Page 1 of 2

My Starcel

Posted: March 8th, 2012, 8:49 pm
by Hibrydsoul
Here are some pics of my car. There's still work to be done on her before I can say she's perfect but she is almost already. My second wife :lol:

Re: My Starcel

Posted: March 8th, 2012, 9:06 pm
by turbohead
does these engine bolt on starlet bays or modifications?

Posted: March 8th, 2012, 9:12 pm
by Hibrydsoul
Bolt for bolt

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 8:07 am
by Hook
VERY clean install dude! well done!

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 3:41 pm
by reddo_tuner
wow, I'm jealous :), nice clean engine bay bro, so whats the future mods list....

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 6:07 pm
by turbohead
tinking bout installing the non turbo version for gramps nex year in his.lol

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 6:47 pm
by Hibrydsoul
Thanks reddo_tuner, I wish I could say its all my doing but actually I bought it as it is. Future mods shortlisted for now is converting the rear drums to disc brakes, installing a strut bar as well as a sway bar. I wanna maintain the "sleeper" look so not much will be done. I'm pondering of switching out to the 5E-FTE as its a simple swap also and more power :evil: ..... That's all I can think of for right now. I'm still awaiting the full specs from previous owner as to what he did and did not do. I'm new to this so I need that list from him. Cosmetics..... changing them doors to powered, importing projector headlamps and LED Taillights and trying to source this http://www.tunersdepot.com/Exterior/Sid ... -8880.html Anybody know where I can get these? they are not in production any more it looks like :(

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 6:50 pm
by Hibrydsoul
lol Hook, thanks but it wasn't me as Shaggy said lol. But I am the proud current owner.

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 7:31 pm
by Hibrydsoul
Anybody know where I can get Redline Water Wetter?

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 8:49 pm
by bigchief3679
Is the 5EF-TE swap really that easy? I think there's a little more to it...

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 10:12 pm
by Hibrydsoul
bigchief3679 wrote:Is the 5EF-TE swap really that easy? I think there's a little more to it...

not really..... seeing that the 5E was used in the Tercel as one of its stock engine options... (maybe not in T&T) but elsewhere. The only difference is the turbo and all its accoutrements and seeing that the 4E-FTE fits so nicely in my vehicle, I would imagine that the 5EFTE will also.

There is actually a thread on here showing lastminuteaudio's 5EFTE Tercel's engine bay.

Posted: March 9th, 2012, 10:30 pm
by black start
sleeper ftw 8-)

Posted: March 13th, 2012, 3:38 pm
by jmccomie
nice and clean engine bay

Posted: March 14th, 2012, 10:19 pm
by wordword
i need a cheap 4efte or a ct9 turbo. or even a place that fixes turbos properly

My Starcel

Posted: March 20th, 2012, 2:51 am
by secret_service
Hibrydsoul wrote:
bigchief3679 wrote:Is the 5EF-TE swap really that easy? I think there's a little more to it...

not really..... seeing that the 5E was used in the Tercel as one of its stock engine options... (maybe not in T&T) but elsewhere. The only difference is the turbo and all its accoutrements and seeing that the 4E-FTE fits so nicely in my vehicle, I would imagine that the 5EFTE will also.

There is actually a thread on here showing lastminuteaudio's 5EFTE Tercel's engine bay.

Really it's not that easy lol. You can't just buy any ole 5E an boost it.

Posted: March 20th, 2012, 10:43 am
by Hibrydsoul
secret_service wrote:
Hibrydsoul wrote:

Really it's not that easy lol. You can't just buy any ole 5E an boost it.

Why buy an ole 5E and boost it when I can buy the 5E-FHE ? :P

Posted: March 20th, 2012, 6:07 pm
by bigchief3679
You have to mix and match parts between the 5e-fhe and 4e-fte to make it reliable and boost friendly.

Posted: March 20th, 2012, 8:50 pm
by Hibrydsoul
Does not sound too hard to do but as for right now I'm happy with the 4E-FTE it's daily driven so its doing what it must and does it well. My main concern now is changing the rear drums to disc brakes and also sourcing a strut bar and a sway bar. Thinking I may upgrade the front brakes as well (thinking as its already ep82 calipers in the front). Anybody know where I can find/source these items?

