toyota men, does the altezza 3sge have any potential ??

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

dgobo

toyota men, does the altezza 3sge have any potential ??

Postby dgobo » April 23rd, 2005, 8:44 pm

im looking to make some more power, whats some good bolt ons available for this engine. is it wise to try sqeezin more out of this engine or should i go 1jz or somthing

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 24th, 2005, 12:58 am

they have cams yet for that engine???

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 24th, 2005, 1:46 am

stick it out with the 3s, the weight ratio is fine until you do a larger swap in, i've seen a mag with the 2jz swap and it was only good for straight roads! how's the market for th3e 3s??? ps drift that beyotch!

tte

Postby tte » April 26th, 2005, 11:02 am

Its awsome, and toda has all sorts of goodies for it. The 3s series is hands down the best 2.0l engines.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » April 26th, 2005, 1:50 pm

What kind of power are you looking for?

They are several mods, including turbo kits, just depends on how much power and what budget you had in mind.

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » April 26th, 2005, 1:56 pm

damn good engine. lots of power upgrades BEFORE the turbo. lots more to do after.
then again ifyuh doh want it no more...............jus give me :mrgreen: .

Toysport

Postby Toysport » April 26th, 2005, 6:31 pm

if you looking for all out power, then youll have to change to a 1J/2J setup. If you dont mind sacrificing some power for handling and all around drivability, stick with the 3S.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » April 26th, 2005, 8:00 pm

i dont have a large budget to work with, cause i just outputted all that money to perchase the car. its a long term project i looking to do, buy a little something every month. i have already bought a stage 3 act/spec clucth kit for it. thinking of gettin a emange or safc next month

i dunno can you guys just throw out some options for me please

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 26th, 2005, 8:23 pm

yeah.....i see SAFC II is popular for VVT-i systems.

I suppose the standard intake, extractors and exhaust.

With the piggyback....the road is wide open for bigger injectors, fuel pump, cams and mapping.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » April 26th, 2005, 11:53 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^bess advice there

dgobo

Postby dgobo » April 27th, 2005, 7:24 am

cool thanks bro, the long term goal is to turbo eventualy.....

SLR

Postby SLR » April 27th, 2005, 7:42 am

i'm kinda curious ...y would u use an safc for a car with vvti-i ? i thought a vafc might have been a better choice so u can mess around with the vvt-i a bit

dgobo

Postby dgobo » April 27th, 2005, 7:47 am

a vafc doesnt work on vvti, cant really explain why

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 27th, 2005, 3:30 pm

Well I check into this already. The VAFC really controls the rpm at which the lobe change for the cam occurs. Basically a set kinda rpm.

Toyotas VVT-i is a continuiusly variable system, 0-60 degrees based on throttle position, speed, load, etc. Not just an rpm locator. So there's going to be several cam advances between 0 and 60 on acceleration. VAFC cant control this. Its basically up to the vvti controller. So you might as well go with an SAFC piggyback and not bother with the VAFC since u wont use the V part. If it was a 2zz.....then u would probably be useful but not for the 3S and 1ZZ.

E-manage and PowerFC systems can also be used.....but i've seen alot of success with SAFC 2 on corollas with 1ZZs.

tte

Postby tte » April 27th, 2005, 3:55 pm

ignore all that, u cant tune it as well as toyota did. Get a TRD light flywheel to go with your clutch. Get an intake and exhaust. Spend your money on suspension and brakes. A SAFC is $3000 pluss u could have spent on somthing else if u must just buy a TRD brain. The vafc is for variable valve timing with lift like vtec and vvtli not vvti. Doh waste your money on a fuel controler.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 27th, 2005, 5:54 pm

well....i've seen good gain with the fuel controller.....if you do some other stuff like upgrade injectors and fuel pump, etc. Intake and exhaust...on a 1ZZ, 2ZZ or 3S (Beams) will get u negligable gains!!!

But the toyota map is notoriously good. Yes the SAFC sorta expensive, but its like US$260 or so if yuh hunt.

However, if you have a returnless fuel system......you're screwed, cause this is one of the reasons why toyota fuel management for their new engines, esp BEAMS engines are so efficient.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » April 28th, 2005, 1:15 pm

yeah i have a returnless fuel system, how is this bad ???

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 28th, 2005, 3:20 pm

I'm not sure about the fuel system in the 3s-ge, but in the 1zz the returnless fuel system means that theres a pressure regulator in the tank not externaly under the hood as in returnable systems.

It's a good system to keep the manufacturers spec fuel pressure in the lines and rail. However if you put in larger injectors, change your fuel pump and want more fuel you're going to have to get around it.

Some of the corolla and matrix owners in the US have completely redone their fuel system before they've turboed and increased fuel comsuption.

This is what i've gathered from the other corolla sites. Good for stock car......but sux for modding.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » April 28th, 2005, 7:12 pm

dam that sucks, as we on the topic of fuel systems, the other day i went over a rather huge hump and hit the bottom of the car apon investigation i saw that the fuel line got a dent(kinda kink) in it, can or will this have an ill effect of the car ????

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 28th, 2005, 9:01 pm

if its a pinch...might affect fuel flow....but then the fpr might take care of that. But might have a microcrack somewhere there. Maybe worth getting checked out.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » April 29th, 2005, 12:04 am

But might have a microcrack somewhere there

yep and might start spraying fuel under the car later on , get it check out asap

Return to “TOYOTA”