corolla nze - suspension noise?

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Susie

corolla nze - suspension noise?

Postby Susie » October 29th, 2012, 8:33 pm

Been hearing a clanking noise from under the car and my mechanic told me it was the axle. Changed the axle today and I am still hearing the noise. Got someone to check under the car for me and he told me I need a polyurethane bushing kit. Would like to know if I should purchase this bushing kit and if my bushing are really the cause of that clanking noise under the car. I am really stumped with that noise.

clone101

Re: toyota corolla nze

Postby clone101 » October 29th, 2012, 9:21 pm

Check the muffler system,if the catt going like mine did you will hear that noise under the car and catch you tail to find it,i went to a muffler shop and the guy dug out the catt for me and put back up the muffler system...........

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 30th, 2012, 10:38 am

I know the noise you are talking about, when ever you go over a lil bummpy road, ignore it, just install some hard pong and you will be find.
I installed Energy cradle bushing kit because when I mashed the brake the front of the car use to feel loose, kind of winding from side 2 side when slowing down. Mechanic didn't want 2 use bushing from the parts place as he claimed they don't last long. Original is real paper, aftermarket is great, very firm, you will get a slight feed back of the road vibration though.
I still hear that noise you are talking about, after I changed other suspension parts in front as well.
You should of changed your axle if it was making noise when turning, clak, clak, clak.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » November 3rd, 2012, 11:06 pm

I think that noise could be the steering rack. I have a similar noise in my Altis and changed a lot of unnecessary and expensive parts before AAA and Tone both said it may be the rack. I haven't gotten 'round to adjusting it as yet though

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 4th, 2012, 1:47 pm

give me a call.. 4952320. if its the cradle bushings the best option is original.

sss

Re: corolla nze - suspension noise?

Postby sss » November 13th, 2012, 2:48 pm

am hearing the same noise but its not the cradles are u hearing more or less with the ac on

mitsu

Postby mitsu » January 4th, 2013, 8:40 pm

I think that noise could be the steering rack. I have a similar noise in my Altis and changed a lot of unnecessary and expensive parts before AAA and Tone both said it may be the rack. I haven't gotten 'round to adjusting it as yet though

I'm having the same issue with my NZE
My mechanic said it may be the rack (the inner and outer tie rods were changed).

Did adjusting the rack resolved the issue.

LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO

Postby LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO » January 24th, 2013, 4:14 am

hmm i guess we all having the same issues from what im reading here

dan86

Postby dan86 » January 24th, 2013, 11:48 am

Are you all sure the noise is coming from the front ?

I had a clanking noise that first sounded like it was in front. Everything in front was checked and foung good.
As it got louder and I passed over rough speedbumps, I noticed really came feom the rear.

The sleeve that goes over the rear shocks had dropped and and were resting on the top of the shock barrel. This is a pvc type material and as the shocks travel over rough roads, i got a rettle noise like 2 screwdrivers hitting together.

Plenty nze's making the same noise i was getting so you could check that

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 24th, 2013, 2:09 pm

The noise the cradle made in my car was like a loud knock everytime I go over a bump or pothole. Also check the shock mount as this could be loose sometimes.

Give us more detail on the noise, how and where do you hear it.

Postby Hook » January 25th, 2013, 9:00 am

I dunno how anybody could diagnose a suspension noise over the internet nuh. Most times a test drive is needed.

Postby M_2NR » January 27th, 2013, 10:48 pm

Hook wrote:I dunno how anybody could diagnose a suspension noise over the internet nuh. Most times a test drive is needed.

lol i believe it's a similar issue across most of these rollas. Even on the local 141. It reappears after some time also.

tte

Postby tte » February 22nd, 2013, 3:51 pm

Could be rack ends, check milage mack on mucurapo rd in POS, they can do a suspension check and i always find that they get to the bottom of it. Then its a matter of changing the part they say is faulty.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 22nd, 2013, 8:13 pm

Strange enough I was getting a noise and today I changed rack ends and steering ends and the noise stop.

OP I would advise you to do the same. Remember is T&T roads we dealing with.

Postby M_2NR » February 23rd, 2013, 11:35 am

Tte! Hope all is well man. Will do on that if it arises again.

fareed7298

Postby fareed7298 » February 26th, 2013, 4:26 pm

The noise you guys hearing is the dust cover shield over the rear shocks i heard the noise for a while in my nze and then i decided to solve it,there is a hard plastic shield which covers the chrome shaft that has a bushing which dry rott after a while and falls down on the suspension that makes the clack clack noise u can also check it without jacking up the car.
Its kinda hard to change because u have to take out the complete shock and spring to change it.

hope this solves u guys noise problem.
will see if i can post sum pics

tte

Postby tte » February 26th, 2013, 4:31 pm

M_2NR wrote:Tte! Hope all is well man. Will do on that if it arises again.

Yeh man all is well so far.

optimus11

Postby optimus11 » February 26th, 2013, 9:21 pm

im getting alot of creaking noise when driving on rough roads
also hearing the "clank" that was mentioned earlier. it felt like it was coming from the front middle
got my mechanic to go under but he said everything looked good.
i changed right side axle sometime ago

i thought the creaking noise had something to do with the shocks because when i wash the car and under the wheel well, the noise stops for a day or 2 and then it resumes. mech said the shocks were good.

can anyone plz advise me where i can go to get this checked out. preferably in central

Postby Hook » February 26th, 2013, 10:03 pm

^^^ is the rubber ring between the spring and the "bowl" of the shock absorber intact?

optimus11

Postby optimus11 » February 27th, 2013, 10:47 am

yea the rubber still there and lookin good

wickedtrini

Postby wickedtrini » April 13th, 2013, 10:55 am

I'm hearing the same noise coming from the front left side of the car....Still searching for the cause.

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » April 13th, 2013, 1:46 pm

Wickedtrini, did you get your left axle checked?

I agree that it is difficult to diagnose suspension on a forum...LOL. Anyways, here's some general suspension information from my experience with local Corolla NZE121 2005 and local Corolla NZE141.

If it is an axle, you will feel vibration/slight car trembling at certain speeds (110-120 km/h). No steering shake involved. You can also slight hear it, depending what stage it has reached. In most cases with the Corollas, the inner cup has worn where the tripod inserts.

If it is the cradle arm bushings, you hear a "glook-glook" sound when drive over even slightly roughened roads.

If it is rack ends (tie rod end), you need to jack up the front of the car and hold both top and bottom of tire and rock it in and out looking for play.

I hope this helps somebody out there. Strange, I have never came across the situation where the sleeve on the shock drops, but good to know.

Return to “TOYOTA”