The NZE Corolla Thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Skillys

Re: The NZE Corolla Thread

Postby Skillys » April 24th, 2017, 6:27 pm

blacktop wrote:I have a 2001 NZE 121R (FU Singapore). I've had the car for 14 years with no major AC issues other than replace the evaporator probably 7 years ago.

Took it for an engine wash (was getting it valued nuh) - next thing AC acting up.
Right now I have it on the coldest setting and the lowest speed. One minute it is working. Next minute it is not. Does not matter the time of day. If I fiddle with the settings (especially the temperature) though it will stop working.

I drove to town from Trincity for 4 days at 8 in the morning - it worked every day. The 5th day, it worked up to Aranguez. As soon as I started to accelerate out of the traffic that was it. It stopped. If I turn it off, give it a 10 minutes I can switch it on and it will work again. Drove from Sando to Trincity at night it was like the north pole in the car. Made the same drive last night - and it worked for 15 minutes and konk out

Gassed, checked for leaks etc. - worked for 1 day
Went to electrician - said it's the relay. Replaced the relay - it worked for a grand total of about 5km before it stopped working
Went back to electrician - oh, it's not the relay (I put back my ORIGINAL 13 year old relay), the clutch not kicking in on the compressor so default response - replace compressor
When the engine is cold, and I turn on the AC the fan starts
And when it is working you are hearing the compressor coming on and off.

Any ideas other than the default, easiest answer 'replace compressor'?

Replace the compressor/ repair.

jabs

Postby jabs » April 24th, 2017, 6:59 pm

Can it be the coil in the compressor?

blacktop

Postby blacktop » April 26th, 2017, 1:10 pm

Saving replacing the compressor as last resort. The clutch engaging ... wondering if it is still electrical maybe some switch/thermostat? Will see if I can get it serviced ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2017, 1:10 pm

many so called AC men change all kinda thing and never look at the air conditioner assembly amplifier...I had a similar problem and that part was the problem...it's costly AF doh

http://parts.lakelandtoyota.com/p/__/AM ... 06330.html

looks like that...locally sells for around $2500..

I repaired mine

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 1st, 2017, 12:52 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:many so called AC men change all kinda thing and never look at the air conditioner assembly amplifier...I had a similar problem and that part was the problem...it's costly AF doh

http://parts.lakelandtoyota.com/p/__/AM ... 06330.html

looks like that...locally sells for around $2500..

I repaired mine

Thanks for sharing that info bro. Fed up of guessing game from them ac men

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 12th, 2017, 6:07 am

What's the update with the AC issue?

youthman

Postby youthman » May 18th, 2017, 1:42 am

Lookin for a 1nz ac compressor and head light switch.

blacktop

Postby blacktop » May 24th, 2017, 4:41 pm

trini mk5 wrote:What's the update with the AC issue?

I was away - back now and actually heading to a new AC guy today hopefully. Will update the thread when I know

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » June 2nd, 2017, 1:34 am

yardee2386 wrote:got a 3zz tranny fs missing the neutralizing switch as it damaged 1500neg 3071986

You still have this?

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » June 2nd, 2017, 1:51 am

Looking for a 3zz transmission to buy?

yardee2386

Postby yardee2386 » June 2nd, 2017, 3:15 am

Na threw it away

lammy

Postby lammy » June 8th, 2017, 12:33 pm

Looking for a trunk weatherstrip rubber to buy...the altis could also work.

nigel_df

Postby nigel_df » July 3rd, 2017, 7:03 am

hey guys im looking for a right side mirror for the Nze 121 2002

crystalE

Postby crystalE » July 23rd, 2017, 5:42 pm

Hi all, I am new to cars, currently when i'm driving and it rains, the water from the front left Tyre flashes between the door and causes a build up of dust and grit. i looked at the right side and saw that there is a protective thingy that the left side does not have, can someone tell me what it is called and where i might be able to get a replacement, the car is a NZE 124 Fielder wagon.
Thanks in advance

