Gearbox Trouble

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

psycostud666

Gearbox Trouble

Postby psycostud666 » September 26th, 2010, 1:34 pm

Seems like stuff always happen... I got my C/Plate and P/Plate changed and noticed that First gear giving a lil trouble to engage and the third gear grating while shifting up or down.. Can anyone advise what causes this and if the cables need adjusting..

Its something i dont really like about the corollas with this cable shifter..

turbohead

Re: Gearbox Trouble

Postby turbohead » September 26th, 2010, 3:41 pm

what engine and vehicle. sometime substitute clutches give these problems

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » September 26th, 2010, 5:43 pm

20v ST in a Corolla wagon.... i did not have the problem before i changed the C/Plate and Pressure plate... i got an original AISIN C/Plate and Pressure plate.. It cost me $1500.. then more costs involved for gearbox oil, release bearing, boot rubbers..

That change cost me over 3k and now trouble..

As i said, there was no probs b4 the change, so my guess is that the mechanic did something wrong when he put the gearbox back up... first thing came to my mind were the gear cables..

toyotajumbie
Location: GOD without man is still GOD but man without GOD is nothing

Postby toyotajumbie » September 27th, 2010, 8:55 pm

What condition was the flywheel in? Did you or your mech check it for any type of wear or damage?

vinu1251989

Postby vinu1251989 » October 4th, 2010, 3:24 am

substitute clutches give these problems !
Victory MotorCars

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » October 11th, 2010, 12:37 am

sad to say i wasn't there during the fix, but the mechanic said it looked good... I think i'll just let the problems go on until i just swap in a 4efe with a tranny.. Fed up of the gears in all that daily traffick...

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » October 28th, 2010, 2:58 pm

Some times my 3rd grates wen gearing down to an extremely high revv range.. its common wit most 5fwd 20v boxes, onlway to solve the pron is to buy new synchro's.. hardcore youth did it buts its kinda costly..! 1 givin probs you say? Like u chookin it in from two to one or wat pally? No but seriously 1? Yuh box mite be goin jed..daz all!!

form5boy

Postby form5boy » November 14th, 2010, 6:38 pm

that happens to my 5a gearbox as well and wen i went to check it the told me its my shifter bushings 1 gear is hard to go in and when i speeding 3 gear grates

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » November 15th, 2010, 10:08 pm

as josh said the box might be going. and where did u buy that stuff to cost so much dude check in sando has it cheaper, last time i pay about 350 for a clutch disk from them

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » December 12th, 2010, 4:03 pm

Yeah Z, i know it cost alot, but i bought an original Toyota Clutch and PPlate....

I running slow to avoid the grating... might swap out the engine if i really get fud up, not much on the car these days, studying more important issues...

zryfle

Postby zryfle » December 14th, 2010, 8:27 am

check your shifter cables and see if any of the bushing is missing , if its not that as said from Josh ur gearbox is goin tru . I had similar problems with my tercel so happens , the gearbox synchro's went in mine .

Good news or bad news i hope it helps . i also goin tru some stress with mine .

Return to “TOYOTA”