Page 1 of 1

engine check light

Posted: November 15th, 2009, 5:14 pm
by demogorgon15
G'Day Folks,

I recently got an ae101 levin the check engine light is on and I'm no mechanic. Does anyone know where i can do engine diag on a 4age thats centralish? And please see the attached pic i found this wire disconnected, could it be the cause of the problem?



Image

Thanks in advance

Posted: November 15th, 2009, 7:19 pm
by kobe
I CAN DO IT 4 U, IF IT HAS A SCANPORT

Posted: November 15th, 2009, 7:38 pm
by turbohead
looks like teh coolant temperature sensor unjacked dat cud b the problem....

Posted: November 15th, 2009, 7:44 pm
by kobe
YES IT CAN, BUT THEN YOU WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN GETTING A TEMPERATURE READING

Posted: November 15th, 2009, 9:48 pm
by haydn28
turbohead wrote:looks like teh coolant temperature sensor unjacked dat cud b the problem....


X2
when u unjack the cts check light comes on

Posted: November 16th, 2009, 9:50 am
by eliteauto
demogorgon15, plug back in the cts, remove the neg pole on the battery for a few secs, connect it back and start the car and see if the code has been cleared, btw judging from the tranny top is your dizzy leaking?

Posted: November 16th, 2009, 1:30 pm
by Hook
naaaaaaaaaw that's not the CTS, that's the fan switch....with that unplugged, the radiator fan is on constantly from the time ignition is on...it doesn't throw an error code AFAIK...so it's best you check for codes before u clear them
I make it a point to check for codes before I disconnect the battery (eg. before installing anything in the car) in case there are codes that don't show up on the CEL

Read Diagnostic Code:

Image

1. Connect TE1, and E1, terminals of check connector.

2. Turn ignition switch to ON. Do not start the engine.

3. Read the diagnostic code as indicated by the number of times the Check Engine Light flashes.


Diagnostic Code Indication:

• If the system is operating normally, the light will flash two times per second.

• In the event of a malfunction, the light will flash 1 time per second. The number of blinks will equal the first number and, after 1.5 seconds pause, the second number of the two digit diagnostic code. If there are two or more codes, there will be a 2.5 seconds pause between each.

NOTE: In the event of several trouble codes occurring simultaneously, indication will begin from the smaller value and continue to the larger.


and after you've identified the error code numbers...identify the errors

Image

Image

if anyone who follows this procedure has a A/T, make sure the O/D is on and check the flashes one time to ensure there are no transmission error codes there as well

Posted: November 16th, 2009, 1:50 pm
by AllTrac
Hook, good info

Posted: November 16th, 2009, 2:21 pm
by haydn28
good stuff here

Posted: November 16th, 2009, 5:34 pm
by demogorgon15
thxs for the info guys

Posted: November 16th, 2009, 9:31 pm
by turbohead
teh one wire temperature sensor is teh dash gauge. the two wire is teh one dat sends the signal to the brain. if it is unjacked it will read open circuit an keep the fans on as fail safe

Posted: November 17th, 2009, 12:46 am
by Hook
the 20V has 3 sensors on that thermostat housing;
1. a single wire unit to the back facing the firewall for the temp gauge on the dash
2. a 2-wire (coolant temperature sensor) on top for the ECU
3. and another single wire facing the transmission side is the fan switch

unplugging the gauge sensor will simply make the gauge useless..no error codes

unplugging the CTS will actually cause the car to idle rough (if it idles at all) owing to an incredibly rich condition (open circuit on CTS will trigger failsafe rich condition in case it fails while driving) and it WILL throw an error code

the OP is referring to the fan switch, which if disconnected, will simply run the fans direct to ignition, but will not throw an error code...his CEL fault is elsewhere

Posted: November 17th, 2009, 8:55 pm
by turbohead
oh i saw two didnt look out for a third sensor. black top engine though

Posted: November 18th, 2009, 8:47 am
by Anil_Sooknanan
kobe wrote:YES IT CAN, BUT THEN YOU WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN GETTING A TEMPERATURE READING
<<<<<<<<< not true.. Hook got the best DIY

Posted: February 6th, 2010, 4:34 pm
by demogorgon15
-=brief update=-

After visiting a few mechanics, some who wanted to burn holes in a mans pocket and others who didnt know wtf they where doing, I ended up by Zerium's mechanic and 2 codes were showing up 1 for the knock sensor and the other for the AFM. The knock sensor was replaced since it was broken (donno how this happened) and the AFM was cleaned and reinstalled and a few other sensors and gauges that weren't working was fix.

We went for a test drive afterwards and all seemed to be well, It was damn embarrassing having my mom in her libero giving me licks :lol:.

Re: engine check light

Posted: July 4th, 2010, 9:31 pm
by granpa
Meh nephew jus buy a 2007 altis an he tell meh dat de light does come on sometimes and stay from a few days tuh a few minutes before goin out. De same problem culd happn here? Ah fed up tell him tuh take it back tuh de man he buy it from. Any suggessions? He have de car less dan 3 monts

Re: engine check light

Posted: July 5th, 2010, 9:29 am
by Hook
The Altis OBD isn't as simple as the 20V. He'll have to have the problem diagnosed with a code scanner to determine what's wrong before he decides whose fault it is. Any reputable mechanic should have the necessary equipment and know-how to diagnose the problem.

