I'm frustrated over a 20V! Please Help!

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

TRD12

I'm frustrated over a 20V! Please Help!

Postby TRD12 » June 1st, 2010, 12:35 pm

Here is the problem i have:

Silvertop cameout and blacktop went in October 2009. Silvertop A/C was never gased and lines were never connected. So upon installing the Blacktop i decided to connect the lines and gas it up 1 time so i can have mmy A/C. Within 3 days the clutch on the compressor was completely burnt out and within 5 days the bearing in the compressor pulley destroyed.

I then took the compressor from the previous engine (silvertop) and installed it and gased again. This time i granny shifted and babied the car once the AC was on. 5 days after the clutch burn out.

Took to another AC company and they said it could be something to do with the spacers in the clutch. Not knowing anything about AC i believed them and had them change the clutch and pulley. Once again i jus got 3 days use and clutch gone.

Was then told that there may be a difference in the offset on the silvertop and the blacktop so i should not have used the silvertop compressor. So i purchased the blacktop compressor (foriegn used centre) and had it installed. 2 days after the pulley on the compressor started to make some noise so i took down the shield and had a look. u can actually see the rubber on the clutch burning and the bearing in the pulley appears to be damaged. To avoid further damage i took of the belt and i'm driving without power steering for the while.

Open to suggestions on what the problem may be.

Last suggestion from a good mech. was to change thhe tensioner and the other pulleys along with the compressor. The frustratrion may lead me to sell the car as is (which i dont really want to do but i'm gettin fed up).

So this post is really like a last resort for me. Hope a someone could shed some light on this on going problem.

TRD12

Re: I'm frustrated over a 20V! Please Help!

Postby TRD12 » June 1st, 2010, 12:37 pm

BTW! changin the engine to a starlet engine or 3s engine is not a proper solution so please don't suggest it or say that i should have gone with.....

rottedv

Postby rottedv » June 2nd, 2010, 8:35 am

What kind of tension you had on the belt before taking it off? Overtightening could be contributing to the problem of the burned clutch and damaged bearing....When gasing do they put oil in the compressor or just gas up the thing. Have you tried going to anothe ac man or is it the same one. I had a 4afe compressor on a silvertop and worked fine....

towers58

Postby towers58 » June 2nd, 2010, 11:09 am

when you fix the issue....i have a brand new compressor to sell...$600

Not foreign abused

It has a square size mounting space for the lines...call 795-5669

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » June 3rd, 2010, 1:32 am

rottedv, this compressor was not oiled 1st before installin but the previous compressor was and same problem. If the wrong gas is used what kind of problem would i have?

Towers58, Is that the best price? I'm most likely gonna need a compressor because there is damage to the pulley and clutch and i doubt i'll find a pulley and clutch to buy jus like that. Just for reference, i paid 300 for 1 at foreign used centre. was originally 450 but i beat them to 300 and got no warranty once installed.

towers58

Postby towers58 » June 4th, 2010, 1:18 pm

Well this compressor was imported from the USA where it was professionally remanufactured and I paid $100US excluding shipping and import fees to Trinidad. It hasn't seen any use at all...as compared to the bamboo compressors you pay that price for.

KTS

Postby KTS » June 4th, 2010, 6:12 pm

towers can that compressor work for me too?

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » June 4th, 2010, 9:48 pm

towers, Sounds good i'll recitfy the problem and give u a call or may call and take it then rectify. If possible please PM me a price. Thanks

towers58

Postby towers58 » June 5th, 2010, 7:52 am

KTS wrote:towers can that compressor work for me too?

the compressor has a square top where the lines are mounted. It looks like this

100693.jpg
100693.jpg (21.47 KiB) Viewed 3173 times

You might have to change lines if this is to work on the ride.

towers58

Postby towers58 » June 5th, 2010, 7:54 am

TRD12 wrote:towers, Sounds good i'll recitfy the problem and give u a call or may call and take it then rectify. If possible please PM me a price. Thanks

I added a pic of how the compressor looks like...if it resemble yours...let me know

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » June 6th, 2010, 9:28 pm

I am having a similar problem..my engine runs smooth but sometime when i turn the steering it sounds like the power steering pump is not turning fast enuff to pressurize the rack so i thought the belt was slack, then i tried it with the a/c off and there was no probs... some months later i noticed that the compressor making noise and the steering sticking only occurs at low rpm with the a/c on

i just leave it alone and do nothin, cuz i dont want to raise ah jep nest here... an a/c guy said it cud be insufficient oil in the compressor causing it to tighten up, this could lead to damaged clutch in the long run.. i gonna change the oil in the compressor if it gets worse...

From my knowledge abt a/c, if there is moisture in the system it cud cause the pistons in the compressor to get rough and stick every now and then, this will affect the clutch and pully alternatively...

I also notice that my a/c belt is not very tight, there is a slight slack in it,

dmitc

Postby dmitc » July 5th, 2010, 11:46 am

TRD12 20v compressors are really frigile, they don't tend to last very long especially if your hitting 6000rpms and more. If it is that your not reaching high rpm (which i doubt) then something else is to blame, make sure when you purchase another compressor (pay at least $600 for it) that the belt is not too tight and that it is properly oiled before instalation.

my 2¢

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » July 28th, 2010, 11:06 pm

dmitc wrote:TRD12 20v compressors are really frigile, they don't tend to last very long especially if your hitting 6000rpms and more. If it is that your not reaching high rpm (which i doubt) then something else is to blame, make sure when you purchase another compressor (pay at least $600 for it) that the belt is not too tight and that it is properly oiled before instalation.

my 2¢

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 31st, 2010, 8:17 am

Water in the system would cause excessive wear and tear. Water cannot be compressed. Think about water in your cylinders (Engine is basically a compressor). Before you put on the compressor, were your ac lines sealed off? Did they evacuated the system properly before adding gas.. It could be water that is causing the problem as rightly said above. Those compressors use r134a gas I think so...(Sorry for the late resopne though)

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » October 16th, 2010, 5:50 pm

I hit over 6k RPM with my AC on, nuttin went wrong with it...

Postby Hook » October 20th, 2010, 9:28 am

psycostud666 wrote:I hit over 7k RPM with my AC on, nuttin went wrong with it...

^^^ :lol: same here...works fine

Terran

Postby Terran » October 21st, 2010, 8:38 am

Hook wrote:
psycostud666 wrote:I hit over 8k RPM with my AC on, nuttin went wrong with it...

Postby Hook » October 21st, 2010, 9:41 am

^^^ :lol:

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2010, 12:37 am

Hook wrote:
psycostud666 wrote:I hit over 10k RPM with my AC on, nuttin went wrong with it...

I could play too :lol: :lol: nah nenny boo boo

Terran

Postby Terran » October 24th, 2010, 10:16 am

You coulda go for 9... it woulda been more credible. :lol:

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2010, 12:26 pm

it's very credible......... :lol: :lol:

slivertop 20V :wink:

Postby Hook » October 24th, 2010, 12:30 pm

I hate you *pouts*

Terran

Postby Terran » October 25th, 2010, 7:16 am

Steups. A screenshot.

Postby Hook » October 25th, 2010, 10:13 am

That's a pic of the actual readout from the A'PEXi RSM ...saw it myself.

Terran

Postby Terran » October 25th, 2010, 8:06 pm

:?

:oops: :oops: :oops:

Return to “TOYOTA”