1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

sentraman

1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

Postby sentraman » December 13th, 2005, 1:21 am

Ok so ah driving a roro 1.6 NZE vvt-i corolla these days and realise that I only getting 350kms for a tank of gas ($115). I am not even crossing 120km/h with the car and no a/c on.

I find that gas consumption a lil to high for a car that supposed to be sooo economical. I was looking for something closer to 500kms to the tank.

SO are there any NZE men out there with better gas milage. If so let me know how much I should be expecting so I can carry the car back to the dealer and let him know something is wrong.

thanks 8)

Val

Postby Val » December 13th, 2005, 7:40 am

I dunno where your car should be in terms of economy, but check your tire pressure, air filter etc.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 13th, 2005, 8:13 am

$115? dat PEE mium? or Super? That's about 9.2 km per litre if you using Premium

Did the car get any servicing since you got it?
What's the mileage?

It seems a lil low for a new car. I get around the same thing, but I does reach 140, 160, etc sometimes...

But vfp16 has some good advice there, check your filters, and tyre pressure.

And then again, do you drive in traffic? or mixed?

Val

Postby Val » December 13th, 2005, 8:25 am

another bit of advice, the car drastically reduces in fuel efficiency above 80 kmh, all these econo cars basically. 120kmh is still a bit high and would be harsh on fuel even though you consider it slow.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 13th, 2005, 8:50 am

well I have had the car for one week and only yesterday I changed the oil, oil filter, air filter and checked the plugs. When I say I aint cross 120km what I really meant to say was that was the fastest I drove it but i usually between 80 and 100.
The milage on the car now is 32*** and I am using premium

Val

Postby Val » December 13th, 2005, 8:57 am

check your fuel economy again.

check your tire pressure too. Keep it at about 28~30 psi.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 13th, 2005, 9:16 am

I will fill up today and see if there was any improvement after that mini tuneup 8) Oh yeah and that was driving in NO traffic at all.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 13th, 2005, 9:45 am

vfp16 wrote:another bit of advice, the car drastically reduces in fuel efficiency above 80 kmh, all these econo cars basically. 120kmh is still a bit high and would be harsh on fuel even though you consider it slow.

I don't agree totally with you there.

At 120 km, you would be pulling about 3000 rpm in 4th... 80 km is about 2000.

I would have assumed the car would run BETTER now as it came from Japan/Singapore using better fuels! I used to get 10-11 km per litre when my car was new, and I driving it HARD since I got it...

Val

Postby Val » December 13th, 2005, 10:01 am

RPM is not all that counts. At that speed the friction between your car and the air would be drastically higher. Not only Air resistance in a straight line, but air currents blowing against your car in all directions would be enhanced at higher speeds.

Val

Postby Val » December 13th, 2005, 10:04 am

Proof

Increasing your highway cruising speed from 55mph (90km/h) to 75mph (120km/h) can raise fuel consumption as much as 20%. You can improve your gas mileage 10 - 15% by driving at 55mph rather than 65mph (104km/h).
Note how quickly efficiency drops after 60 mph.

to prove my other point about the tires
Make sure your tires are properly inflated to prevent increased rolling resistance. Under-inflated tires can cause fuel consumption to increase by as much as 6%. Operating a vehicle with just one tire under-inflated by 40 kPa can reduce the life of the tire by 10,000 km and increase the vehicle's fuel consumption by three per cent.
Check tire pressure at least once a month, when the tires are 'cold' (i.e. when the vehicle has not been driven for at least three hours or for more than 2km). Start by checking tire pressures in your driveway. Note any tire that is underinflated, and then drive to the nearest gas station to add air. Check tire pressures again at the station, and inflate the low tires to the same level as the others (these will likely have higher pressure than they did in the driveway, since the tires have heated up.) Radial tires can be under inflated yet still look normal. Always use your own tire gauge for consistent results. On average, tires lose about 1 psi per month and 1 psi for every 10 degree drop in temperature.

Refer to http://eartheasy.com/live_fuel_efficient_driving.htm

8)
Last edited by Val on December 13th, 2005, 10:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 13th, 2005, 10:05 am

^^^ yeah but you gettting way to technical bro... :D

Then wouldn't it be the same for every car?

Val

Postby Val » December 13th, 2005, 10:08 am

nope, cars differ slightly from this graph cause every car has different aerodynamic designs and engines and all kinds of technology. But it is a general trend.

Don't mean to get technical on you, just like to show all aspects from first principles so u can understand. :)

Val

Postby Val » December 13th, 2005, 10:09 am

wooo, I am a trinituner peong now

crossed the 400 hp marker :wink:

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » December 13th, 2005, 11:26 am

Air resistance is supposed to be a quadratic.
Then you factor in your gearing for the appropriate speed.
It get annoying...

