Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 21st, 2010, 5:02 pm

Mines have sunroof :D

aidan

Postby aidan » January 21st, 2010, 7:50 pm

^^punk! and no red interior?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 21st, 2010, 8:05 pm

No red interior..........

You buy tyres yet?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 21st, 2010, 8:07 pm

Next wednesday i will get the booth rubbers for you
Send a pm what you want.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 21st, 2010, 8:39 pm

ill PM u inna while.no tires yet. I goin n read thru the thread on tires in the truck and pickup forum jus now and see. A guy here on 2nr who sold a frontier told me that there is a tire shop opposite Lic office in sando that has Goodyear Wranglers for $500 a piece in 15's but I dunno if that's new or used, cuz it's a pretty good price.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 21st, 2010, 8:42 pm

Yep that is a good price, i will check that out...

aidan

Postby aidan » January 21st, 2010, 9:41 pm

droppa wrote:wats the difference in surf between SSR-X/V/Z limited.. :?: :?:

trying to find out this, colour, trim, drivetrain,whels, interior,guages :?: :?:

yuh make me went n dig up for this info eh! LN130 specific not sure if same applies for LN61 and KZN's!

SSR-Limited - fully loaded 2L and 3L engine options,sunroof, same general interior as other LN130's (except some with 2tone interior), chrome badge on steering, clinometer gauges on passenger side,alloys,full brush bar,rear spoiler with brake light,hood rails,aluminum side step,adjustable shocks.

SSR-X - loaded, sunroof as option, regular interior,brush bar standard alloys,aluminum side steps,adjustable shocks. 2L and 3L engines options.

SSR-X wide - fully loaded like the limited, more body cladding, wider fender flares, 9.5" or 10" (not too sure) wide alloys, larger sunroof. 3L and 3VZ(gas) engines,adjustable shocks. [Note there is also an SSR-X wide without all the fancy stuff only the wider flares and brush bar)

SSR-G - basic powered features, 2L engines and 3VZ, 2 tone interior in 3VZ, mini brush bar as option, basic alloys.optional sunroof and rear plastic spoiler,side steps.

SSR-G wide - same as SSR-G with wider flares, 9.5" wide 16" wheels, rear plastic spoiler (no brake light),mini brush bar,side steps.

SSR-V - same as SSR-X with wide wheels, (no wide flares),alloy wheels, 2 tone interior, 3L and 2L engines,adjustable shocks.

I may have missed out some features, but that's the general gist of it. In addition this is some options available from the dealer when they were new:

Window visors,aluminum front under shield, JAOS,AIRA or TOYOTA badged brush bar,side steps,fog lights on brush bar,roof rails, rear spoiler (with and without stop lamp),16" wheels (9.5" wide),rubber step on rear bumper, rear ladder,tinted glass (dark glass), chrome handles and side mirrors, rear blower(in winter package models),dual batteries (in winter package models).

Ugly red interior comes in the LN61 SSR-limited,SSR-x wide and SSR-G wide. and some LN130's in SSR-X wide, SSR limited.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 22nd, 2010, 1:44 am

Here's sumtin new for 2L and 3L owners:

Toyota Motor Manual for 2L and 3L engines.

Code: Select all

http://uploading.com/files/4md628bf/Toyota%2BMotor%2BManual%2B2Lt.pdf/

droppa

Postby droppa » January 22nd, 2010, 7:45 am

thanx buddy....yuh have it down cold....but why i not seeing 1KZ variants, or by 3L u mean 1KZ..

from wat im hearing and being told to look for is 1KZ turbo...them men bawling with the 2L, dey saying dont buy that at all.

i saw quite a few with 2L and 1KZ, the 1K van are far more impressive, all round...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 22nd, 2010, 8:08 am

Good info. aidan,

I have seen the wide ssr-x with the wide flares, i thought they put that in.

They came with the scoop also

aidan

Postby aidan » January 23rd, 2010, 12:43 am

SNIPER 3000,yea boy those look real sweet!!. i think those with the scoop have a 1kz intercooled :evilbat:

droppa,the 1kz were for the KZN130's,which from what ive read was available from late 1993 in the same LN130 style, until they changed to the newer body shape. But they are supposed to be better than the 2L and 3L (2.8) engines. They came in the prado too!

The 2L aint bad. The one i have working real good. It has good power, fuel economy and not slow. But the 1KZ is awesome. The 3L turbo is pretty good too!

Postby AllTrac » January 23rd, 2010, 1:23 am

aidan, she used to pull a lot faster when i installed the last engine (the engine u have now) but after spending a wad of cash to buy a 2lte since the old one over heat and blew i wasnt going to risk it a second time arround, so i installed the landcruiser(larger)fan and packed it with clutch fan oil, it robs some power, but i like the fact that i can run uphill with a full car and the water temp guage remains dead center. I bet you hear that clutch fan engaging alot, sometimes u dont even hear the engine over that fan when it roaring :mrgreen:

aidan

Postby aidan » January 23rd, 2010, 1:30 am

^^yea boy. it working bess. that fan devious!i gettin a temp increase with long drives with the turbo running constant during the day. but i think the intercooler might fix that problem. I mite try and fit a LC fan shroud over the fan (if it fits lol), apparently it does help draw air more efficiently too.

