wheel sizing... lexus rx300

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

daymean

wheel sizing... lexus rx300

Postby daymean » June 19th, 2004, 8:41 pm

ok fellaz well mih pops have ah lexus rx300
and he buyin some new rims
i was wonderin..
with the stock rims it have ah kinda big space between the top ah de tire an de fender , i was wonderin if it would be possible with larger rims 2 reduce this space.... and i seein on these sites tyre matches for 18" rims that they say keep the diameter of the rims an tires same as stock...so then the space between the rims and de fender would be the same ent??
i would have 2 use higher tires??
am i correct??
please help me... :?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 19th, 2004, 9:09 pm

^well yeh if the wheel size remains the same i guess the space will remain also. :idea:

imo the only way to reduce that space while keeping the same size wheel would be do lower the vehicle. i not 100% sure on that.

But remember that space there for a reason eh...its an SUV.

daymean

Postby daymean » June 19th, 2004, 9:12 pm

yer ah was thinkin dat ( the reason it there for ) lol
but um it does look OOOOOOOOOOOOGLY!!!

daymean

Postby daymean » June 19th, 2004, 9:14 pm

ah guessin taller tires will be in order 2 reduce the space .... right guys??

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » June 19th, 2004, 11:11 pm

You will loose the accuracy of your speedo if you do that. If you want to loose the space, :twisted: Drop the sucker :twisted:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 19th, 2004, 11:53 pm

Actually increasing the rim size increases the height of the car because the rim is bigger. You have to get a set of lowering springs to make the space between the wheel well and the rim go away.

daymean

Postby daymean » June 19th, 2004, 11:57 pm

ok thanks guys :)

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 20th, 2004, 12:02 am

here look ting to make yuh bawl

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » June 20th, 2004, 12:02 am

^^You can increase the rim size but you will have to lower the tyre height which as smurf was saying you will keep the original rim/tyre diameter.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » June 20th, 2004, 12:10 am

slam it to d ground :twisted:

daymean

Postby daymean » June 20th, 2004, 12:27 am

llol yer ah have that pic lol
so how much so it would cost 2 lower it? "slam it to d ground " lol

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 20th, 2004, 6:57 pm

see what tirerack.com says

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » June 20th, 2004, 9:04 pm

or put airbag supension for convenience

daymean

Postby daymean » June 20th, 2004, 11:13 pm

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 14th, 2007, 3:06 pm

What's the original tyre and rim profile? Bigger/higher profile tyres might help a bit

215/70 16
or
235/60 16

Try an avoid messing with the suspension man.... you have one of the best riding vehicles out there.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 14th, 2007, 3:11 pm

measure the height of the wheel/tire stock on teh vehicle and then check the hieght of the NEW wheel/tire, a 17" wheel with 225 width and 50 series tire may be taller than a 18" wheel with 215 wide tire with a 40 series height...

measure twice, you know the rest...

Return to “TOYOTA”