20v blacktop turbo?

Posted: June 4th, 2011, 7:43 pm
by jeevs
yea guys,anybody ever turbo a 20v blacktop?
would like to kno
1.how much boost
2.size ah turbo
3.what extra mods was done
4.how much hp
5.if the engine cld take the jammin'
thanks...

Re: 20v blacktop turbo?

Posted: June 4th, 2011, 8:41 pm
by lethal blacktop
Not recommended on the stock block.

Posted: June 5th, 2011, 12:56 am
by gt4tified
Yes, but be careful. The silvertop is the one that most would boost and not the black top...doh ask me why.

Small boost....8psi and ting with a lil TD0518G or a T3T4 or a T28 is fine.

Tuning as always, is key to not blowing up ur engine.

Posted: June 5th, 2011, 1:18 am
by Hook
It's been done locally a few times before and countless times worldwide. Turboturtle, sadique and trdboy on the forums here have done it successfully. Seek them out.

Don't believe the nonsense about the block. Same 7-rib block as the GZE except u have oil squirters to cool the pistons. Your main concerns are lowering the compression ratio and fuelling/tuning.

Take a look at Bill Sherwood's 4A-GE page for comparisons between the different piston crowns and rods. Do your research and seek the advice from those who have done it.

Posted: June 5th, 2011, 10:46 am
by turbohead
is he compression ratio diff in both engines, if i am not mistaken i tink the black top is of higher compression, could be wrong, i know of turbo charging the silver top stock block. holds about 8psi comfortable, gives you about a 200 at wheels.

Posted: June 5th, 2011, 11:10 am
by corolladude
i could not get a good gze block....so i slling out parts from my gze..."sigh"

Posted: June 5th, 2011, 1:42 pm
by Hook
Well really u could ghetto it or you could do a proper build. From the make up of the two heads, you can put the blacktop head on the silvertop block with a metal head gasket and actually lower your static compression a bit (by just how much is uncertain), use proper headstuds, rebuild intake box so it doesn't sheit out the rubber gasket, use map sensor and BT ecu to get rid of the AFM, fabricate turbo manifold, oil lines, and use prolly an AFC to tweak fuelling but that's ghetto and it's uncertain just how much it can take before you break something that wasn't designed to hold boost.

Remember, you have "cheap", "fast" and "reliable", but u only get to choose two.

A proper build will have all of the above except you'll be rebuilding the bottom end with lower compression pistons. I've heard that GZE pistons can work, but I'm not sure of the outcome since it doesn't have the cutout for the extra intake valve and you'll need to research which rods will work OR you can get the 20valve turbo piston kit from CP. And you'll need a proper EMS to make sure you tune properly.

Don't ghetto it.

Posted: June 6th, 2011, 9:10 am
by new gt
yes the c/p ratio higher in d b/t 11.1, need to go low as 8.1 or 9.1 ,gze bottom .3mm head gasket will work find on silver top but needs to go thicker on black top, went to 15 psi on silvertop . sadique engine was built by scar concepts in princes town that car still runs a normal brain but uses 1j tt injectors .the main issue is with the rods change this an it should last longer.

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 1:57 am
by lethal blacktop
Turbo-charging the blacktop is very delicate, you can make it survive with a very good tuner, but at the end of the day it was designed to be a high rpm NA motor,the rods are flimsy and at that compression ratio speaks for itself, for the peace of mind you should use a GZE bloock if you can find one, but you have to ensure your valve timing is spot on since the 16 valve pistons dont have the flycuts to accommodate the 20 valve valves if something goes wrong.

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 8:58 am
by new gt
its going on 3yrs or a little more an sadiques engine still working .was any n/a engine ever designed for turbo , like ever one else [save money by turboing].That is for those who do not have experience with making power.20v head conversion has been around for some time now ,to much info out there to learn from.

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 12:05 pm
by sadique
ah yes d 20v turbo!! well i cant complain, my engine works gr8, the car is daily driven and its fun to drive! but i must say its NOT cheap! I still have alot to do, as stated before its been about 3yrs. since i did the build, still haven't tuned it yet, no EMS or anything to control air/fuel, but it still runs well(imagine when all that is done).
i m running about 8-9 psi boost, thats stock for the turbo, its an IHI turbo, guy in the bamboo said it was off a Legacy,(i doh know if its true or not) but it seems to have matched the engine perfectly.
dont know what HP im making yet haven't dynod! i was thinking of selling the car, but doh know yet, if im keeping it then hopefully it'll be properly tuned in a timing!
and as HOOK stated.. my build kinda 'ghetto' but it worked for the best!
If your're serious about the build.. check SCAR CONCEPTS ( by Princes Town Licencing office) they have alot of experience with 20v's and could offer some proper advice!

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 3:08 pm
by Hook
^^^ :lol: remember we talk ah talk about the pistons already eh....I doh mean to sound like ah knocking yuh build tho...it's been good to you the last few years.

