HELP plz BT 20v died

Posted: February 25th, 2010, 6:11 am
by Krakkle
Hunting for a good dizzy for BT 20v....... I suspect mine blew out yesterday. Car started misfiring then let out a huge backfire with puff of black smoke & engine died. Tumbles but cannot start :cry:
Anchored in Tunapuna FTW. Can the ignition module in the dzzy be replaced? If so, where might I find a new one (apart from Toyota Co)

Also, which one of you BT DIY men can help me accurately troubleshoot / diagnose the prob ? (No i don't have a regular mech) :roll: :cry:

Posted: February 25th, 2010, 6:33 am
by haydn28
try getting a 20v padna to come up by the car , and exchange parts one at a time , like dizzy , ignitor, plugs, etc , to find the fault.

to get the parts , put up a wtb of LF post , real 20v men lurking on these forums with real spare parts.

good luck m8

Update LF Distributor cap & Rotor for 20V!

Posted: February 25th, 2010, 5:33 pm
by Krakkle
Did a lil troubleshooting: am getting a spark from the coil lead but not from the Spark plug leads. seems that the distrib cap is faulty but i can't be sure unles i try another cap. Does anyone have a used cap lying around?

Posted: February 25th, 2010, 6:40 pm
by eliteauto
the pop you heard suggest your dizzy is gone not the cap, try getting a new dizzy or have it rebuild ( that costs 6-800) so better try to get a used one

Posted: February 25th, 2010, 8:54 pm
by haydn28
^^where can u have it rebuilt?

Posted: February 25th, 2010, 11:51 pm
by Zeriam
getting them thing new down p town.

Posted: February 26th, 2010, 7:06 am
by smokey1275
Pm razman , he has one

Posted: February 26th, 2010, 9:26 am
by haydn28
where exactly zeriam?

Posted: February 26th, 2010, 10:05 am
by eliteauto
haydn28 wrote:^^where can u have it rebuilt?

In the Bamboo, there's an electrician next door to H&B (Poyea) who does them

Posted: February 26th, 2010, 10:17 am
by Krakkle
Zeriam wrote:getting them thing new down p town.

Yeah pal, plz doh stick with an answer............ am desperate for a solution now.

Posted: February 26th, 2010, 11:32 am
by turbohead
noob to the bt 20v language but wtf is a dizzy? distributor?