Toyota Aqua / Prius question

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Re: Toyota Aqua / Prius question

Postby SR » November 13th, 2017, 7:42 pm

Lolol ok boss

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 14th, 2017, 1:34 pm

SR wrote:Which scan tool do you have?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00H9S71LW/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

ScanTool 427201 OBDLink LX Bluetooth: Professional OBD-II Scan Tool for Android & Windows
Torque Pro for Android with the full suite of custom PIDs for the Gen 3 Prius -

Regen Cooperation
Fuel Input
Fuel Input
Room Temp
Calculated Load
Vehicle Load
Atmosphere pressure
Engine coolant temperature
Injection volume (Cylinder 1) for 10 times
Injection duration for cylinder 1
State of Charge
Ambient Temperature
MG1 temperature
MG1 revolution
MG2 temperature
MG2 revolution
MG1 torque
MG2 torque
Inverter MG1 Temp
Inverter MG2 Temp
High voltage before it is boosted
High voltage after it is boosted
Boost converter temperature (upper)
Boost converter temperature (lower)
Inverter Coolant Temp
MG1 Carrier Frequency
MG2 Carrier Frequency
A/C consumption power
Battery Block Voltage -V01
Battery Block Voltage -V02
Battery Block Voltage -V03
Battery Block Voltage -V04
Battery Block Voltage -V05
Battery Block Voltage -V06
Battery Block Voltage -V07
Battery Block Voltage -V08
Battery Block Voltage -V09
Battery Block Voltage -V10
Battery Block Voltage -V11
Battery Block Voltage -V12
Battery Block Voltage -V13
Battery Block Voltage -V14
Traction Battery Temp
Temp of Batt TB1
Temp of Batt TB2
Temp of Batt TB3
Battery pack current
Internal Resistance R01
Internal Resistance R02
Internal Resistance R03
Internal Resistance R04
Internal Resistance R05
Internal Resistance R06
Internal Resistance R07
Internal Resistance R08
Internal Resistance R09
Internal Resistance R10
Internal Resistance R11
Internal Resistance R12
Internal Resistance R13
Internal Resistance R14
HV battery discharge control
HV battery charge control
Last edited by Jonathan on November 14th, 2017, 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 14th, 2017, 1:36 pm

b5er wrote:
venum wrote:Guys, everyone claiming that these Hybrids give great fuel econimo and I am interested in them for that

I se figures being posted of 47mpg

can the guys with these vehicles also post your mpg and driving distances in combo (electric and gas)?

Also I suggest we create an official Toyota Prius\Aqua\Fielder Hybrid thread just for these models as it would be a common place to post info like parts and mechanics etc specific to these models

I wanted to buy a hybrid, but ssinc eteh taxes went up Its looking like a Fielder Hybrid (1.5) now

My Prius give approximately 54 MPG or 23 KM/L or 4.36 L/100 km,
at a cost of $0.166 / KM, or $0.267 / Mile.

I'm averaging 59-60mpg (25.2km/l)

b5er

Postby b5er » November 14th, 2017, 3:16 pm

Jonathan wrote:I'm averaging 59-60mpg (25.2km/l)

This is excellent, what year, make and model do you have? are these figures directly from the cars dash or calculated manually over a period of time?

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 16th, 2017, 10:04 am

b5er wrote:
Jonathan wrote:I'm averaging 59-60mpg (25.2km/l)

This is excellent, what year, make and model do you have? are these figures directly from the cars dash or calculated manually over a period of time?

It's a 2014 Prius. The AC is always used as well. This morning I got 78mpg (33.5km/l) from Santa Cruz, over the hill into Maraval, over Long Circular Road, thru St. James towards my destination in Chaguramas. I cannot compain!

These are the dash figures, I know that they can read high but it's usually around 1-2mpg difference.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 21st, 2017, 10:45 pm

Subscribed as my next car would definitely be a toyota hybrid or a cng car.....the foreign used aqua goes for around 65k which is pretty good

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » November 29th, 2017, 11:26 am

I'm now in the process of purchasing an Aqua. Looking for some help, the particular trim model i'm buying doesn't have steering wheel controls or a center console box/armrest. Would really like to find the center console somewhere locally to buy. Any suggestions?

car

Postby car » November 29th, 2017, 11:54 am

feeldavibe wrote:I'm now in the process of purchasing an Aqua. Looking for some help, the particular trim model i'm buying doesn't have steering wheel controls or a center console box/armrest. Would really like to find the center console somewhere locally to buy. Any suggestions?