Now a certain "barefoot mechanic" mentioned to me once that he'd seen a build with a BT head on an ST block, bigger injectors and 8psi on the stock ECU that people kept speculating that HE did it, but he insists he wasn't putting a conch on a 20V without forged pistons, a full rebuild and a proper way to tune and data log the runs because that engine was sure to break at some point and he didn't want his name calling in dat. I never followed up to find out if it lasted, but I know I've yet to see one that didn't break something early on in the build.

I'm already scrapping my scene and I still have the 1mm Cometic metal head gasket, ARP headstuds and a blacktop head for sale.

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 7:10 pm
by sadique
i was wtchin those arp headstuds a while now.. but cant seem to find the extra cash for it!
anyway.. all is good , in a timing everything will be done! hopefully my build will be one of the lucky ones to last!

Posted: June 8th, 2011, 9:18 am
by haydn28
just slap on a turbo , mani , FMIC , emanage ultimate on the whole engine , never mind the CR , you can push the ST to 20psi + just dont cross 12-15psi on the BT(rods) using water/meth or race gas.
pump gas up to 10psi tune for the high compression.

Posted: June 8th, 2011, 7:37 pm
by jeevs
yea guys thanks for de advice,ah goin' ah try ah thing..de plan was really a awd 3s-gte in mh ae-91 but de ass "who was bringin' " de engine set me up...atleast ah get back my downpayment dat ah paid since oct last year.... thanks again guys...

Posted: June 8th, 2011, 11:58 pm
by gt4tified
jeevs wrote:yea guys thanks for de advice,ah goin' ah try ah thing..de plan was really a awd 3s-gte in mh ae-91 but de ass "who was bringin' " de engine set me up...atleast ah get back my downpayment dat ah paid since oct last year.... thanks again guys...

Just out of curiousity, what was your budget for that awd build like?

Posted: June 9th, 2011, 9:54 am
by new gt
there are cars in asia ,malasia,jamaica,....etc that have been running for years on a stock ecu ,pumpgas without adding any fuel additives, no piggybacks or aftermarket ecu or systems and doing fine.

Posted: June 10th, 2011, 10:44 pm
by sadique
WORD!

Posted: June 12th, 2011, 5:29 pm
by jeevs
3s-gte awd build was costing me,parts and labour....$36,000 no mods done to engine yet...full conversion was $22,000...rest was lil parts and to install......advise was not an easy build but it can be done.....

Posted: June 14th, 2011, 5:13 pm
by Hook
new gt wrote:there are cars in asia ,malasia,jamaica,....etc that have been running for years on a stock ecu ,pumpgas without adding any fuel additives, no piggybacks or aftermarket ecu or systems and doing fine.

This is good to hear. Can u shed some light on the details of any of these builds?

Posted: June 15th, 2011, 5:39 am
by jeevs
it have a post called st205-3sgte 4wd in an AE-91 corolla? by me jeevs....the ppl who replied have a much better idea than me check it out...

Posted: June 15th, 2011, 7:41 am
by Hook
absolutely NONE of the 2nrs that replied to that thread so far have boosted 20valve engines...matter of fact, only two have actually owned a 20valve engine...how exactly would they have a better idea?

Posted: June 28th, 2011, 2:33 pm
by trd4life
Dude check hardcore youth he did a really good 20v turbo build it is pretty expensive the silver top engine is the better engine to build. You get more tuning with the AFM than with the MAP sensor but use the blacktop block for the oil squirters to cool your pistons.

Also dont use a piggy back use a stand alone management I myself also spoke to alot of tuners about management for the 20v and they told me the Haltech Platinum Sport 1000 series is the best to use for Toyota engines.

Hardcore Youth would be able to direct you to where you can get your forged stuff and everything else for your build

Posted: June 28th, 2011, 2:47 pm
by trd4life
And yes I have owned both blacktop and silvertop engines also boosted a blacktop in a charmant couldnt get the turbo manifold right it would glow bright red eventually the engine died but this was just an experiment we were doing with a stock blacktop engine

Posted: June 29th, 2011, 11:26 am
by new gt
again you dont have to go through all that .both bt&st has oil squirts.there are a # of tuners who can help all have different ideas,all can help.as for the charmant all u needed to use was a 16v manifold and problem wouid have solved

Posted: July 10th, 2011, 12:19 am
by HaRdCoRe_YoUtH
ah boi...good ole days...

Posted: July 10th, 2011, 2:50 am
by Hook
^^^ aye yuh reach!

Talk ah talk nuh! You did the build yourself ent? Give us the rundown of it, any hiccups etc.

Posted: September 19th, 2011, 8:41 pm
by trdboy
check riva racing and his brother richard in tunapuna they did it successfully before getting bored and raising the boost to 18psi and fried the block, but they were running 12lbs everyday driving no problems