Corolla Axio Parklights Wont Come on Help

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

thestroke

Corolla Axio Parklights Wont Come on Help

Postby thestroke » September 1st, 2011, 7:47 pm

This has been happening about a month now and seems to be getting progressively worse. The parklights will not come on when headlamps are turned on (ie no tail lamp, parklight, instrument panel lights etc). the headlamps (low beam) will only come on if i put them on then engage high beams then they stay on when i take the high beams off.
checked the fuse and it ok

after a while the parklights do come on (about 30 mins) btw

Re: Corolla Axio Parklights Wont Come on Help

Postby wagonrunner » September 2nd, 2011, 8:09 am

not sure but check your harness.

had an issue where the harness on a hilux was cut (mishap with tow cable) just before the rear bumper.
that effectively disabled ALL exterior lights except headlamps.
Even the interior lights (instrument panel, hood / map lights) stopped working, until that was sorted out.

Yeah hook, all that. Hilux design flaw if ever there was one.

thestroke

Postby thestroke » September 2nd, 2011, 8:04 pm

^^ thanks.........took a quick look at all easily visible harnesses already but will look into it again.

just a thought though, isnt it that a broken harness would only cause problems if it grounds and if that happens the fuse would blow?

Postby Hook » September 2nd, 2011, 8:30 pm

wagonrunner wrote:not sure but check your harness.

had an issue where the harness on a hilux was cut (mishap with tow cable) just before the rear bumper.
that effectively disabled ALL exterior lights except headlamps.
Even the interior lights (instrument panel, hood / map lights) stopped working, until that was sorted out.

Yeah hook, all that. Hilux design flaw if ever there was one.

yeah boy...some buss wires at the back and everything in front went too oui.
I still feel something shorted out when the harness was ripped tho. Even in electrical repair, they teach you to cut one conductor at a time instead of the whole loom in one shot to prevent shorting-out (residual current in the circuit) and sparks etc.

thestroke, what have u checked thus far? grounds? bulbs? fuses?

thestroke

Postby thestroke » September 3rd, 2011, 1:10 pm

Hook wrote:
thestroke, what have u checked thus far? grounds? bulbs? fuses?

yes, yes andyes

this thing is driving me crazy. one question does anybody know where the parklight relay is if it has one???

Postby wagonrunner » September 3rd, 2011, 9:40 pm

thestroke wrote:just a thought though, isnt it that a broken harness would only cause problems if it grounds and if that happens the fuse would blow?

no, and no.

broken harness mean break in circuit. some vehicles require a voltage presence before they'll activate their circuit (relays for example).

too high a current through a circuit is what blows a fuse. not really it grounding. It coming into contact with a higher power (current or voltage source).

new gt

Postby new gt » September 4th, 2011, 10:49 am

has any body checked the ovious the switch .when doing electrical work start up front and find your way to the last point.have done more electrical work on toyotas than any other brand of cars

thestroke

Postby thestroke » September 4th, 2011, 12:23 pm

thestroke wrote:just a thought though, isnt it that a broken harness would only cause problems if it grounds and if that happens the fuse would blow?

no, and no.

broken harness mean break in circuit. some vehicles require a voltage presence before they'll activate their circuit (relays for example).

too high a current through a circuit is what blows a fuse. not really it grounding. It coming into contact with a higher power (current or voltage source).

i'm almost certain theres no complete break in harness - cause when it eventually does come on (after about 30 minutes but not always) all lights normally controlled by the park lamp switch do come on. i was thinking you meant broken/damaged wire insulation

turbohead

Postby turbohead » September 4th, 2011, 3:38 pm

park light switch, i could do a quick fix for you until i could organise one for you...give me a call 4952320

scion I

Postby scion I » September 5th, 2011, 7:48 am

agree with turbohead the light switch is the culprit as it is a current problem with the local corollas which TTTL replaces for free if under warranty!

seeing that you are have the axio version should not be a problem as the the interior and dash are the same as the local corollas (i.e if you have to get the whole switch by toyota) :twisted:

Postby Hook » September 5th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Oh serious? This is a common problem with the NZE's?

Compile a list of the common problems if u can nuh plz. This is good information to have.

thestroke

Postby thestroke » September 7th, 2011, 8:44 pm

Ok fixed it guys, it was actually the relay............behind glove box btw. thanks for all the input

thestroke

Postby thestroke » December 4th, 2011, 8:06 pm

scion I wrote:agree with turbohead the light switch is the culprit as it is a current problem with the local corollas which TTTL replaces for free if under warranty!

seeing that you are have the axio version should not be a problem as the the interior and dash are the same as the local corollas (i.e if you have to get the whole switch by toyota) :twisted:

should have listened to you, it is was actually the switch! *embarrassed*
it seems the only reason changing the relay worked was the amount of time i played with the switch while trying to isolate the problem the switch 'self cleaned' i guess.
took out the switch and gave it a quick service all better now. new one by toyota is $1200 btw!!

Postby Hook » December 4th, 2011, 8:24 pm

well done, G

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 4th, 2011, 8:25 pm

i may be able to get it cheaper for you. give me a call if interested. 4952320

thestroke

Postby thestroke » December 10th, 2011, 7:24 am

^^i will when it spoil and i cant service it anymore

Varin

Postby Varin » April 4th, 2013, 7:27 pm

thank god for tuner yes, i getting the same problem with my axio, where can i have the switch replaced? and about what price range so? i eh goin no TOYOTA lol

Varin

Postby Varin » April 21st, 2013, 5:12 pm

got it serviced at Jerry's Electrical St Augustine, labor cost = very cheap

countrydan_tt

Postby countrydan_tt » February 21st, 2015, 10:33 am

Can someone give directions to Jerry's Electrical, St. Augustine? I have an Axio with the same problem

russian123

Postby russian123 » May 19th, 2015, 11:00 pm

I have the same problem, any place in south that can do this repair

Return to “TOYOTA”