AE 92-111 Suspension tuning thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

AE 92-111 Suspension tuning thread

Postby eliteauto » February 9th, 2009, 8:11 pm

In an attempt to spark more technical discussions on this forum I'm starting this thread using the most popular chassis currently available, I'm interested in what shock/spring combos, coilover, sway bars and bushings etc. that tuners are using, cut spring, heat spring, stock setup discussions are welcomed

Postby eliteauto » February 9th, 2009, 8:14 pm

take an example : also a great learning thread

http://trdforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=32446

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 9th, 2009, 8:31 pm

so we 5th gen peopel no where on that page...sad
anyway stock 110 or 111 shocks front and stock 80 in the back that all u need

mikeae91corolla

Postby mikeae91corolla » February 9th, 2009, 9:02 pm

ae91 20valve
ae111 shocks kyb and ae111 springs

trdboy

Postby trdboy » February 9th, 2009, 9:16 pm

good thread cl101, i have a question as well, the springs from the bzr levin, are they the same height and tension to the one in the ae111 sedans

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » February 9th, 2009, 9:24 pm

i currently have original ae80 spring/shock installed front an back but the front seems to be higher than the back, can i use one of the stock spring/shock (ae92-111) in the front to drop it a bit??? will post pics to give an idea

trdboy

Postby trdboy » February 9th, 2009, 9:24 pm

also my ae111 trueno has a 3gte which is much heavier than the 20v and cuz of that my shocks are not holding out long and these super strut shocks are very hard to get, so im thinking when my last pair gets busted i wana change to ae111 normal suspension, if im doing so what are my options for coilovers and shocks to handle the weight of my engine

Postby eliteauto » February 9th, 2009, 9:57 pm

trdboy wrote:good thread cl101, i have a question as well, the springs from the bzr levin, are they the same height and tension to the one in the ae111 sedans

From personal experience they don't appear to be, put side by side the Levin ones are shorter and the coils are thicker, I've also seen AE111 shocks (KYBs stamped Toyota) which appear to have bigger shafts than those on the sedan come off of Levins

trdboy

Postby trdboy » February 9th, 2009, 10:05 pm

well the plan is to use a pair of my extra springs in the front of my pops ae92 in an effort to drop the car a little lower cuz the front a lil higher than the back

tte

Postby tte » February 10th, 2009, 10:03 am

I went through a million setups with my ae111 and the 2 that i think were the overall best was tokico blues with eibach springs and later i added full tein ha coilovers. I will still put the tokico/eibach combo as number 1 great performance on any surface and great bang for your buck. I learned alot by messing with diff setups. I would love to share what i consider to be do's and donts with the ae111 with the experiences i had soooooo hail meh :)

Postby eliteauto » February 10th, 2009, 11:23 am

tte, post like yuh mad nah :lol:
I'm considering one of 2 setups now Tokico blues (was quoted $3500 for the 4) with TEIN S-Techs (around $2K)
or the complete Tokico Blue set with matching springs part # HPK 359 (still waiting on a quote) I suspect I'd go with option one although I haven't seen the spring rate of the Tokico spring I suspect the TEINs are a bit stiffer

tte

Postby tte » February 10th, 2009, 11:28 am

I spoke to tokico and they are not making the suspension kit anymore so thats not an option. Apparently it was started but the springs never went into production. As for the teins, i worrey about the s-tech, they lower tha damn car too much and u loose all your suspension travel. I would look into H&R or Eibach. Tein stec end up becing to low of a drop and not enough spring rate to compensate. tein make good coilovers eh doh get me wrong and the springs on other cars may work but all the research i have done leads me away from the teins. even in an nze i find it bottoms out way to quick and its very bouncy due to the constand hitting of the bumpstops.

Postby eliteauto » February 10th, 2009, 12:15 pm

Hmmm thanks I'll have to search for the H&R now

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » February 10th, 2009, 1:44 pm

where selling the tokico blues at that price i need a set thanks do you think i should go with my stock springs currently running 14's upgrading to 16' in a bit

tte

Postby tte » February 10th, 2009, 4:09 pm

Slow Poke wrote:where selling the tokico blues at that price i need a set thanks do you think i should go with my stock springs currently running 14's upgrading to 16' in a bit

I can get them for u. Do you have an ae111 local with the round lights?

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » February 10th, 2009, 5:27 pm

yes i do

Terran

Postby Terran » February 10th, 2009, 6:46 pm

I'm currently using KYB Excel G with Ground Control coilovers (Eibach springs).

My car is the AE91 Corolla with a 20V, automatic.

kidlex

Postby kidlex » February 12th, 2009, 2:34 pm

did the ae92 come with a rear sway bar, if so do uall know where i can get one

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » February 13th, 2009, 12:05 am

all local ae/ee90-92 series cars came with no stabilizer bars front or aft . The Gt cradle setup has the links for the bar.The same will apply for the rear. I am fashioning a rear tower bar for the top of the shock mounts . Once i've worked the stresses , i'll see how functional i can make it.

tte

Postby tte » February 13th, 2009, 8:59 am

trdboy wrote:good thread cl101, i have a question as well, the springs from the bzr levin, are they the same height and tension to the one in the ae111 sedans

No they are not the same tention as the sedan. The local ae111's came the rough road suspension which is 60mm higher in ride height than a stock jap spec ae111.

tte

Postby tte » February 13th, 2009, 9:17 am

trdboy wrote:also my ae111 trueno has a 3gte which is much heavier than the 20v and cuz of that my shocks are not holding out long and these super strut shocks are very hard to get, so im thinking when my last pair gets busted i wana change to ae111 normal suspension, if im doing so what are my options for coilovers and shocks to handle the weight of my engine

You can change to standard ae111 as far as i know, but remember all the spring/shock combos and coilovers are designed for an ae111 with a 20v so u may have to go a custom spring rate. Tein offer the mono flex http://www.tein.co.jp/e/products/mono_flex.html and you can increase the standard spring rate of 6kg/mm Front and 4 kg/mm Rear by 2 kg/mm without having to re-valve the shocks. So maybe you can try 7kg/mm front and 4 kg/mm rear and see how that works. Other than that any suspension that fits the zze110 U.S. model corolla will fit yours and that had the 1zzfe in it which is a 1.8 so that may help a bit as that will be heavier than the 20v. I ran the tein HA in my ae111 liftback and it was the bomb. I ran 7kg/mm front and 6kg/mm rear and that worked insane for me but i was running a 4afe. I would suggest checking out fensport.co.uk Adrian is reel helpfull and has built many 3sgte powered corollas from ae101/ae111/nze121. Im sure he can guide u. 8-)

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » February 14th, 2009, 4:30 pm

question tte , is the wheel base of the runx and the Ae series cars the same , and what is the weight difference?

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » February 14th, 2009, 7:39 pm

what about my ae 100 wagon with a 20v, what is d best setup to use.right now im using stock. :(

trdboy

Postby trdboy » February 15th, 2009, 9:39 am

tte wrote:
trdboy wrote:also my ae111 trueno has a 3gte which is much heavier than the 20v and cuz of that my shocks are not holding out long and these super strut shocks are very hard to get, so im thinking when my last pair gets busted i wana change to ae111 normal suspension, if im doing so what are my options for coilovers and shocks to handle the weight of my engine

You can change to standard ae111 as far as i know, but remember all the spring/shock combos and coilovers are designed for an ae111 with a 20v so u may have to go a custom spring rate. Tein offer the mono flex http://www.tein.co.jp/e/products/mono_flex.html and you can increase the standard spring rate of 6kg/mm Front and 4 kg/mm Rear by 2 kg/mm without having to re-valve the shocks. So maybe you can try 7kg/mm front and 4 kg/mm rear and see how that works. Other than that any suspension that fits the zze110 U.S. model corolla will fit yours and that had the 1zzfe in it which is a 1.8 so that may help a bit as that will be heavier than the 20v. I ran the tein HA in my ae111 liftback and it was the bomb. I ran 7kg/mm front and 6kg/mm rear and that worked insane for me but i was running a 4afe. I would suggest checking out fensport.co.uk Adrian is reel helpfull and has built many 3sgte powered corollas from ae101/ae111/nze121. Im sure he can guide u. 8-)

tanx dude, will definitely check this out

tte

Postby tte » February 16th, 2009, 8:55 am

smokey1275 wrote:question tte , is the wheel base of the runx and the Ae series cars the same , and what is the weight difference?

The levin bzr is 1080kg and the runx z is 1140
2465 mm wheelbase for the levin and 2600 mm for the runx

tte

Postby tte » February 16th, 2009, 8:57 am

rolling_hard wrote:what about my ae 100 wagon with a 20v, what is d best setup to use.right now im using stock. :(

The ae100-111 use the same suspension set up so you can basically run anything available for the ae111 mcpherson strut. What u looking to do with the car, like solodex or just street runnin.

kidlex

Postby kidlex » February 16th, 2009, 10:22 am

smokey 1275: Thanks let me know if u get through with the rear tower bar

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » February 16th, 2009, 3:06 pm

tte wrote:
rolling_hard wrote:what about my ae 100 wagon with a 20v, what is d best setup to use.right now im using stock. :(

The ae100-111 use the same suspension set up so you can basically run anything available for the ae111 mcpherson strut. What u looking to do with the car, like solodex or just street runnin.

is jus for street running....or and it should 2" drop also eeh

tte

Postby tte » February 16th, 2009, 3:22 pm

Most of the springs on the market drop the ae100-111 way too much for the stock shocks to handle. I would say go with a 1in-1.6 max on a set of tokico HP blues. Springs like eibach and H&R offer like a 1.3 in drop so in my opinion that would be the way to roll.

Postby eliteauto » February 19th, 2009, 10:55 pm

tte, thanks for the advice and suggestions, btw how many Toyota will be taking part in solodex this year? anyne will be running on the 22nd March?

Return to “TOYOTA”