Bess you buy the fully loaded version

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 29th, 2017, 12:56 pm

Yeah not much of a difference in price frim fully loaded to basic

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » December 12th, 2017, 8:45 am

What about the Prius dashboard being in Japanese? Has that affected anyone negatively? Is there a service in Trinidad converting them to english?

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » December 12th, 2017, 4:02 pm

Google translate is your friend. I've figured out all the text with that.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » January 5th, 2018, 8:44 am

On a side note, I see that the new taxes for hybrids with engines over 1799cc is in effect.

The Prius engine is 1798cc which is below that threshold.

Am I to assume that this model is exempt from the taxes? I had to ask. :lol:

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 5th, 2018, 10:13 pm

Jonathan wrote:On a side note, I see that the new taxes for hybrids with engines over 1799cc is in effect.

The Prius engine is 1798cc which is below that threshold.

Am I to assume that this model is exempt from the taxes? I had to ask.

I thought was anything above 1599cc?

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » January 6th, 2018, 12:18 am

1599. So full taxes on the Prius. Which makes no sense because the Prius is a Pioneer for Hybrid technology since 1997. So almost 21 years now those Prius still going strong. Overseas Prius and Hybrid are almost synonymous.

car

Postby car » January 6th, 2018, 1:20 am

M-Tech wrote:1599. So full taxes on the Prius. Which makes no sense because the Prius is a Pioneer for Hybrid technology since 1997. So almost 21 years now those Prius still going strong. Overseas Prius and Hybrid are almost synonymous.

Foreign used dealers was arguing this point and had meetings with imburt. Gubberment ain’t want to hear nutten bout it. Dem doh drive Prius. Is we to suffer.
I see a foreign used dealer by allied home store have about 8 park up unlicensed. Meano what go happen with them now.
Only in Trinidad.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » January 6th, 2018, 7:35 am

M-Tech wrote:1599. So full taxes on the Prius. Which makes no sense because the Prius is a Pioneer for Hybrid technology since 1997. So almost 21 years now those Prius still going strong. Overseas Prius and Hybrid are almost synonymous.
Nah mannn I got excited for a moment there. That's a hell of a typo in the Thursday papers then.Image

wattlesskevin

Postby wattlesskevin » January 17th, 2018, 2:00 pm

feeldavibe wrote:What about the Prius dashboard being in Japanese? Has that affected anyone negatively? Is there a service in Trinidad converting them to english?
I would like to know the same thing too . Thinking if to get one of the aquas

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » January 17th, 2018, 10:01 pm

Check this.
Anything over 1599cc Hybrid or not passin' in de rush !.
The MV Tax is per cc.

We talkin' bout:
Gasoline powered: Sylphy, X-Trail, Juke GT (1618cc),
Hybrids : Prius, Noah, Voxy, Axela, Accord, X-Trail.

For last year's budget all Hybrids over 1599cc got knocked out.
Now they increased taxes on anything above.

But they will still not stop Ro-Ro. If they do, it is a big loss in revenue and more people will be sent home.
Peace.
RR.
Revised Taxes 2017 T&T.jpeg

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 18th, 2018, 5:51 am

ramishrrr wrote:Check this.
The MV Tax is per cc.

We talkin' bout:

But they will still not stop Ro-Ro. If they do, it is a big loss in revenue and more people will be sent home.
Peace.
RR.

Wait wait, i not sure I understand, what is the MV tax? That is not the engine tax or that is a new tax in addition to the engine duty and vat?

car

Postby car » January 18th, 2018, 7:21 am

Kronik wrote:
The MV Tax is per cc.

We talkin' bout:

Peace.
RR.

Wait wait, i not sure I understand, what is the MV tax? That is not the engine tax or that is a new tax in addition to the engine duty and vat?

Previously no tax was on hybrids. Now is tax, so is new tax for hybrids over 1600cc.
For gasoline is an increase tax at 25% at 1600cc -2000cc
All other cc remain unchanged.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 18th, 2018, 9:38 am

car wrote:
Kronik wrote:
The MV Tax is per cc.

We talkin' bout:

Peace.
RR.

Previously no tax was on hybrids. Now is tax, so is new tax for hybrids over 1600cc.
For gasoline is an increase tax at 25% at 1600cc -2000cc
All other cc remain unchanged.

Ohhh ok ok, I know about that one, real balls yes, the original hybrid no longer tax free

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » January 18th, 2018, 5:01 pm

Motor Vehicle Tax(MVT) is "GREEDY TAX" that the government has imposed on us.
Customs Duty is a form of tax that is charged on each motor vehicle depending on it's engine size.

