Super in a VVTLi?

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Gafastrc

Super in a VVTLi?

Postby Gafastrc » March 18th, 2010, 8:58 pm

Has anyone ever run super in a vvtli? 2zzge1795, i jus bought a fielder z, it requires 91 octane, super is 93 octane, this should be fine no? will it knock?

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » March 18th, 2010, 9:16 pm

i use super some times when i brokes...... you get some knock..... you get less knock on premium ..............

ive spoken to a few local 2zz owners and every one experiences is different

1 claims no knock on super..also claims no power loss while using super as compared to premium :roll:

and other ONLY uses premium and still gets knock

but these engine normally idle/ sounds funny

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » March 18th, 2010, 9:20 pm

check yuh pm

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » March 18th, 2010, 9:49 pm

Yes. Check your PM.
RR.

rajiv427

Re: Super in a VVTLi?

Postby rajiv427 » February 7th, 2013, 11:38 pm

I realy wanna hear alyuh take on this.i have a 2006 z aero and was getting kocking on premium. Put in some denzo iridium power ik20 and problem solved.can never run super,tried it and on pull off it sounded like a hammer hit d engine lol..for d guys runnin d super if any...what did u do to the engine eg. Plugs, ignition timing, air fuel ratio etc?

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » February 8th, 2013, 9:00 am

I will let you drive my 2003 Fielder Z.
Since the increase in price during the PNM administration, I switched to Super.
My odometer is 102,00kms. Got the car with 42,000kms in 2007.
Once I renewed the plugs @ 75,000kms, simply because I had a new set sitting around.
The car hits the limiter easily on the highway after it crosses 180kmh.
It's an Automatic Transmission.

However a friend with a manual RunX Z has issues, and runs on premium.
Maybe the ECU in the Automatic models makes the difference.
Regards,
RR.

tte

Postby tte » February 22nd, 2013, 2:23 pm

Dont do it. These engines were made to run on 100 octane fuel. Even if u dont knock your ignition will run so retarded you will never see the true potential of the engine. Fact is our gas is balls, our premium is more like 93 and super is like 89 and super has a red dye in it so they can tell the difference between the 2 so imagine what that does to your injectors. Spend yah money, a new engine costs more. Dont get fooled with that US rating of 91 they use a different rating to the rest of the world their 91 = our 98. they use the actual anti knock index rather than ron and mon.

Return to “TOYOTA”