Toyota FT-86 "ToyoBaru"
Posted: October 6th, 2009, 2:07 pm
by timothymcdavid
Well i checked to see if this was posted but i figure you guys might like to see it
link to full story
http://www.pistonheads.com/news/default ... ryId=20763[/img]
Supposedly will have a Subaru flat 4 making 140bhp.
Posted: October 6th, 2009, 2:14 pm
by dmitc
i want to like it but 140bhp

Posted: October 7th, 2009, 7:44 am
by cincuanta
dmitc wrote:i want to like it but 140bhp

Fuh real..but wondering what are the possibilties for modification past 200BHP
Posted: October 7th, 2009, 9:42 am
by Zeriam
i just hope it sounds good
Posted: October 7th, 2009, 10:21 am
by _moti_
dmitc wrote:i want to like it but 140bhp

guess toyota is still sticking with the small HP performance engines.
that figure reminds me of the 4AGE
Posted: October 7th, 2009, 5:56 pm
by alphaboi
probably made the HP kinda low in terms of drifting because of its increasing popularity, u dont need a lot of speed for that....
Posted: October 7th, 2009, 7:01 pm
by reddo_tuner
amit.soorajbally wrote:probably made the HP kinda low in terms of drifting because of its increasing popularity, u dont need a lot of speed for that....
you mean power, 140 is more than enough to drift

Posted: October 14th, 2009, 2:05 am
by heshere2001
So no one else having an issue with a subaru engine in their toyota?
Really?
I mean don't get em wrong, I'll be there to buy it from the dealership or import new but a subu engine in my Toyota......

Posted: October 14th, 2009, 9:27 am
by reddo_tuner
Posted: October 14th, 2009, 10:59 am
by alphaboi
We don't have a choice in d matter in terms of the engine, unless they decide to bring out a different edition with a toyo engine..but i think d main issue with the engine is to have more stability for the car...
Posted: October 16th, 2009, 6:16 pm
by heshere2001
amit.soorajbally wrote:We don't have a choice in d matter in terms of the engine, unless they decide to bring out a different edition with a toyo engine..but i think d main issue with the engine is to have more stability for the car...
No.
I want my Toyota to be a Toyota.
There are many engines that they have available, across so many platforms.
2Gr-Fe - gimmie a rear wheel variant and we good to go.
Even less powerful
2Az-Fe - Camry engine 160hp - rear wheel and we good.
I understand that they are building the platform together but the engine could have been different as per company.
Doubt TTTL will bring this down cause who will service it? N&M??
RORO I'll need a Subu mech.
Posted: October 17th, 2009, 8:23 am
by ramishrrr
Well, I guess there are a lot of behind-the-scenes things we would not know about.
1. The last Toyota performance engine 3SGTE is pretty old by now, and there are no new engines on the horizon. Engines cost a heap to develop.
2. The Subaru turbo engine like the EJ20 is a performer, no doubt. Seeing that Toyota has a chunk of Subaru, it may well be a matter of economics and common sense to use it.
Hardly anyone noticed that recent Jaguars came with Ford engines, and now that Tata owns the company, who knows ? Maybe Jags will be equipped with the Telcoline's diesel !!
The FT-86 will run no doubt.
Posted: October 17th, 2009, 10:20 am
by timothymcdavid
Posted: October 17th, 2009, 10:25 am
by timothymcdavid
Posted: October 17th, 2009, 1:16 pm
by heshere2001
ramishrrr wrote:Well, I guess there are a lot of behind-the-scenes things we would not know about.
1. The last Toyota performance engine 3SGTE is pretty old by now, and there are no new engines on the horizon. Engines cost a heap to develop.
2. The Subaru turbo engine like the EJ20 is a performer, no doubt. Seeing that Toyota has a chunk of Subaru, it may well be a matter of economics and common sense to use it.
Hardly anyone noticed that recent Jaguars came with Ford engines, and now that Tata owns the company, who knows ? Maybe Jags will be equipped with the Telcoline's diesel !!
But still would Toyota train its local mechs to service a subaru engine?
Posted: October 17th, 2009, 2:14 pm
by venem
Posted: October 17th, 2009, 10:05 pm
by Zeriam
heshere2001 wrote:ramishrrr wrote:Well, I guess there are a lot of behind-the-scenes things we would not know about.
me thinks not!!
Posted: October 17th, 2009, 10:10 pm
by alphaboi
Hey...just thought of something, do u think ppl should consider this a whole toyo? eg. would there b ppl coastin TRD decals n stuff on it when in fact it's a toyo chassis and subaru engine? What u guys think?
Posted: October 17th, 2009, 11:31 pm
by Zeriam
do proton owners put ralliart on their cars?
Posted: October 20th, 2009, 5:50 pm
by eliteauto
so...if Toyota is doing a version and Subaru is doing a version don't you guys think the engines will be branded as such?? The argument of a "subaru" engine in a Toyota is silly at best, so do Subaru owners thing the have Porsche engines ( after all they've been doing Boxer engines longer) or do Lotus Elise owners say they have toyota engines ( they're powered by the 2zz-ge), you all can't be serious

Posted: October 20th, 2009, 9:25 pm
by TRDcorolla
if TTTL gets the ok to sell them, then yes some one would be trained to service the boxer engine
Posted: November 4th, 2009, 11:20 am
by josh.dookie
Something to look forward to, looks cool but 140hp is a downer, and NA... But still looking forward non the less!