Help needed for Altezza RS200

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

ddRS200

Help needed for Altezza RS200

Postby ddRS200 » July 21st, 2009, 11:36 pm

I need the assistance of anybody that knows about altezza to help me out.

I just bought a RS200 this year and serviced it at Masterserv......they totally screwed the vehicle. After picking it up the day of service, and parked at my workplace the car struggled to start about four hours later. Baffling,...shaking....abnormal trottle. so I left it the workplace for the night.......After spending the next day trying to figure out what went wrong at Masterserv I gave up...I took it to Partsrunner the next day and they found that the fuel filter seal was not properly replaced. They fix it and the car was performing like new.

However, last week the car start to show the same signs I noticed when MasterServ screwed it over. Low power, low torque and I think the twin cam was just not coming in at 4000 rpm as it usually does, a matter of fact I don't think the twin cam comes in . The car doesn't sounds that same, it has a diiferent sound almost as though the TUR Spec muffler had a silencer on it.

So I though it was the seal problem again but partsrunner check it today and can't seem to find what is causing the poor performance. They changed the spark plugs and install a K& N air filter and the car feels worst...

So anybody with info that can assist will be greatly appreciated.

Specs: Altezza RS200 6sped manual 3sge engine...everyhting is stock.

Thanks

ddRS200

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 22nd, 2009, 12:12 am

Hoss when you went masterserv did they clean your engine? If so you should check if your coils or any electrical connections have moisture. Make a quick check and tighten all your lines etc. You should also make a sure your MAF sensor looking clean.
Blow out your coils/plugs and spray some contact cleaner on the electrical connections.

ddRS200

Postby ddRS200 » July 22nd, 2009, 12:45 am

I'll try that but MasterServ did not clean the engine jus did regular service, change oil, oil filter, fuel filter and air filter.

Remember it was performing as usual after partsrunner fix the seal.....So i'm a little puzzled as to what is causing it to return to poor performance all by itself.

Can anybody recommend a good mechanic that knows about this car?

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 22nd, 2009, 8:55 am

Check to see if the complete fuel filter seal is in place and part isn't broken off and in your fuel system.

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » July 22nd, 2009, 3:08 pm

Sorry to hear about you car. I went thru the same thing with my IS. What you need to do is get down to Sherman in couva as soon as you can. they'll do a proper diagnostic check on the error codes and tell u whats wrong. Forget master serv and those other jokers. In my case, i was loosing compression in one of the cylinders

It might be something as simple as a faulty mass airflow sensor or it could be worse because what you describing sounds like the car going into "limp mode" Its like a failsafe.
In any case now you need sombody that is really familar with these cars. no more trial and error. it will save u in the long run.

ddRS200

Postby ddRS200 » July 22nd, 2009, 3:17 pm

Thanks for the info.

I'll check Sherman. You got his number? address?

WTF

Postby WTF » October 17th, 2009, 9:48 am

i dunno if you resolved this problem as it sounds like the MAF sensor...Sherman in couva is a good mechanic for diagnosing these sensors problems.

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » October 17th, 2009, 10:59 am

yeah he got thru. he went to Sherman and they got it sorted a while back.
it had something to do with the fuel pump being reinstalled incorrectly

ddRS200

Postby ddRS200 » October 17th, 2009, 3:08 pm

rx80 was correct.

Masterserv forgot to put back a small cylinder looking cap in the fuel pump. So the fuel pump was functioning but not at the correct pressure. I had to buy a complete used pump to get that part. Sherman suspect that was the problem after comparing my pump with that of another altezza he was replacing the gas filter for as well.

Now the car driving like when I first got it.

I'm just glad to get back the performance. Masterserv actually paid for all the expenses I incurred while trying to solve the problem. However, I will not go back to them to even check my tyre pressure. If I had a 2jz engine this sort of mistake by Masterserv would have cost them, as the engine would have blew up.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 18th, 2009, 5:42 pm

It's a shame that T&T don't have laws to make masterserve pay for your expense.
It is total nonsense and lack of professionalism by a big company

Return to “TOYOTA”