TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

3SGTE Men

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » October 15th, 2013, 7:00 pm

I recently acquired something with a 4wd 3sgte but auto....

Wanted to find out what do you guys think about 2.5" exhaust with no cat?

Also, i want to run about 16psi max, but keep it a daily, is top mount good for it still or install front mount?

Ricky99
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 230
Joined: January 24th, 2009, 6:14 pm

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby Ricky99 » October 24th, 2013, 8:04 pm

caldina???

i hav a 3" downpipe wid cat delete on my celica.

would'nt go past 14psi on d caldina if i was you just 2 b on d safe side. d caldina rods not all dat strong lik d celica ones.

top mount is ok but once d ic heats up i find d power does break down. mite wana try sum heat wrap or heat deflector below the ic.

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » October 24th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Doing over downpipe currently.....its the celica model engine with the ct20b turbo

User avatar
gt4tified
punchin NOS
Posts: 4468
Joined: May 13th, 2004, 3:17 pm
Location: not in de hood but under a hood

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby gt4tified » November 4th, 2013, 4:57 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Doing over downpipe currently.....its the celica model engine with the ct20b turbo


16psi is fine on that engine...just have a turbo specialist (turbo club, sookhai's etc) check the ceramic turbine for chips etc as a preventative measure.

The TMIC is pretty efficient up to about 17psi but heatsoaks quickly while in traffic. Weigh the cost of going with a FMIC against a water/meth injection system and go with the more cost effective one.

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 4th, 2013, 5:56 pm

Might go with water/meth and a fan on top the top mount to pull away the heat and scoop properly made.

Currently, engine temps go up with a/c on, and in hot sun, but with a/c off, it cools down. However, with a/c on its mostly normal, just it goes up. Hell, even with a/c off while driving with boost holding on cruising temp goes up. I figure this is bcuz of no scoop causing the excessive heat.


Front mount will be difficult due to no spacing in front and i want my a/c. However, since its a high vehicle, i may be able to v mount it below in a way, but will see. I dont want more than 15-16psi boost. Damn thing stock sounds like a supercharger sometimes LOL.

Have a 3" to 2.5" made downpipe with 2.5" flex with full 2.5" piping and blitz nur spec. Working pretty nice.


However, im having an issue, always taking like 3-4 full seconds before starting, im wondering if the coolent temp sensor is bad and flooding also with fuel?

User avatar
gt4tified
punchin NOS
Posts: 4468
Joined: May 13th, 2004, 3:17 pm
Location: not in de hood but under a hood

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby gt4tified » November 4th, 2013, 6:03 pm

Did you bridge the diagnostic port and look for CEL error codes? 3-4 secs is a bit long....is it cranking quickly enough?

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 4th, 2013, 7:33 pm

it tumbles very quickly like normal but takes around 3-4 seconds which is long.

did not check codes, dont think i have that port as its a swap in a rav4 lol

User avatar
gt4tified
punchin NOS
Posts: 4468
Joined: May 13th, 2004, 3:17 pm
Location: not in de hood but under a hood

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby gt4tified » November 5th, 2013, 1:35 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:it tumbles very quickly like normal but takes around 3-4 seconds which is long.

did not check codes, dont think i have that port as its a swap in a rav4 lol


The port is on the engine harness, so it should be there. What vehicle the engine came out from..Celica, MR2 or Caldina?

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 5th, 2013, 6:28 pm

When i asked they said celica, but the turbo and manifold is ONE, and i know 3rd and 4th gen 3sgte uses this type and also its CT20B....correct me if i be wrong

User avatar
gt4tified
punchin NOS
Posts: 4468
Joined: May 13th, 2004, 3:17 pm
Location: not in de hood but under a hood

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby gt4tified » November 6th, 2013, 4:34 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:When i asked they said celica, but the turbo and manifold is ONE, and i know 3rd and 4th gen 3sgte uses this type and also its CT20B....correct me if i be wrong


4th and 5th gen...the 3rd gen turbo and manifold bolt together.

Which means it came from either a ST215 or an ST246 Caldina. Either case, very good engine making 250hp easily on stock boost.

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 6th, 2013, 5:40 pm

its st215


so i figured out the vibration on stop and drive is the right side engine mount, so gonna look for that tomorrow and get a boost gauge tomorrow as well.

I definitely wanna put either an AEM FIC or Emanage Ultimate soon and run about 15psi max as well as a water meth kit and a scoop.


Tomorrow i wanna check the port and see what codes im getting and also see how much boost im running and if its holding steady or dropping bcuz it feels like it boosts up when u press and drops down an at about 4500-5000rpm u feel it wanting to pull again. In other words, it feels like my other car that i put a big turbo on and it needed tuning badly, thats exactly how it feels.

