Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

PariaMan

Re: Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby PariaMan » October 8th, 2019, 8:33 pm

carluva wrote:Do you mean before t and z the tile place?

Will call him. That's a great job he did for you. Was he on schedule with the work?
Yep dropped it Monday night collected Wednesday evening

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 8th, 2019, 8:35 pm

Another pic , he supplies the material too
20191008_164818.jpeg

Tell him the black hilux gave you info

carluva

Postby carluva » October 8th, 2019, 8:39 pm

PariaMan wrote:
carluva wrote:Do you mean before t and z the tile place?

Will call him. That's a great job he did for you. Was he on schedule with the work?
Yep dropped it Monday night collected Wednesday evening
Wda. That real good.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 9th, 2019, 6:48 am

Yea he gives you a period to work with and does one job at a time

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 9th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Damnn he properr... Now I can think of my new music build for my van to chop stone seats

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 15th, 2019, 6:46 am

hilux men in here.......are the new ones worth it?? looking for some info before purchase

carluva

Postby carluva » October 15th, 2019, 7:51 pm

In my opinion, the Hilux is way overpriced.

The new Hilux comes with the 1gd engine which is a 2.8 TD. This engine is probably about 5 years old and in the country about 3 years (thru the grey market) and about 2 years (thru TTTL).

The old Hilux was the 1kd engine which is a 3.0TD. That engine is a proven beast! A remarkable work horse and power plant.

I believe that the chassis for the new Hilux is the same as the old one; can't speak for the suspension as I am not sure if it's improved.

Engine wise, I do not know how the new 1gd is faring. Only time will tell. Fwiw, the diesel quality since petrotrin closed down supposed to be a better quality so that would be good news for diesel engines. The old 1kd is a proven engine.

Other tuners would chime in and it'd be nice to hear from an actual owner (I am not an owner of the new Hilux but have a 1kd fortuner which is basically a glorified Hilux).

Postby *KRONIK* » October 16th, 2019, 6:18 am

If is to buy and keep for 5 years, no

Of is to buy and keep for longer, maybe

Some of the revo get brake drum issues, toyota replaced a lot under warranty.
Manual ones are known to wear clutches fast.
But no major issues with them.

I would suggest leaving a new one under warranty fornat least 3 years to 50,000kms in case any issues pop up

And most importantly, dont interfere with the ppl van. Leave it just so and drive it.
Diesel, oil, brakes pads and a occassional drive train fluid change.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:hilux men in here.......are the new ones worth it?? looking for some info before purchase

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2019, 5:45 pm

so ppl who got the new model hilux from tttl with the 1kd in the best position then

Postby *KRONIK* » October 16th, 2019, 6:48 pm

No

They actually worst off

Toyota actually made limited editiin bonnet scoops for those and they carry a different driveshaft too

Special parts that nowhere else in the world got

pugboy wrote:so ppl who got the new model hilux from tttl with the 1kd in the best position then

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 17th, 2019, 10:06 am

pugboy wrote:so ppl who got the new model hilux from tttl with the 1kd in the best position then

Okay I got the New Hilux a few months ago. 2.8L 1GD-FTV. I am coming from a 2011 3.0L.
The difference immediately felt was the quietness of the engine and difference in power. The 2.8L under the “Normal Mode” is very responsive. Using the “Power Mode” is good for spirited driving but again we are limited to 100km/hr with heavy traffic.
ECO MODE
The new transmission ECO mode is good for traffic but terrible for highway runs. Basically, a choke on fuel and lower RPM, I get the felling the engine is in 2 minds whether to stay in one gear or change to another.

Previous hilux was sold with about 245,000 km and Fuel range was 700km/per tank.
Getting a range of 750-780/per tank. I usually refill with my 7day weekly cycle about 650-700 km per week. Live South and work North commute.

Suspension is lot softer but not as soft as the Nissan Frontier – Coil Suspension.
The new transmission and engine in the 2.8L is more powerful and takes some getting use too coming from the 3.0L.

Doing 9000 km since July to present will service with the firm for a bit just in case some issues pop up in the first year.
I did carry my Schaeffer’s Oil 15/40 fully synthetic for my service. Been using that in my previously Hilux for 7 years.

Basically same ground clearance and driving visibility. Biggest change is a difference in engine and transmission.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 18th, 2019, 5:09 am

Spoke to some people who had/have the vehicle with both 1kd and 1gd....one guy(a mechanic) says the 1KD is similar to that of the QD32(iron donkey), yuh could run that sheit to the ground and it still going, while the 1GD like a ZD30(which from my experience is a problem engine)....that was his best way of explaining it...shrugs shoulders....

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 18th, 2019, 9:00 am

mitch1980 wrote:

Okay I got the New Hilux a few months ago. 2.8L 1GD-FTV. I am coming from a 2011 3.0L.
The difference immediately felt was the quietness of the engine and difference in power. The 2.8L under the “Normal Mode” is very responsive. Using the “Power Mode” is good for spirited driving but again we are limited to 100km/hr with heavy traffic.
ECO MODE
The new transmission ECO mode is good for traffic but terrible for highway runs. Basically, a choke on fuel and lower RPM, I get the felling the engine is in 2 minds whether to stay in one gear or change to another.

