4 AGE Silvertop dynoed

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

zakowski

4 AGE Silvertop dynoed

Postby zakowski » February 5th, 2012, 4:20 am

I got the sheet to prove it and will post later but for the while the red dragon is doing 110 whp and 93 lbs ft torque .Time to tune towards 200 whp , Normally aspirated .

Re: 4 AGE Silvertop dynoed

Postby Hook » February 5th, 2012, 7:56 am

Your torque figure seems about right, but that 110hp looks suspect. A very healthy silvertop in stock trim would normally dyno around 130hp.
Another 2nr dyno'd at 126whp on pump gas (premium) with A/T abt 3yrs ago.

Do you intend to tell us how you plan to "tune towards" an 81% increase in whp on a ST20V without forced induction?

zakowski

Postby zakowski » February 5th, 2012, 2:00 pm

Well this silvertop is in need of tunning , as this was dynoed with old plugs and the bottom end has suspect compression on one cylinder , none the less it has done well for its current state . some fresh hondas on the dyno yesterday did less hp and torque , some d-series with the same spec as i in terms of externals did 103 hp and a b16 did nout much more.

deliah

Postby deliah » February 5th, 2012, 2:16 pm

zakowski wrote:Well this silvertop is in need of tunning , as this was dynoed with old plugs and the bottom end has suspect compression on one cylinder , none the less it has done well for its current state . some fresh hondas on the dyno yesterday did less hp and torque , some d-series with the same spec as i in terms of externals did 103 hp and a b16 did nout much more.

doh feel too nice,most dem honda engines beat the f#*k out...
B16a well tuned- u hav no chance.

4 AGE Silvertop dynoed

Postby Hook » February 5th, 2012, 5:19 pm

^^^ u were there for the dyno runs too?

zakowski

Postby zakowski » February 5th, 2012, 7:16 pm

deliah wrote:
zakowski wrote:Well this silvertop is in need of tunning , as this was dynoed with old plugs and the bottom end has suspect compression on one cylinder , none the less it has done well for its current state . some fresh hondas on the dyno yesterday did less hp and torque , some d-series with the same spec as i in terms of externals did 103 hp and a b16 did nout much more.

doh feel too nice,most dem honda engines beat the f#*k out...
B16a well tuned- u hav no chance.

i hear you there buddy , but my car has run well with b16a's and b16b's in better states of tune. stock for stock the engines are close . what makes the difference are those honda gear ratios which are so close as compared to what you get in a toyota box.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 5th, 2012, 10:58 pm

nice going with the dyno, prepare to spend some big money to make 200whp n/a

or spend 3500 on a nos sniper kit

75 shot

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » February 5th, 2012, 11:48 pm

where did u do the dyno and cost? thinkin about sending my st20v for a run!

4 AGE Silvertop dynoed

Postby Hook » February 6th, 2012, 9:07 am

haydn28 wrote:nice going with the dyno, prepare to spend some big money to make 200whp n/a

or spend 3500 on a nos sniper kit

75 shot

There are some that believe the nitrous is considered a "chemical turbo" eh :lol:

I was toying with some ideas when I was doing my rebuild. On the advice of my machine shop guy, it was suggested that with proper tuning, a stroker kit, bigger (and lighter) pistons and increased compression could net maybe a 30hp increase over stock. He hates 20V engines BTW because they're difficult to work with :lol: and I don't blame him :lol:

Headwork, cams and a valve-job, adjustable cams (condemning VVT), velo stacks, maybe another 15hp, but that may be a generous figure.

But aside from the mechanics of it, we're talking, full stand-alone management and possibly a water/meth spray. The cost and drama wasn't worth it to me, but if anyone else is willing to go against the grain, they have my support.

zakowski

Postby zakowski » February 6th, 2012, 5:51 pm

The baseline here is that we need better methods of measuring performance , i.e. more accurate measurements for afr , flow rates of the head and a more indepth approach to engine cycles and opeartions. In japan they have 16v and 20v 4ages that run in the 200whp range and when you look at the spec sheet its only a combination of compression , ecu , cams , and breathing parts .Octane is not a bargaining point for power because all that is is knock supression , so anyine telling me that they need 100 octane fuel because it makes more power is not telling me anything really. All it tells me is that i can run higher cylinder pressures to make the most of my gas . water / meth is overkill for an NA engine running 10.5:1 compression the ratio needed to quench and appease cylinder temps can be done through tunning of the fuel map with respect to load.

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » February 6th, 2012, 6:34 pm

my question goes unanswered........

4 AGE Silvertop dynoed

Postby Hook » February 6th, 2012, 6:57 pm

have you perished the thought of throwing a 75hp wet shot at it, or are you bent on making it without the bottle?

zakowski

Postby zakowski » February 6th, 2012, 7:46 pm

its possible without the bottle , very easy with a charger but not as fulfilling , to answer pink corolla its 300 an hour at audi's dyno -678-3880

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » February 6th, 2012, 8:26 pm

ok coolz n thanks. will update my numbers accordingly

zakowski

Postby zakowski » February 7th, 2012, 10:58 pm

So with that out of the way the first order of business is the addressing of what is needed .
A compressiont test was done and cylinder pressure on cylinders 3 and 4 are consisstent with number 2 being the worst of the lot and number 1 the best . My best bet is to secure pressure in each of around 190-200 psi with a 5 psi variance in the bores .pics and results of test #2 to come.

Return to “TOYOTA”