4EFTE overheating

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Bushman

4EFTE overheating

Postby Bushman » November 9th, 2009, 2:32 pm

advice needed.

i just did a 4efte install in a clio, but one little drive and the ting overheating.

If i keep the rpms under 3000 it seems to be fine, but as soon as u press alittle and u hear the turbo blow apparently water is flowing out of the overflow bottle and after alittle alot of steam coming from the overflow bottle.

is it true the radiator needs to be a certain height to the engine ?
I tried to raise it as high as i can mount it to the top of the engine where now the top hose is about 1/2 inch higher than the first hose port on the engine.

sending it by the mechanic today but wanna know wat my options mite be to fix this problem.

Bushman

Postby Bushman » November 9th, 2009, 10:10 pm

bump

Postby A172 » November 9th, 2009, 11:27 pm

change yuh rad cap and cross yuh fingers.

Bushman

Postby Bushman » November 10th, 2009, 9:40 am

boy its a new radiator from bamboo the cap looks brand new

daryl0510

Postby daryl0510 » November 10th, 2009, 12:27 pm

:roll: does these engine have termostat?????? :?:

Bushman

Postby Bushman » November 10th, 2009, 1:55 pm

took it out

josh

Postby josh » November 10th, 2009, 5:40 pm

sound like head gasket problem

xtech

Postby xtech » November 10th, 2009, 10:11 pm

yip mine did that would stay cool until i press out an dat was it steam all over.......blown head gasket easy fix.

But i went 5E head an block instead

Bushman

Postby Bushman » November 11th, 2009, 11:37 am

was thinking 4e head 5e block

who can change it for me at a decent price in POS

Postby A172 » November 11th, 2009, 12:09 pm

why not rebuild the engine as you opening it up?

Bushman

Postby Bushman » November 11th, 2009, 12:15 pm

money tight rite now how much the rebuild kits going for now

Postby A172 » November 11th, 2009, 12:34 pm

for a 4efte rebuild....pretty cheap

OEM rings: $600
OEM headgasket: $400
ACL bearing kit: $350
Put back yuh phoqin thermostat - OEM: $225
Gates timing belt: $220
pressure test and shave head $300

other lil sh1t like valve seals, oil etc: small morney

your call :arrow:

Bushman

Postby Bushman » November 11th, 2009, 12:39 pm

hmmmm why put back thermostat

Postby A172 » November 11th, 2009, 12:43 pm

no thermo = no restriction = no time for water to get cool in radiator due to constant circulation

needed to keep the engine at normal operating temperature

not to mention yuh car go pull like sh1t how it stock :|

Postby A172 » November 11th, 2009, 12:49 pm

A172 wrote:not to mention yuh car go pull like sh1t how it stock :|

i should probly elaborate on that 1hmmm

from personal experience with the stock setup, when i had the thermo out, on boost the car use to move sluggish....as if the engine was 'cold'...put it back in and operating smoothly

now in comparison to a pal who running about 200whp more than me....he has his thermo out and well.......i guess one would barely notice :|

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » November 11th, 2009, 1:23 pm

A172 wrote:now in comparison to a pal who running about 200whp more than me....

:shock: your car is <100whp or wa :lol:

Postby A172 » November 11th, 2009, 1:27 pm

yeh....yuh eh know? 8-)

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 11th, 2009, 1:38 pm

A172 wrote:yeh....yuh eh know? 8-)

LOL
:lol: :lol: LIES!

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » November 11th, 2009, 11:06 pm

A172 wrote:yeh....yuh eh know? 8-)

:?

nAH! u come again with dat? :lol: :lol:

2pap wrote: BLUE! go fix dat

Postby AllTrac » November 12th, 2009, 10:40 am

A172 wrote:
A172 wrote:not to mention yuh car go pull like sh1t how it stock :|

i should probly elaborate on that 1hmmm

from personal experience with the stock setup, when i had the thermo out, on boost the car use to move sluggish....as if the engine was 'cold'...put it back in and operating smoothly

i believe this is because the engine was over cooling since it was not getting up to optimal temperature, the ecu would then think it is in cold start mode and dump additional fuel also limiting boost and pulling back timing until engine heats up ie if it is using stock sensors. Over cooling of the block could also cause premature ware.

Same thing i noticed with the 3s, plugged back in the thermo and got a new cts, everything fine and dandy.

Bushman

Postby Bushman » November 30th, 2009, 2:16 pm

yea de head gasket needed changing running like a tief now

rottedv

Postby rottedv » November 30th, 2009, 7:56 pm

Did you put in the thermostat? How did you know the head gasket blew out? Same thing seems to be happing to me...When the prosport gauge reach about 90 degrees it seems to start dumping water out the overflow bottle...Not steaming and stuff though just water dumping out the overeflow bottle....Not seeing any oil and water mixing so I assuming the head gasket good...

Bushman

Postby Bushman » December 1st, 2009, 6:05 am

oil mikint with water water bubbling out of thermostat

Return to “TOYOTA”