Needs help

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Partshunting

Needs help

Postby Partshunting » December 1st, 2012, 3:18 pm

So i recently inheritted my uncles toyota cressida , and i need help finidng out what model it is to start to do engine work on it . I left my cousin to do the job but he replace the engine it had with a 21r (i belive ) engine that leaks oil and well has a sleu of other mechanical problems . If you are a good reliable mechanic from the east ( The car is currently in Arima and isnt mobile) that would like to come take a look at it and diagnose what needs to be done and we can move on from there . Any help i get from this community is grateful . Thanks in advance fellars . this is what it looks like http://www.zhaust.com/forum/index.php?t ... msg_918702
75289_406924686018574_357846921_n.jpg

Partshunting

Re: Needs help

Postby Partshunting » December 1st, 2012, 7:41 pm

So i went digging and found out that it's a rx80r and that it originally had a 22r engine , so then why did he put a 21r in it steupessssssssssssss . Ok now i just need a f**king reliable mechanic . Thanks again fellars

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » December 1st, 2012, 7:49 pm

maybe they couldn't source parts for the 22r engine an decided to do a swap....does the 21r engine start at all?

Partshunting

Postby Partshunting » December 1st, 2012, 8:46 pm

When i got it back it was alot of pain to start it up , he gave excuses as the carburetor needs servicing then to realize the manifold isnt the right one , so i went and get a manifold last week but now like he had the battery on the ground and now i need a new one so i will organize that by Wednesday and see if it starting now cause i wanner carry it to put in the new exhaust manifold . So OVERRIDE in your eyes did that swap make any sense , and do u have a reliable mechanic that can come and check it out for me ?

Postby black start » December 1st, 2012, 10:13 pm

Depending on the number and severity of problems to be fixed, it may be more economical to replace the engine in the car. I personally have a 21r motor in my rx70 and they are really strong motors and pull great as well. But if yours is problematic, weight your options.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » December 1st, 2012, 10:24 pm

both 21r an 22r are good engines, the 22r however is 2.4ltr as compared to the 2.0ltr 21r.....as the guy above said you really need a good mechanic to checkout the engine they installed an give a good opinion if a rebuild is needed or another engine to be installed

hope you don't go down the line where most people end up installing an rb20....

Partshunting

Postby Partshunting » December 2nd, 2012, 1:50 am

any recommendations on mechanics ?

Postby black start » December 18th, 2012, 9:12 am

nah boi, don't know any mechs up in the arima. Seeing that cressida override from grande, maybe he'll be able to point you in the right direction...

dutyspeed

Postby dutyspeed » December 18th, 2012, 3:38 pm

if u need a complete 21r engine and tranny,i can hook u up.
gonna take out 1 from an rx70.engine in excellent condition an it has the 4speed over drive tranny
474-0825

Postby Hook » December 20th, 2012, 1:45 am

^^^ dan, PM d man if yuh touting ah engine to sell nuh, ah tired talk about unsolicited touting in this forum
================

Anyway,
Sherwin: 683-5928

Good mechanic and has his shop in Samaroo Village. I don't know if he already closed off for the year though, so call him ASAP.

Return to “TOYOTA”