Engine Belt for NZE corolla

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Civic Dude

Engine Belt for NZE corolla

Postby Civic Dude » August 15th, 2009, 5:17 pm

can anyone tell me the specs on the engine belt for the NZE corolla, 1.6 VVti engine

I know these belts go by the number of 'peaks' and length

any info will be greatly appreciated

praise

Postby praise » August 17th, 2009, 8:16 am

These engine use one belt to drive alternator, air condition and power steering. The number is 6PK 1890.

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » August 18th, 2009, 1:12 pm

ok..cool
tanx much Praise

i have the 3ZZ engine so i will get that belt

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » November 3rd, 2009, 8:01 pm

back to this topic

I called Toyota and they are saying the belt is 6PK 1810

can anyone confirm this please

praise

Postby praise » November 4th, 2009, 1:48 pm

Toyota is correct, they do use 6PK1810, but for some strange reason, some also use the 6PK 1890. The best thing is to take out your old belt and walk with it or buy the two and let the parts outlet, refund you for the one you did not use. However, if your old belt still have writing on it, you can also check that for the correct size.

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » November 6th, 2009, 11:27 pm

well.. Praise..

i was in canada recently and buy the 6PK1890 cuz thats what i was told earlier on the site here.. but when i came back and call toyota..they said 1810

i didnt get the orginal toyota belt but got a Good Year gator belt..

my belt on my car is in great condition but i kinda like doing preventative maintenance. so i doh wanna have to go thru d truble to take off the old belt as yet, hence trying to get d info here

but thanks anyways

praise

Postby praise » November 7th, 2009, 4:54 pm

I change these belts in about five Altis. Four of them used 6PK1890 and one use 6PK1810. So chances are you bought the correct belt, hence the reason I told you 6PK 1890. You can get it sell if it is not correct as it is the more popular belt for the Altis. It can also be used in the Ford Focus.

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » November 21st, 2009, 1:00 pm

Praise.. or anyone else.. can u tell me if the belt is difficult to remove.. i usually do my own work on my cars but when i looked at the NZE , seems a lil bit tricky with the belt tensioner

praise

Postby praise » November 21st, 2009, 1:18 pm

It is actually very easy. Look at the right side of the car, on top where the belt tensioner is located, there is a 19mm motionless nut, meaning it does not look like is bolting on to anything. Put in a 19 socket on a power handle or you can also use a 19 spanner. Turn the nut clockwise and this will release the tention on the belt. Slip off the old belt, taking note exactly how the old belt is position. Replace the belt exactly the same way by turning clockwise on the nut. When you are done simple release the socket or spanner. No need to tension belt as the tensioner apply the right amount of pressure. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO APPLY ANY PRESSURE ON THE TENSIONER BY TURNING IT ANTI CLOCKWISE. The tensioner can be easily damage if this is done, and the cost of a new one is over $1600.

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » November 23rd, 2009, 1:46 am

great.. thanks Praise... i owe u one.. or two.. beers..lol

just say when !

scumbag

Postby scumbag » January 16th, 2010, 8:53 pm

nissan tensioner works -original available at M & N in banboo for $825.00

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » January 17th, 2010, 2:15 pm

If this is any information, this type of belt is called a "Serpentine" belt. I guess it is self explanatory.
RR.

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » January 18th, 2010, 8:08 pm

fellas.. so i got the correct info for the belt from Toyota..

for the 2003 NZE 1.6L Vvti

its the 6pk1810

I bought a 6PK1890.. so i I will have to get rid of that one..i still dunno which model toyota that will work on.

lalloboy101

Re: Engine Belt for NZE corolla

Postby lalloboy101 » August 7th, 2018, 10:31 am

The 1nz-fe uses a 4pk-1240 alternator belt and a 3pk-850 for the power steering

CB Style

Postby CB Style » August 7th, 2018, 3:35 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:The 1nz-fe uses a 4pk-1240 alternator belt and a 3pk-850 for the power steering

I bought a Bando 4pk-1200 for my 1nzfe and every two months I have to adjust the tension. Sometimes I get a squeal on startup or when the AC comes on but it goes away after a few seconds. I guess that's the reason then. I should have bought a 1240 instead of a 1200.

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » August 7th, 2018, 7:16 pm

If you can get the mitsuboshi brand, that's the one. Bando is fine as well

Return to “TOYOTA”