Let us take a case example.
The Nissan Almera was sold in Japan as the first "Bluebird Sylphy". They came in 1490cc(1500), 1790cc(1800) and 1990cc(2000) in Japan.
OK? Nice !

Taking into consideration the new taxation system today let us imagine that you could still import a Japanese Almera. Let us also imagine that the cost of each one was TT$40,000. That was what you paid the Japanese dealer to ship the car to Trinidad.

The 1500 will incur 25% tax of what you pay the Japanese dealer as Customs Duty....TT$10,000.
The 1800 will incur 43.75% tax................................................................................. TT$17,500.
The 2000cc will incur 43.75% tax...............................................................................TT$17,500

Now it will get interesting as we see the MVT (Government GREEDY TAX)

Since the Almera 1500 has a 1490cc engine, they will charge you TT$5 per cc..........TT$7,450.
Since the Almera 1800 has a 1790cc engine, they will charge you TT$10 per cc........TT$17,900.
Since the Almera 2000 has a 1990cc engine, they will charge you TT$ 18.75 per cc...TT$19,900.

Allyuh followin' meh ? Good !!

Now the cost of the Almera 1500 so far is TT$40,000 + TT$10,000 + TT$7,450 = TT$57,450.
The cost of the Almera 1800 so far is TT$40,000 + TT$17,500 + TT$17,900 = TT$75,400.
The cost of the Almera 2000 so far is TT40,000 + TT$17,500 + TT$ 19,900 = TT$77,400.

Wait !! Wait!! I eh done yet !!
Yuh still have tuh spen'.

V.A.T. (Value Added Tax) 12.5%.
.....of de total.

Almera 1500 total is TT$57,450. VAT is.........TT$7,181.25
Almera 1800 total is TT$75,450. VAT is........TT$9,431.25.
Almera 2000 total is TT$77,450. VAT is........TT$9,675.

Then the Almera 1500 will cost...................TT$64,631.25
The Almera 1800 will cost...........................TT$84,881.25
The Almera 2000 will cost...........................TT$87,125.

Whoa ! Hold it !
I eh done yet !

Yuh have to add about TT$4,000 or more to each one.
For what ?

Yuh have to pay de Customs Broker.
Yuh have tuh pay the TTBS for passing tyre test.
Yuh have tuh full ah empty gas tank.
You have tuh change oil, filter, air filter, AC filter.
Yuh have to clean engine.
Yuh have tuh buff an' polish.
Yuh have tuh install band expander if de radio could work.
Yuh have tuh pay for insurance cover notes to take de car out de port.
Yuh have tuh pay for annuder cover note tuh licence de car.
Yuh have tuh pay licensing fees.
Yuh have tuh pay fuh number plate.
Yuh have tuh pay for insurance evaluation if yuh goin fully covered.

An' yuh eh pay de local dealer yet !!!!
....fuh doing all dat work, an delivering de car at your door with certified copy, ready tuh drive !!
Jes' take out your insurance.

Peace.
RR.
724 3422

Ruff

Postby Ruff » January 22nd, 2018, 10:31 pm

Can anyone tell me about the Aqua's capability with hill climbs (Maracas etc.)? Also, is there a combustion only mode?
Thank you

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » January 23rd, 2018, 5:28 am

The electric motor/generator is the primary propulsion unit.
Whenever there are more demands that it can handle, the engine assists.................The AC compressor needs to run.....the battery pack needs to be charged.......you want more acceleration/power.............
And yes, it can climb hills.
The engine in the Aqua, Axio and Fielder is the tried and proven 1NZ-FE 1500cc.
There is no control to use engine power only.

Peace.
RR.

Ruff

Postby Ruff » January 23rd, 2018, 12:18 pm

ramishrrr wrote:The electric motor/generator is the primary propulsion unit.
Whenever there are more demands that it can handle, the engine assists.................The AC compressor needs to run.....the battery pack needs to be charged.......you want more acceleration/power.............
And yes, it can climb hills.
The engine in the Aqua, Axio and Fielder is the tried and proven 1NZ-FE 1500cc.
There is no control to use engine power only.

Peace.
RR.

