AE100 A/C PROBLEM

Posted: January 6th, 2010, 12:43 pm
by mohan
hi dudes dunno if anyone can shed sum light on this matter
i have an ae100 corolla, but the a/c has given me sum probs awhile now, in the day time its get hot when the a/c is running and in the evening to night, it works rel good.
i have changed compressor, condenser and fan and evaporator in the past.

Re: AE100 A/C PROBLEM

Posted: January 6th, 2010, 2:12 pm
by dmitc
i've been there before, had to buy a front half and swap out everything at once, been working fine ever since.
I'll advise you check ravi in the bamboo (saturday morning is the best time) if you from around that area

Posted: January 6th, 2010, 3:50 pm
by Hook
yup, Ravi's the guy. 736-8971

He's two or three houses down from Bamboo Marketing. Methinx there's a sign now.

Posted: January 6th, 2010, 6:50 pm
by clone101
CALL MOSES @ 7959972 he real good.

Posted: January 7th, 2010, 6:32 am
by mohan
thks guys will definately call
d madam gettin on bad lol

Posted: January 8th, 2010, 9:05 am
by buzz
i'd start by checkin the condenser fan

my 101 had the same problem, then i checked an electrician who said the fan was supposed to be "2 speed" or something like that

after that fix and some gas topping up i was good to go

but its best you check your a/c tech for the best advice

Posted: January 8th, 2010, 8:06 pm
by rolling_hard
i had this same problem check my tech in d bamboo yesterday, what he said was d length of time i didn't use it is y i was getting this problem.all he did was top it up check for leaks and it's all good now.

Posted: January 8th, 2010, 8:35 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
using substitute gas also cause that problem

Posted: January 24th, 2010, 5:15 pm
by 4saken
clone101 wrote:CALL MOSES @ 7959972 he real good.

Moses iz d man hoss!!!!!

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 10:21 pm
by HondaR
Anil_Sooknanan wrote:using substitute gas also cause that problem

What is this substitute gas , some cheap chinese freon or something?Reason i ask is because we had 3 cars topped up with the a/c freon and all exhibit these symtoms and is was topped up by the same person.

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 10:48 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
415B gas. many AC men uses this gas because it is cheaper, what it actually does is put a strain on the compressor on the high side blah blah blah, i does use 134A gas on ppl car :lol: :lol:

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 9:48 am
by skablow
R134A Is The Better gas to use most tech's use the other gases cause it cheaper and u will have to keep on going back by them.

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 10:29 am
by Hook
^^^ There's no "better" gas to use. You use what the system was designed to take. Newer systems use the R143A.

The older AE100 Corollas use the R12 gas. It's marked on the compressor. Switching to the R134A is not a simple matter of just pumping in a new gas, components need to be changed and it costs ALOT. There's even particular grades of oil to be used for the each of the different gases.

When one of my lines burst and it was repaired and filled withthe R134A, I never got the cooling I used to get, until I was alerted to this and shown on my compressor that it uses the R12, I made the change back to what it's supposed to be and it's been working great ever since.

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 7:39 pm
by nigeldr
hey had problems with my ae100 changed comp ,evap,new drier check fan the problem was the expansion valve no problems sence