Postby AllTrac » January 23rd, 2010, 2:07 am

before you add the intercooler and raise the van, try adding a transmission oil cooler before the radiator, or just remove the hoses that run to the intank radiator tranny cooler, plug of the cooler ends and run the hoses to a larger external tranny oil cooler, im 98% positive the heat wont creep up again, im sure its the intank tranny cooler taxing the radiator. Its a cheaper mod/solution to try first before cutting up the bonnet, raising the van and fabrication stuff.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 23rd, 2010, 2:19 am

^^was thinking that as well,space infront real limited though :x .

I think i got a way for the IC to fit without a lift, but the bonnet hinges will have to be adjusted, or modify the bonnet itself to seat higher at the back (closer to the windscreen). i might be getting a spare bonnet free to fool around with lol,so that will make life a bit easier.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 24th, 2010, 1:31 pm

aidan,

You changed you brake pad and shoe yet?

aidan

Postby aidan » January 24th, 2010, 3:33 pm

SNIPER 3000,yea boy. Couple months back. They not that expensive, my mechanic got them for me, i think is the same as the regular hilux. Next set ill change them myself, i thought it was more complicated lol. The back a bit weird to do by yourself, u will definitely need help.

look here: http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/techsite/brakes.htm

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 24th, 2010, 7:09 pm

Fellas anyone running Toyota Super Longlife coolant? It's the recommended stuff for the Toyota engines.

Just remember any turbo charge engine is prone to overheat without proper maintenance.

The 1kz-te is also found in the SR5 Hilux but it's de-tuned (more torque, less bhp) compared to those found in the Prado and Surf.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 24th, 2010, 7:11 pm

aidan wrote:SNIPER 3000,yea boy. Couple months back. They not that expensive, my mechanic got them for me, i think is the same as the regular hilux.

Which model hilux? I'm guessing the older ones. OEM Part no: 04465-35260

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 24th, 2010, 7:26 pm

sweeks,

Have you tried that coolant? does it make a difference?

I am asking because i tried the Honda coolant on a Honda, and it made no difference that i could see.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 24th, 2010, 7:28 pm

aidan,

Glad to here that i could go to the parts place and get them without carrying the old ones.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 24th, 2010, 8:47 pm

^^lol yea boy, that does be a hassle to take down and carry stuff and then if u get d wrong one and bla bla!.

sweeks,thanks for the info! i think it's for the older ones, the mechanic had get it for me, and he said that.
Does that coolant make a difference when u use it? I using some normal one that available in the parts places, and the guy said it does work good for diesel engines. No trouble with it. But i find that after a long run the coolant bottle overflows a bit, and i need to top up the radiator if i make that same run twice or three times :| could it be the coolant? My temp does not go up though. I was thinking about removing the thermostat and trying it and see what happens. I had the same thing happening to my Escudo and I removed the thermostat and it worked perfect after.hmmm. any input here will be appreciated :D

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 24th, 2010, 9:45 pm

aidan,

Boy when your coolant bottle overflows and you have to keep topping up your radiator is not a good sign man......my car is still in the garage because of that i carried it because i though it was the head gasket so the mechanic changed it and he could not time it back, he bent two valves and busted the timing belt in the end he replaced the parts and still could not get the engine working...he said i brought it in so.....long story short i had to get a wrecker carry it somewhere else i bought a new engine only to find out my gear box cannot work so i got a next box in all i will be spending 10,000 easy all because the mechanic did not do a good job, oh and he had the car for three weeks......i am not saying the same thing is happening to yours but just look out for bubbles in the radiator..............

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 24th, 2010, 9:52 pm

Oh try and get the fan shroud.....my engine temp. stays just bellow the half mark in hot days in traffic....and when driving it is even lower.The shroud does help.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 24th, 2010, 9:55 pm

Today i was looking for the reverse light.......did not see any :oops:

aidan

Postby aidan » January 24th, 2010, 10:06 pm

^^damn sorry to hear that man. no bubbles in the radiator and no white smoke. i dunno why it happening :| ill monitor it closely these days and see. SNIPER 3000,your reverse lights blow ah wa?lol

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 24th, 2010, 10:33 pm

aidan,

Where is the reverse light? serious

aidan

Postby aidan » January 25th, 2010, 12:51 am

lol^wat tailgate u have?

this

or

aidan

Postby aidan » January 25th, 2010, 12:59 am

If you cant find your reverse light i feel you van had a rear like the one on top, and the tailgate was changed to the one in the pic underneath :|
or the person before change the lights and put in the 4runner lights (one on top) and left out the reverse light :?:
anyway the reverse light wires should still be in the pannel. check both sides. [open rear tailgate, screw out the tail light and pull away from body to take out, and see if the reverse light wire there].

if not u go hada fold down the rear door, take of upholstery, close back,send up back glass,jump in van trunk with a flash light and look for the wires there. :mrgreen:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 25th, 2010, 7:28 am

aidan,

Hey the one in the last pic. looks just like the back of mines, but instead of the spoiler i have the stop light inside.......... i have to pass inspection to enter work compound, and they does check for reverse light........ :(

Thanks aidan.

Return to “TOYOTA”