Your response is appreciated. I asked about hill climbs because a friend indicated that their Honda Fit Hybrid was experiencing problems with them.
Thank you

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » January 24th, 2018, 5:20 am

Unlike the previous gas-powered 1300cc JDM Fit, the Hybrid has a 1500cc, so there should not be a problem. I know that Honda engines from the past were not all that hot on low end torque, but preferred to rev.
Maybe there are other reasons. I have never driven the Hybrid Fit.
From my experience I prefer Toyota systems. Too, they have over 20 years in the hybrid business. Cars like the Axio, Fielder & Aqua run for long on electric power before the engine cuts in. My experience with Honda Vezel & Accord reveals the engine cutting in at every whim.(The Accord is a beautiful vehicle to drive......very fast, like the Mazda Axela Hybrid)
Even with the Nissan X-Trail, the engine cuts in easier than the Toyotas.
The Dealers in Japan are pushing another Honda 1500cc Hybrid on us, the Grace which I think is the City. Most likely the propulsion system will be that of the Fit.

Peace.
RR.

Ruff

Postby Ruff » January 24th, 2018, 9:41 pm

I am more or less sold on the Aqua, main reason is Toyota's positive hybrid history. I am considering it as a replacement for a Y12 Wingroad.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 25th, 2018, 7:02 am

Ruff wrote:I am more or less sold on the Aqua, main reason is Toyota's positive hybrid history. I am considering it as a replacement for a Y12 Wingroad.
Aqua seems nice...affordable and new....concern for me is space wise...seems very small....shoukd havevbeen more wagon size...

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 25th, 2018, 8:54 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Ruff wrote:I am more or less sold on the Aqua, main reason is Toyota's positive hybrid history. I am considering it as a replacement for a Y12 Wingroad.
Aqua seems nice...affordable and new....concern for me is space wise...seems very small....shoukd havevbeen more wagon size...

Well I guess that's where the Fielder Hybrid comes in. It's definitely priced higher but I guess if you want the space you'd have to pay for it.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 25th, 2018, 2:45 pm

Very informative thread here so far guys. We're also thinking about getting both the Prius C / Aqua 1.5 and Prius 1.8. The HSD system is a bit complex compared to the system found in the Nissan Xtrail but with Toyota's 21 years of engineering excellence with hybrids, I would not cast any doubts on its reliability going forward.

So, I have a few questions starting with the Aqua.
1. I saw that the engine is the updated 1NZ-FXE motor with belt-less accessories. This is basically the 1NZ-FE engine using the Atkinson combustion cycle. Can anyone confirm?
2. Is the Electric Power Steering (EPS) system (motor and rack) interchangeable with the Corolla NZE or Yaris?
3. If there is battery failure, can the cells be changed instead of the entire battery pack?
4. Are there any technicians/mechanics out there who has experience with the eCVT transmission in terms of maintenance and repair?
5. Are their any mechanics who has experience working on the entire HSD system?
6. Are the 1NZ-FE coil packs and oxygen/air flow sensors etc... interchangeable with the 1NZ-FXE?
7. Are the engine and transmission mounts interchangeable with those found in the NZE Corolla and Yaris etc?
8. Are the shocks, springs, cradles, links, bushings etc interchangeable with the Yaris?

These are some of the replacement part numbers subject to verification:

Front left shock - Toyota 48510-52G41 or KYB Excel-G 334473
Front right shock - Toyota 48510-52J30 or KYB Excel-G 334472
Rear shocks - KYB Excel-G 348001
Front shock mount rubber - Toyota 48609-52100
Front Linkage - Toyota 48820-52030
Front brake pads: Toyota 04465-52320
Front rotors: Toyota 43512-52120
Rear brake shoes: Toyota 04495-52121
Brake light switch: Toyota 84340-19065 or 84340-59635
Coil packs: Toyota 90919-02265
Steering rack: Toyota 45510-52351
Engine air filter: Toyota 17801-21060
Cabin/airconditioner air filter: Toyota 87139-50100
Transmission fluid: 3.5qts of Toyota ATF-WS
Motor oil: 3.9qts Toyota Motor Oil 00279-0WQTE-01 0W-20
Spark plug: Toyota 90919-01265 or Denso Iridium 3485 (FK16R-A8)
Oil filter: Toyota 90915-YZZF2
Coolant and inverter fluid: (5.6qts engine; 1.7qts PCU) 2 gallons of Toyota Super Long Life Coolant 00272SLLC2
Brake fluid: SAE J1703 or FMVSS No. 118 DOT3. Toyota Brake Fluid DOT3 00475-1BF03
Fuel: 87AKI or 91RON minimum

Based on my limited research thus far, it appears there's a lot of online support for the Aqua in the form of the Prius C. You can actually bring down your own Aqua (if you don't mind the wait) for around $40k cleared and licensed. Dealers despite the tax exemptions are making up to $40k profit or 100% markup on these vehicles right now because some are selling them for $80k.
Please keep the updates coming so that we may all benefit with more information.
Last edited by agent007 on February 17th, 2018, 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “TOYOTA”