Loud Noise Fielder on Start Up

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

azlan

Loud Noise Fielder on Start Up

Postby azlan » November 28th, 2012, 12:25 pm

I have a PCK Foreign Used Fielder I think its 2004 model.

When I start I keep hearing this loud grating noise. The Mechanic first thought that it was the timing chain and the tenshioner so he changed the tenshioner. That did not work.

He now is telling me that the rockers are slack and its the tappets that are making the noise. I dont know if I am saying it correct. Anyone knows a possible soloution?

azlan

Re: Loud Noise Fielder on Start Up

Postby azlan » November 28th, 2012, 12:26 pm

My number is 704-8716 if u know a mechanic that could fix it please send me the link or call me I am willing to try .

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2012, 12:37 am

always on start up? or just first start up for the day when all the oil is in the sump?

clone101

Postby clone101 » November 30th, 2012, 6:10 am

I wanted to tell him drop the sump and strainer and clean them up cause it sound like when the oil settle and he starts the car the lifters ent getting enough oil on top,common problem with NZE engines 1 if you get an engine that sludge up or 2 if you ent changing you oil on time......
Last edited by clone101 on December 1st, 2012, 3:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2012, 12:13 pm

That's the thing. Many times a bad bearing would show up as a knock or rattle when u start up after all the oil has drained back into the sump overnight. Sometimes it persists, sometimes it goes away as soon as the oil pressure builds right after start-up, and sometimes it comes back at highers rpms.
Best way I could think of is to have someone start it in the morning while u listen and figure out if it's coming from the head or the block.

Postby toyolink » November 30th, 2012, 9:01 pm

I have a few customers/clients who misguidedly stretched their oil change intervals and developed a problem where engine rattle very briefly on start-up after vehicle at rest for a few hours.
We did drop sump, oil pump strainer and cleaned properly (sludge obvious) and reassembled followed by lower viscoscity oil and filter change.Additionally,mandatory 2nd oil change after 1 month regardless of distance covered.
The results are rattle/chatter gone.
With all this, as far as my silver-top is concerned chatter still their but I do acknowledge (as those of you who are familiar with engine) for completely different reasons.

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2012, 11:02 pm

00 :lol: yeah, le silvertop is noisy but has its quiet moments

So u're saying might just be dirty oil causing the noise?

Postby toyolink » December 1st, 2012, 9:17 am

Could be something to consider.

scion I

Postby scion I » December 2nd, 2012, 10:54 pm

Had that problem with my 1nzfe before, mechanic dropped the sump pan cover but the oil strainer in the sump was sludgy >> cleaned it and reverted to the mobil 10w-30 syn (after using the castrol 15w-50 fully synthetic prior to the problem)

Cant remember missing an oil change mostly done @ 7000km intervals!!!!
Only toyota oil filters used!!!

So far no problems.

Return to “TOYOTA”