Tach wire in Dx Wagon

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 10:13 pm
by total_k_us
does anyone know where the tachometer signal wire is in the DX Wagon.... its the 5efe engine

Posted: September 2nd, 2009, 9:00 am
by haydn28

the 4e and 5e DIS uses waste spark ignition , to drive a tach like an AUTOMETER , u need 12v pulses @50% duty cycle , u need to build or buy a tach adaptor and
splice the IGF wires (its RED in real not green) :roll:
connect both channels to the tach adaptor and send the output to the tach ,

this site has the details on building a reliable adaptor http://www.gadgetjq.com/tach_install.htm

enjoy! 8-)

Posted: September 2nd, 2009, 9:04 pm
by outrider
buh widde hell....I went by Ryan on d bamboo to put in ah L-touring instrument panel and he tell meh d tach cyar hook up.......even if yuh get ah tach adapter....... :?

Posted: September 3rd, 2009, 10:17 am
by haydn28
8-) 8-) 8-)

Posted: September 3rd, 2009, 11:31 am
by eliteauto
outrider wrote:buh widde hell....I went by Ryan on d bamboo to put in ah L-touring instrument panel and he tell meh d tach cyar hook up.......even if yuh get ah tach adapter....... :?

Xfackin2 I also went by ryan when I put the BZ touring panel in the DX same story :?

Posted: September 3rd, 2009, 10:51 pm
by total_k_us
we tried using the wire from the coil pack, but the signal strength was too weak to move the tach.... Ryan told me that we would have to take the wire directly from the brain box.... Something i trying not to interfere with.

Posted: September 4th, 2009, 8:45 am
by haydn28
8-) 8-) 8-)

Re: Tach wire in Dx Wagon

Posted: December 22nd, 2010, 10:17 pm
by total_k_us
What about from the crank shaft sensor?

Posted: December 23rd, 2010, 9:38 pm
by haydn28
8-) 8-) 8-)

Posted: December 26th, 2010, 7:52 pm
by rocky86
ah have one in my dx a go see were the wire hook up 2morrow

Posted: April 15th, 2012, 3:05 pm
by haydn28
IT WORKS FLAWLESSLY

BUMP! :)

Posted: April 15th, 2012, 8:12 pm
by new gt
this app works flawess in deed.

Posted: April 16th, 2012, 7:50 am
by haydn28
OR BUY THE AUTO METER TACH ADAPTOR PART #9117 :)

Posted: April 17th, 2012, 10:44 pm
by rocky86
5efe have a tach wire form the brainbox, when a get time a go see were it is

Posted: April 30th, 2012, 6:23 pm
by Monster 101
my tach is not working after an engine swap.
i need help locating the tach wire for a 4th gen 3sgte...
or what about the tach wire from the ecu?
can this be used to work with the tach adapter?

Posted: May 5th, 2012, 9:14 am
by haydn28
the 3sgte is distributor with coil not so? just use the coil NEGATIVE as the tach signal

Posted: May 5th, 2012, 11:41 am
by Monster 101
haydn28 wrote:the 3sgte is distributor with coil not so? just use the coil NEGATIVE as the tach signal

nah i have a 4th gen 3sgte....
i think it is COP or coil on plug system....

Posted: May 7th, 2012, 7:28 pm
by haydn28
autometer 9117 tach adaptor then

Posted: May 7th, 2012, 10:28 pm
by Monster 101
haydn28 wrote:autometer 9117 tach adaptor then

cool thanks>...

btw yuh know where i could get this hook up?

Posted: May 8th, 2012, 7:48 pm
by haydn28
u can do it your self , it too simple to check anyone, it has the instructions in d box

Posted: May 8th, 2012, 11:37 pm
by Monster 101
ok thanks man....

Posted: January 4th, 2018, 1:06 am
by jerico2018
Hi there the tacho wire for the 4e-fe (dx wagon) can be found in the diagnostics port in the engine room under the label (ig -) , a spade pin sideways by itself. Took a while for me to get it. Thought I might share the knowledge.