update: Getting smoother, loving the ride. Turning radius has been reduced (that would be the rim size) great highway confidence.

I need to figure out a way to bring the rear up about half inch, any suggestions?

rebound

Postby rebound » January 13th, 2019, 7:04 pm

Unfortunately I had to surrender....with three persons in the backseat the ride is not good at all. With the driver and a passenger alone its a dream to drive.

So the originals are back on....time to cook up a new plan

Return to “TOYOTA”