Help 5A problem

Posted: September 29th, 2009, 9:48 pm
by Japan_fan
got a AE110 with a 5A-FE engine and it seems while i am in drive and i place the shifter in neutral the vehicle will cut off...even if i have it in reverse and i place it in drive it will cut off...other than that the vehicle seems to idle smoothly...i'm new to the toyota scene.....any advice ?

Posted: September 30th, 2009, 10:16 pm
by Japan_fan
no one?

Posted: October 1st, 2009, 6:27 am
by Metallicork
When you shift from one gear to neutral the car cuts off....hmmmmm.....does it stutter before cutting off?....How bout when you put it in park? The park idle and the neutral idle is supposed to be the same...I don't think its mechanical....get a dianostic done to the car....maybe some adjustments to the tps or the maf/map sensor maybe giving a false reading....not too sure though..

Posted: October 1st, 2009, 7:12 am
by praise
When you have problem like that, it is very difficult to give advice to you, without driving and having a first hand experience with exactly whats hapenning. Since you are new to toyota, take the car to a technician and let him or her check it for you. Don't go around asking for advice in a field that you are unfamiliar with. You can end up in much more problems and expense that you bargain for. It may be a simple adjustment or a complete service required, but let a technician check, analyse and correct it. Tuners have many qualify technician am I sure that will be willing to help you. Look at the history of post and you will find guys like Anil, QG,Hook and many others.

Posted: October 2nd, 2009, 10:45 am
by Japan_fan
praise, Metallicork,i'm actually goin to get it scanned first before i decide to do anything but thanks nun the less

Posted: October 2nd, 2009, 10:05 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
praise wrote:When you have problem like that, it is very difficult to give advice to you, without driving and having a first hand experience with exactly whats hapenning. Since you are new to toyota, take the car to a technician and let him or her check it for you. Don't go around asking for advice in a field that you are unfamiliar with. You can end up in much more problems and expense that you bargain for. It may be a simple adjustment or a complete service required, but let a technician check, analyse and correct it. Tuners have many qualify technician am I sure that will be willing to help you. Look at the history of post and you will find guys like Praise, QG,Hook and many others.
:roll: check your idle valve it may need cleaning also take a look at the MAP sensor

Posted: October 2nd, 2009, 10:06 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
praise, doh play up! yuh fraid to say you does do scanning too :lol:

Posted: October 8th, 2009, 9:02 pm
by Japan_fan
hey guys...jus lettin u know i got the car scanned and it would seem the gear selector switch on the tranny is playin d fool...anyone know where i might be able to find this?

Posted: October 9th, 2009, 11:05 am
by dmitc
BAMBOO is yuh best bet

Posted: October 9th, 2009, 1:41 pm
by Japan_fan
i figured as much...but i know i'm gonna ketch meh royal a** to find it in d bamboo

Posted: October 15th, 2009, 8:04 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
did you get a switch yet? if not i got one

Posted: October 15th, 2009, 9:29 pm
by Hook
hmmm...more often, it's a corroded pin in the plug that finally gives way and breaks off in the socket

but not all 4A/5A switches interchangeable eh...depending on the vehicle it came from, the bolt holes may be reversed...I've had to repair a few of them because compatible ones weren't available...they holding out tho, so it's all good

Japan_fan or Anil_Sooknanan, post a pic of the switch u got to make sure y'all got the same thing

Posted: October 15th, 2009, 10:05 pm
by Japan_fan
well...i got one but Hook, i think ur right cuz the one i got can't bolt up..will post a pic asap

Posted: October 15th, 2009, 10:39 pm
by Hook
this is a pic I got on the intwewebz

the mounting bolts on some switches may be opposite even tho the plug is the same

what was the problem with yours? broken pin like I said?

Posted: October 15th, 2009, 10:41 pm
by Japan_fan
nah...no broken pins....it just decided to give out i guess....however mine is black not silver like in this pic...i believe they carry different part numbers as well

Posted: October 15th, 2009, 10:48 pm
by Hook
nothing inside there but contacts, electrical grease and a slider

black u say?

okay then....5A-FE, right?

seen lots..but never seen a black gear selector switch

Posted: October 15th, 2009, 10:51 pm
by Japan_fan
will try and get a pic tomorrow for ya

Posted: October 16th, 2009, 10:38 pm
by Japan_fan
Hook, apparently i was wrong....its the back portion of the switch is black here are the pics

Posted: October 17th, 2009, 12:19 am
by Hook
cool....if this is the one that came off the car, once Anil can confirm the one he has is the same, then you're in business.

Posted: October 17th, 2009, 2:28 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
Japan_fan, can you take a pic of the pins? the one i got looks the same but the part number is different . mines is T25, 477, 84540 - 16050. your lable is in black. mines in pink btw once the jack and pins are the same it should work. mine got 9 pins - 5 thin ones on one side, 4 on the other side which the 2 inner ones are fat and the 2 outer thin