Posted: March 21st, 2012, 10:18 pm
by E-TECH
I know is TERCEL, actually, I saw it on Wrightson Road this week. The ultimate sleeper ride.

Looks completely stock and runz like a thief!!!!!!!

Posted: March 26th, 2012, 5:22 pm
by Hibrydsoul
Gentlemen, your thoughts on an a/t fluid cooler kit?

Posted: March 26th, 2012, 5:24 pm
by Hibrydsoul
E-TECH wrote:I know is TERCEL, actually, I saw it on Wrightson Road this week. The ultimate sleeper ride.

Looks completely stock and runz like a thief!!!!!!!

Yeah, ah trying to keep it that way and still make some mods :twisted:

My Starcel

Posted: March 27th, 2012, 6:00 am
by Hook
Hibrydsoul wrote:Gentlemen, your thoughts on an a/t fluid cooler kit?

doh stick...buy and install it

Posted: March 27th, 2012, 8:02 am
by xtech
i got two oil coolers

one for the tranny an one to cool the oil before it enters the turbo.

Then I disconnect the turbo water lines de-stressing the cooling system...lol

Posted: March 27th, 2012, 11:31 am
by Hibrydsoul
Hook wrote:
doh stick...buy and install it

Okay thanks Hook!

xtech wrote:i got two oil coolers

one for the tranny an one to cool the oil before it enters the turbo.

Then I disconnect the turbo water lines de-stressing the cooling system...lol

Not bad at all x-tech, does it cool better? and elaborate more on how you accomplished this please.

My Starcel

Posted: March 27th, 2012, 8:12 pm
by xtech
I upgraded to a TD04 on a stock high compression 5EFHE motor in a Lazer eh. I had to get a tranny cooler as my car was manual so no stock cooler.

Well once the turbo coolant lines was disconnected obviously the coolant would not be as hot. An it shows up on my stock temp gauge.

I had a extra oil cooler in my junk box an I thought maybe to compensate for no coolant in the turbo maybe it would be cool to put the unit between the oil input on the turbo an the turbo oil output of the engine.

So after hooking everything up an running it around the block i noticed the oil line that goes in the cooler it's to hot to place my finger on it an on the output side of the cooler it's very cool to touch with my finger so I guess it's working.

On a stock turbo u will have to cut that oil feed line to do what I did. An maybe maybe after u could disconnect the coolant lines.

Side note: Forgot to hook up my waste gate vacuum hose today an I hit 20psi an fuel cut yay!!!

Posted: March 27th, 2012, 10:14 pm
by lastminuteaudio
yeah hybridsoul, u can boost d stock high comp engine, d compression ratio is like 9.8.1 stock, jus gotta use back ur 4efte electronics on it, an possibly sum sort of management to retard timing & add fuel since ur using a larger displacement engine an injectors and ecu mapped for a 1300cc engine, not sure which intake manifold u gonna use but is a matter of ur choosing, if u use d FHE one, ur gonna hav to drill an tap a hole for ur intake temp sensor.
things u will need from ur 4efte: oil relocator on d filter, power steering tensioner(will need sum minor mods with the longer block) 4efte distributor or 5efhe, both are the same, sump pan & oil pick, rocker cover since it has a larger port & maybe a few other fine things...
use d fhe cams as they are slightly higher lift..i measured myself...sum ppl use d 5e timing mark an sum use d 4e mark...i used to 4e mark on mines...do sum googling an u will find all d info u really need....i personally scrapped down my 5e an rebuilt it wid all new parts one time(rings, bearings,seals, headgasket cause it was a foreighn used engine an will eventually need work, so i did it in advance...its ur choice....hope this helps

My Starcel

Posted: March 28th, 2012, 7:28 am
by secret_service
Using the 5E timing mark is only possible with 5E electronics.

Then u will need a piggyback to take over when on boost.

Posted: March 29th, 2012, 10:07 pm
by Hibrydsoul
How do I adjust the idle speed on my engine? lately I've experienced the engine cutting off when the a/c is on. I'm guessing the idle speed is too low? or would it be that the step up needs replacing?

My Starcel

Posted: March 29th, 2012, 10:57 pm
by xtech
Remove the AC an the power steering too......

problem solved.

Posted: March 30th, 2012, 1:32 am
by Hibrydsoul
Troll.