Re: engine check light

Posted: July 6th, 2010, 8:18 pm
by granpa
Hook,thanks for the info/advice. Much appreciated. Will let you know of the situation when the problem has been diagnosed.

Re: engine check light

Posted: August 1st, 2010, 9:04 pm
by granpa
He took the vehicle to the dealer who ran a diagnostic on it. A sensor was bad and it has been changed. The light is now off. Thanks again for the advice and sorry for the late response as I was on a small vacation.

Re: engine check light

Posted: February 22nd, 2011, 10:42 am
by A-TRACK
great info...

Re: engine check light

Posted: May 2nd, 2011, 3:10 am
by ghanistha
Thanks for this information. i never known these things before.

Re: engine check light

Posted: June 25th, 2011, 12:09 am
by dutch2004
Can anyone tell me where i can get an O2 sensor for a nze corolla?

i called toyota and they want to charge almost 2000 for a sensor. I spoke to mechanic who says that i can use a universal O2 sensor instead. Any recommendations would be appreciated

Thanks in advance.

Re: engine check light

Posted: June 25th, 2011, 12:47 am
by Hook
dutch2004 wrote:Can anyone tell me where i can get an O2 sensor for a nze corolla?

i called toyota and they want to charge almost 2000 for a sensor. I spoke to mechanic who says that i can use a universal O2 sensor instead. Any recommendations would be appreciated

Thanks in advance.


Do some research on the type of sensor the NZE Corolla uses before you fork out the dough for a universal sensor.

Universal 4-wire narrowband lambda sensors are usually the zirconia type (it generates voltage, so two wires are for heater, one's sensor signal and the other's ground), however a lot of Toyota 4-wire sensors are the titania type which is a resistance type sensor and relies on a reference voltage sent from the ECU (two wires are heater, one's a signal wire and one's NOT ground, but has a voltage).
The two types are not interchangeable.

See if you can find out what type your car carries, in case you buy the wrong thing and end up spending more than you bargained for (it'll still be less than the firm price, but still nuh...buy the correct thing the first time so u don't have to go back and dig up twice).

Now, assuming it's a 1NZ-FE (yes, I'm a presumptuous mofo)
Read here on how to check your oxygen sensor:
http://www.etimago.com/yaris/repairmanu ... ontrol.pdf

I would suggest that if you need to replace it, look online and find somewhere that says specifically that it's a replacement oxygen sensor for your engine. If you're gonna remove your sensor to test it, get the part number off it one time to compare, and then see here:
http://www.familycar.com/autoparts/toyo ... ensor.html

Re: engine check light

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 8:01 pm
by dutch2004
thanks very very much for the info hook , much appreciated

Re: engine check light

Posted: July 30th, 2014, 9:16 pm
by demogorgon15
since the images are not longer being displayed here are the std toyota odb1 error codes:

1 Normal Condition.
2 Air Flow Meter signal.
3 Ignition signal.
4 Engine Coolant Temperature Sensor signal.
5 Oxygen Sensor.
6 RPM signal (Crank Angle Pulse).
7 Throttle Position Sensor signal.
8 Intake Air Temperature Sensor signal.
9 Vehicle Speed Sensor signal.
10 Starter signal.
11 Switch signal.
11 ECU/ECM.
12 Knock Control Sensor signal.
12 RPM signal.
13 Knock Control CPU (ECM).
13 RPM signal.
14 Turbocharger Pressure.
14 Ignition signal.
15 Ignition signal
21 Oxygen Sensor.
22 Engine Coolant Temperature Sensor signal.
23 Intake Air Temperature Sensor signal.
24 Intake Air Temperature Sensor signal.
25 Air-Fuel Ratio Lean.
26 Air-Fuel Ratio Rich.
27 Sub Oxygen Sensor signal.
28 No. 2 Oxygen Sensor signal.
31 Air Flow Meter signal (Vacuum Sensor signal).
32 Air Flow Meter signal.
34 Turbocharger Pressure signal.
35 Turbocharger Pressure Sensor signal.
35 HAC Sensor signal.
39 VVT-i
41 Throttle Position Sensor signal.
42 Vehicle Speed Sensor signal.
43 Starter signal.
51 Switch signal.
52 Knock Sensor signal.
53 Knock Sensor signal.
54 Inter-cooler ECM signal.
71 EGR System.
72 Fuel Cut Solenoid signal.
78 Fuel Pump Control signal.
81 TCM Communication.
83 TCM Communication.
84 TCM Communication.
85 TCM Communication.

Re: engine check light

Posted: March 5th, 2015, 2:35 pm
by trinimanic
Hi guys i was wondering where i could find a knock sensor for a ae100. recently got the got error 52 from the diagnostics. Did the clearing of code and stuff did not work. I think is time to just get it replaced

Re: engine check light

Posted: March 21st, 2018, 3:49 pm
by birdman323
Hook wrote:The Altis OBD isn't as simple as the 20V. He'll have to have the problem diagnosed with a code scanner to determine what's wrong before he decides whose fault it is. Any reputable mechanic should have the necessary equipment and know-how to diagnose the problem.


Good day hook I have a Altis and the code P0770 came up. Should I change solinoid e or change the tranny oil first?