Previous hilux was sold with about 245,000 km and Fuel range was 700km/per tank.
Getting a range of 750-780/per tank. I usually refill with my 7day weekly cycle about 650-700 km per week. Live South and work North commute.

Suspension is lot softer but not as soft as the Nissan Frontier – Coil Suspension.
The new transmission and engine in the 2.8L is more powerful and takes some getting use too coming from the 3.0L.

Doing 9000 km since July to present will service with the firm for a bit just in case some issues pop up in the first year.
I did carry my Schaeffer’s Oil 15/40 fully synthetic for my service. Been using that in my previously Hilux for 7 years.

Basically same ground clearance and driving visibility. Biggest change is a difference in engine and transmission.
WhatsApp Image 2019-10-17 at 6.01.57 PM.jpeg

Postby gastly369 » November 20th, 2019, 11:49 am

Good day how do I go about getting the Trinidad maps for the revo p10774?

RB34

Postby RB34 » November 22nd, 2019, 10:15 am

Anyone here bought the new hilux and upgraded to the android deck? Troubleshooting one, where if the power is turned off and then on in a short space of time (even a few minutes), the deck boots and does not detect the USB drives. I have to do a full reset of the deck for it to be recognized again. Not seeing any info on this problem online, so wondering if it's a faulty deck? Thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » November 27th, 2019, 7:31 am

Fellaz,
Diff relocations for the Vigo and Revo available.
2000 each
2500 installed (by appointment only)

708-0101

20190910_162535.jpeg

Postby gastly369 » December 7th, 2019, 8:26 am

Just a question the hilux with the 1gd-ftv and push button start....does these engines have a glow plug warm up phase or designed differently? Cause once start is pressed it turns one instantly

carluva

Postby carluva » December 9th, 2019, 8:13 am

Morning all.

Anyone knows where I can get a set of the 18" Hilux wheels? Like the one in the photo

carluva

Postby carluva » December 9th, 2019, 8:59 am

Like this.
Screenshot_20191208-211557.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » December 9th, 2019, 9:25 pm

Cheapest bet will be to check a rim shop. Ppl trade those in for their new twenniez. These sell for up to 8k with new tires.

They are in high demand also, so grab them if you getting them
carluva wrote:Like this.
Screenshot_20191208-211557.jpeg

bazzelhead

Postby bazzelhead » March 3rd, 2020, 9:22 pm

Does anyone know where i can get an oil pump for 2L??

jackal

Postby jackal » March 5th, 2020, 6:59 am

Having issues with my 2000 hilux surf KZN185, the 4x4 light keep flashing, it is the one with the ADD. Serviced the motor, same thing.

Anybody know who is capable of sorting this out, also anybody know where the relay is for the ADD?

Don Mohammed

Postby Don Mohammed » March 18th, 2020, 7:36 am

jackal wrote:Having issues with my 2000 hilux surf KZN185, the 4x4 light keep flashing, it is the one with the ADD. Serviced the motor, same thing.

Anybody know who is capable of sorting this out, also anybody know where the relay is for the ADD?

I had a similar problem. It turned out that my 4x4 harness was grounding off against the chassis

jackal

Postby jackal » March 18th, 2020, 4:12 pm

I had a similar problem. It turned out that my 4x4 harness was grounding off against the chassis[/quote]

I had it checked out, it turns out that the 4x4 module is defective. Need to get one.

Don Mohammed

Postby Don Mohammed » March 23rd, 2020, 10:28 am

jackal wrote:I had a similar problem. It turned out that my 4x4 harness was grounding off against the chassis

I had it checked out, it turns out that the 4x4 module is defective. Need to get one.[/quote]

Coksie in warrenville

tunerboss1

Postby tunerboss1 » March 25th, 2020, 1:58 pm

Hi gday all....i am Lf tranny conversion or a gearbox for my 4d56 engine for my Pajero

jackal

Postby jackal » May 9th, 2020, 10:59 am

Looking for a replacement master cylinder for a KZN185 3.0 hilux surf. The original one have a check valve on it, somewhat like a double cylinder. Anyone know what replacement that people does use. Not seeing a suitable replacement online or don't which is a good alternative.

Street Racer 777

Postby Street Racer 777 » June 15th, 2020, 1:45 am

hey, am looking for a soft tray cover for a Toyota Hilux. Any help will be much appreciated.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 15th, 2020, 6:48 am

I have a vigo carryboy cover 2k

PM if interested
Street Racer 777 wrote:hey, am looking for a soft tray cover for a Toyota Hilux. Any help will be much appreciated.

jackal

Postby jackal » August 27th, 2020, 6:31 am

This thread not moving, giving it a kick start.

I damage the clutch for my ac compressor on my Surf. 1KZ engine.
Anybody know if they does repair that.?

Return to “TOYOTA”