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » December 13th, 2005, 12:11 pm

sentraman 350kms real low cause i have de local 1.5 and with ac on all de time and driving on avg 120kmph i does get around 600~650 per tank $140 check yuh filters

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 13th, 2005, 1:46 pm

Also to consider that the 1.6 *may* not be an LEV...
I don't think the 1ZZ is :twisted:

Postby Dave » December 13th, 2005, 2:14 pm

use some octane booster, may have carbon build up in the head and may need some safe chemicals and some spirited driving to motivate it out :lol:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » December 13th, 2005, 2:33 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:Also to consider that the 1.6 *may* not be an LEV...
I don't think the 1ZZ is :twisted:

the 1.6 is a 3zz-fe

and it is LEV so is the 1zz-fe :wink:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 13th, 2005, 2:55 pm

^^ Didn't know that... still packing good power though :)

Raziel

Postby Raziel » December 13th, 2005, 3:29 pm

Two points

1. Are you doing short runs? or longer highway runs? makes a big difference to your milage

2. Try changing your gas station, I can fill my talk at two different gas stations and get 80K difference on a tank, I now fill my tank at only one particular gas station as a result.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 14th, 2005, 1:11 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:sentraman 350kms real low cause i have de local 1.5 and with ac on all de time and driving on avg 120kmph i does get around 600~650 per tank $140 check yuh filters

Dam man 600 wooo weee :lol:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » December 14th, 2005, 9:30 am

^^ yeah jed is real economical cars....i say de best bet is to carry it TTTL and let dem to ah full service......wut yuh do since yuh get de car in tearms of service?

sameerali78

Postby sameerali78 » December 14th, 2005, 9:41 am

fellaz cruzin on 5th gear at low speed does cause u to burn more gas if u keep a steady pace?

Postby Dave » December 14th, 2005, 9:54 am

once you are not using throttle meaning constantly pushing and releasing you won't burn gas cause either carbed or efi once the plate moves the plunges sprays or the tps would sense and thus read the maf/map and open injectors more and spray
hence the reason for cruise control :wink:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 17th, 2005, 12:29 am

So after changing the oil and air filter and checking the plugs the car still giving bout 350km. I went and got it checked with a diagnostic machine but there were no error codes coming up to say if a sensor was bad. However the machine did determine that the airflow meter was giving a reading of over 2.2 something something. After cleaning the airflow sensor and spraying some foam business in the intake the reading went down to 1.9 something.

What is the correct reading to get on those sensors ie airflow and O2 and TPS.???

P.S so far the after filling the tank gas looking like it still wanna dissapear.

HELP!!!

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » December 17th, 2005, 7:45 am

get ur car serviced

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 19th, 2005, 8:30 am

Wayyyy......dat engine sounging problematic. Esp since i have a 1ZZ and i get 550km on a tank of gas. Pulled off 600kms once or twice.

No error codes and the AFM was cleaned. Two biggest problems solved there.

Tyre pressure i don't think would screw up your mileage that much.

And yuh say yuh don't drive above 120kmph during that period.

Kinda lost on this one now. I'll check some other forums and get back to yuh

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » December 19th, 2005, 9:14 pm

sentra man my moms have one of those cars 1.5 and got great mileage as in about 60o +Km ah tank and that with the ac always on and about 110 km average speed

one thing is to disconnect the battery and reconnect after about 20 mins to reset the ecu , start and leave it to idle untill it comes up to noraml temp

do a ecu scan to see if your engine throwing codes a wire might be loose on a sensor after a pressure washing when ur car came off the port

if you dont want to spring for a scan i suggest an engine wash and then spray all the connectors with wd 40 liberally to drive out moisture and check all the connectorr to the sensors , dont pull them willy nilly because they break easliy if you pull them the wrong way ,

one key sensor is the air temp sensor arond the air box and map sensor in the throtle body

use a fuel treatement , wait till u empty and throw ah whole bottle of red line and fill up , repeat and then follow the directions as in adding an oncue ah gallonr or some thing so it on the bottle

also ensure you using the correct plugs

my 2 cents

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » December 19th, 2005, 9:18 pm

ok now read the second page and realise u did a scan , my bad

my other advie , wait till the road clear about 2 in the morning and go for a spirited highway run , as in stop go stright up to about 160 and then pull over stop and repeat , as dave said carbon build up could cause that problem

Raziel

Postby Raziel » December 20th, 2005, 9:54 am

Sentraman, you still didn't answer my question

Where you driving from - to?

If you driving somewhere like Diego Martin -> POS -> grocery -> back you will never get the same milage as a man driving a longer distance.

Short runs always kill your milage, that's why vehicle manufacturers have City & Highway gas milage figures.

Return to “TOYOTA”