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » July 23rd, 2017, 7:01 pm

Fender shield... about 250 by Bobby's in the Bamboo

crystalE

Postby crystalE » July 24th, 2017, 5:51 pm

Big Z wrote:Fender shield... about 250 by Bobby's in the Bamboo

thanks much !!

ary1

Postby ary1 » July 26th, 2017, 7:58 am

Does anyone know of a direct bolt up front brake replacement(bigger rotor and caliper) for a local 121? Does the celica bolt directly? Was even looking at the runx option but haven't seen any of these in my searches in the used parts yards.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » July 26th, 2017, 8:27 am

See if the ZZE (1.6 and 1.8) JDM and Singapore brakes are bigger.
They come with 11 inch rotors in the US.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 26th, 2017, 8:33 am

Anyone know where I can get a complete conversion for rear disc in a 121?

shaguanasindian

Postby shaguanasindian » July 27th, 2017, 6:12 pm

Looking to do engine swap on nze. Thin fog light model. Looking to put faster engine and turbo. It is stock at the moment rel balls. Any advice on an engine that will work with minimal conversion etc? Thnaks

ary1

Postby ary1 » August 5th, 2017, 8:58 am

Big Z wrote:See if the ZZE (1.6 and 1.8) JDM and Singapore brakes are bigger.

After much concideration may just go with an upgraded rotor.Any ideas of powerslot /brembo part numbers for our local model?Or if available locally.

jabs

Postby jabs » August 13th, 2017, 2:31 pm

What's the price now for an engine for the local nze 1.5

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 14th, 2017, 7:56 am

ary1 wrote:
Big Z wrote:See if the ZZE (1.6 and 1.8) JDM and Singapore brakes are bigger.

After much concideration may just go with an upgraded rotor.Any ideas of powerslot /brembo part numbers for our local model?Or if available locally.

I had bought cross drilled slotted rotors from Power Seller; Dual Star. Six years ago and it still holding out. Can't remember the brand, it was some Power something.

nardotek

Postby nardotek » September 19th, 2017, 9:51 pm

Hey People what's up? Just joining your chat

nardotek

Postby nardotek » September 19th, 2017, 9:52 pm

The Rotor you bought was probably the Powerstop

nardotek

Postby nardotek » September 19th, 2017, 9:54 pm

Nze121 singapore version front rotors are approx. 10'' outside diameter by 1 '' thick and has a bolt pattern of 100mm by 4 lugs

nardotek

Postby nardotek » September 19th, 2017, 10:00 pm

There are a few online sites, summit racing, carid, andys auto sport and the popular ebay with the rotors but you have to communicate with them because they don't put up all the specs.

nardotek

Postby nardotek » September 19th, 2017, 10:04 pm

Some of the corolla/altis models in the US are 5 lug rotors. Thats from 2002 and newer.

RollaBoi

Postby RollaBoi » September 21st, 2017, 9:12 pm

Hey tuners, I'm thinking about purchasing a NZE soon. What things should I look out for? What are some of the common issues with these cars? When buying a used car I always like to have put aside $ or at least know how much an engine and transmission is gonna cost me if imo the worst were to happen. Any pros and cons to consider? Thanks in advance for any feedbacks?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » September 29th, 2017, 11:35 am

RollaBoi wrote:Hey tuners, I'm thinking about purchasing a NZE soon. What things should I look out for? What are some of the common issues with these cars? When buying a used car I always like to have put aside $ or at least know how much an engine and transmission is gonna cost me if imo the worst were to happen. Any pros and cons to consider? Thanks in advance for any feedbacks?

they are pretty durable cars. the main issues they have are with the transmission if it was abused and the ac compressor. the compressor is pricey even used it goes for like $2000. the japanese version has the 1nz engine which is pretty cheap to replace. ive seen a head and block for like $2500 for the most. the singapore nze have the 1zz or the 3zz engine im not to sure but its a bit more expensive to replace that one

Return to “TOYOTA”