User avatar
Ted_v2
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 11381
Joined: March 30th, 2010, 8:58 pm

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby Ted_v2 » November 6th, 2013, 5:43 pm

Post some pics man. Project sounds exciting

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 7th, 2013, 6:30 pm

Will post some pics hopefully weekend....

Boost gauge installed, 7psi max....from what im reading, 7psi means problems, it should go up to 10psi, some models 13-14psi stock. Will clean throttle body this weekend or tomorrow as i remember it being really black.

User avatar
Monster 101
Chronic TriniTuner
Posts: 507
Joined: December 11th, 2011, 4:54 pm
Location: In Space

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby Monster 101 » November 7th, 2013, 11:25 pm

7psi is normal for that engine being stock....

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 8th, 2013, 6:49 am

i thought so too but from what im seeing online, my model engine usually runs 13.5-14psi stock carrying the CT20B Steel turbine wheel, any lower means the engine is running in safe mode which is why im burning so much gas as well.

http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18371

Check it out


But most of the research im doing, 10psi is what im seeing as stock on this model, so its mixed results im getting. Possibly the celica model is 10psi and caldina is 13-14psi?

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 10th, 2013, 3:15 pm

Cleaned throttle body but no difference, just idles low after a 20-30 mins of driving time. On Drive or Reverse tho, neutral or park idles alright. im waiting on a new throttle cable bcuz i realized the wrong one, made a knot to shorten it and it just goes in the groove and out whenever it wants. And it had no idle adjustment screw, i put one the other day but useless currently.


Still need engine right side mount. And im starting to think i have the caldinas tiptronic transmission but the normal shifter so i cant use tiptronic mode.

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 10th, 2013, 6:10 pm

OK so the bad fuel, hard starting and pinging and incorrect temp can be faulty sensor and apparently i have 4th gen or 5th gen engine as my sensor is a 3 wire and only has one. the other 1-3 gens has single sensors for coolant temp and water temp.

User avatar
gt4tified
punchin NOS
Posts: 4468
Joined: May 13th, 2004, 3:17 pm
Location: not in de hood but under a hood

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby gt4tified » November 22nd, 2013, 10:58 pm

Sounds like knock sensor or O2 sensor. 7psi is too low...min boost for the ST215 is 10psi low and around 15psi high.

You could go with an AEM or other similar wideband O2 sensor with the controller that has a narrowband simulated output.

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 22nd, 2013, 11:08 pm

going with AEM wideband kit

but i need a coolant temp sensor, its the 3 wire one. on idle its normal, if i tap the pedal it black smokes, press half, even more, full press, tons of black smoke, also bad idle when warmed up, heavy gas consumption and pinging on taking off from traffic light but none when driving lol.

need that sensor :(

dash temp gauge reads all the way up w hen warming up but morning it starts off as if its good, so thats one for sure sign of bad coolant temp sensor

User avatar
gt4tified
punchin NOS
Posts: 4468
Joined: May 13th, 2004, 3:17 pm
Location: not in de hood but under a hood

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby gt4tified » November 22nd, 2013, 11:19 pm

bad coolant temp sensor would not give most of those symptoms...even if it does need to change.

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » November 22nd, 2013, 11:59 pm

stilll wanna change it, to me symptoms match, wrong reading, signal ecu to think its cold all the time, burning endless gas and fans just remain on no matter what.

User avatar
TeamH2O
TriniTuner 24-7
Posts: 8240
Joined: April 18th, 2003, 8:47 am
Location: Shaz Auto Repairs & Performance @ Bamboo #2
Contact:

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby TeamH2O » December 10th, 2013, 7:42 am

have not gotten any sensors yet :(

got an idle screw and it stops shutting off on me now but a/c idle up is not wired up so have to do that.

but burning tooooooooooooooo much gas

User avatar
gt4tified
punchin NOS
Posts: 4468
Joined: May 13th, 2004, 3:17 pm
Location: not in de hood but under a hood

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby gt4tified » December 10th, 2013, 4:41 pm

I have a spare knock sensor, but I'm not sure if its the same for your generation, as yours was made to take more boost than mine.

Btw, I getting something with a 1JZ-GTE in it...need ur input on a couple things. pm me a contact, please.

Rayden6
3NE 2NR for life
Posts: 173
Joined: June 7th, 2005, 7:20 pm
Location: Locally

Re: 3SGTE Men

Postby Rayden6 » May 26th, 2019, 6:51 pm

Any 3rd Gen injectors here?

Advertisement

Return to “TOYOTA”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests