wtk AC in my AE80

Posted: March 19th, 2010, 7:44 am
by alphaboi
who down south sells ac parts for my car. i hav a universal ac but d evaporator needs changing. a guy told me dat the AE91 corolla one would work is dis true? but i would prefer to get the original universal evaporator and i dont no neone dat has it.

Posted: March 19th, 2010, 11:43 am
by toyotajumbie
I cannot say about south,but I am sure that Maraj A/C on Aranguez Main Road sells parts and complete universal blowers, condensers etc. 638 9755. Give them a call.

Posted: March 19th, 2010, 12:00 pm
by psycostud666
Dude... there's no original universal evaporator... there is the Original, which came in the AE80 and then there is the universal evap.. you have a universal evap..

You can get that at Maraj. if you need an evap from a KE70, i can help you there, not sure if its similar....

maybe an ac guy can aedvise you on what's yur best option, if you need the evap from me gimme a shout.

Posted: March 19th, 2010, 12:02 pm
by psycostud666
AE 91 is a newer design and may work better. I guess yur best option is getting it from the AE 91. Should work real good as it wont be as old as my KE70 evap.

Posted: March 19th, 2010, 4:51 pm
by alphaboi
ok fellas thanks. i will b heading down by my AC guy tomoro so i will let u no wat is d situation...

Posted: March 20th, 2010, 7:40 am
by Zeriam
ae91 will work.

Posted: March 20th, 2010, 9:49 am
by Hook
Yup, the A/C on my EE80 came straight from an EE90 (2E instead of 3E tho..but same compressor too) and bolted up perfectly.

Maraj has the universal units, but it never works quite as well as the factory units IME.

If it's age and wear you're concerned about, have the AE evap fully serviced first...cleaned (and disinfected too...moss nuh...use Lysol spray), lines blown out, expansion valve changed, so that you don't ever hafta go back there again.

Posted: March 20th, 2010, 1:48 pm
by buzz
Maraj has universal compressors ?

Posted: March 21st, 2010, 8:25 pm
by alphaboi
my car has a 2A engine. i pulled out d evaporator and there was oil in d housing and on d evaporator. so i gonna look for another one. but i will take your advice and checkout an AE91 evaporator and see if it will fit.