just brought a 20v silver top wanna know how to get it runn

Posted: January 28th, 2009, 11:10 am
by biller
hey just bought a silver top 4AG 20v and wanna know how i can get it running at its best on the street what needed to run good

Posted: January 28th, 2009, 12:18 pm
by Zeriam
make sure the electrical is done correctly

Posted: January 28th, 2009, 5:32 pm
by biller
yeah but what is needed to get the best power out of it

Posted: January 28th, 2009, 6:14 pm
by Zeriam
what chassis it going into aexxx?

Posted: January 28th, 2009, 10:16 pm
by corolladude
yeah but what is needed to get the best power out of it

gee ma ah call! i will tell u wat to do with that silver top,,,499:1752

Posted: January 28th, 2009, 10:42 pm
by dmitc
Zeriam wrote:make sure the electrical is done correctly

prob the most important thing to start off with

Posted: January 29th, 2009, 11:41 am
by biller
well it is in a ae 101

Posted: January 29th, 2009, 11:43 am
by Crazi4Car
Wanna buy a 20v st. 4 ee90. where is the best place to get quality engine for gud price

Posted: January 29th, 2009, 4:38 pm
by rolling_hard
Mahadeo in d bamboo ask for vasheed

Posted: January 29th, 2009, 7:06 pm
by Terran
Assuming that you plan to keep the engine naturally aspirated, there isn't too much else you can do to optimize the engine and keep it running reliably. Unless... you have very deep pockets and you don't intend to rely on it as a daily driver.

Posted: January 29th, 2009, 11:14 pm
by corolladude
wat size muffler pipe u runnin?

Posted: January 30th, 2009, 8:07 am
by trdfire
hey man
do you mind if i ask
how much you paid for the engine and where you got it?

Posted: January 30th, 2009, 10:06 am
by Zeriam
a ST 20v starts at about 4500-6000 depends on where u go and who u know

Posted: January 31st, 2009, 3:14 pm
by trdboy
cold air intake, after market extractors, freeflow exhaust, after maket cams and pulley, lightened flywheel,port and polished head,after market ecu, proper wiring and tuning(air fuel ratio)...........well u did ask how to get it to run good right.....and well most importantly talk to corolladude cuz dat sheit does wuk!!!

Posted: February 3rd, 2009, 9:55 am
by eliteauto
^^port and polish not necessary just deburr the castings, head is already well done from stock, try the proper fuel first and see the results i.e. 100 octane :twisted:

Posted: February 3rd, 2009, 12:54 pm
by Metallicork
which castings? Any pics of that corollalover101? The proper fuel is 100 octane.....? Is dat even premium? I was thinking how the super would run in the engine because that premium really killing we pocket!!!

Posted: February 4th, 2009, 1:08 am
by corolladude
allyuh... i NEVER run premium in my 20v..... and no probs...

Posted: February 4th, 2009, 1:39 am
by eliteauto
corolladude, share the wealth of knowledge please :P

Posted: February 4th, 2009, 8:54 am
by Metallicork
corolladude, you never run premium? Anyone knows what this engine is supposed to run on... time is money or in this case....gas....!

Posted: February 4th, 2009, 9:15 am
by eliteauto
Engine was designed and is to ideally run on 100 octane gas, to compensate for our 95 Premium and 92 Super the ECU dumps fuel to prevent detonation but of late I've been knocking so I may have to retard timing or start back using octane boosters

Posted: February 5th, 2009, 9:49 am
by eliteauto
biller, my car is stock so I can't offer much except to advise you to do proper maintenance, use a good oil and ensure electricals are in order, I guess you would have gotten more advice if you had a 4E-FTE, seems most 20V guys are pretty happy just being stock, try :google: and there a sticky above with some links that may help you, it's where I get most of my help

Posted: February 7th, 2009, 10:57 am
by trdboy
like cl101 the stock engine is good enough just keep it properly maintained, after market parts are real expensive for the 20 valve but if u have the money go for it!!

Posted: February 7th, 2009, 12:02 pm
by eliteauto
trdboy, the Trueno badge on your bonnet will slow you down, take it off and sell me and add some HP nah :| :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: February 7th, 2009, 12:35 pm
by trdboy
haha, boy check ebay i see them selling for like 10 dollars, all i did was was take out mine from the old bumper and stick it on the bonnet

Posted: February 7th, 2009, 4:19 pm
by Zeriam
a manual 20v on bago country roads would be real bess...hoping to take mines over there for some fun driving

Posted: February 7th, 2009, 4:39 pm
by trdboy
when u making that run z??????? looking to head up there for easter myself but i doh trust the boat boy i feel they go scrape up my car

Posted: February 7th, 2009, 4:43 pm
by Zeriam
trdboy wrote:when u making that run z??????? looking to head up there for easter myself but i doh trust the boat boy i feel they go scrape up my car
been on the boat a few times with a car no worries, when would be as soon as my car is done it could be a day lime jump on the boat go over drive around and come back home

Posted: February 10th, 2009, 11:56 am
by biller
well fellas when u all come up link me so we can hook up cause i from bago and my 20v is a manual and it does work really nice so holla when u all coming and we go lime

Posted: February 10th, 2009, 3:45 pm
by Zeriam
biller,no scene, i used to live in bago for a few years anything change?

Tobago on the boat

Posted: February 10th, 2009, 4:04 pm
by ramishrrr
Going on de boat to Tobago is no problem..........about getting yuh car damaged. I have taken my car at least once a year. Even my bike that weighs 622lbs goes also!
Just watch your proximity to other cars and the walls of the boat. Close your mirrors. There are some people who would try to squeeze through the smallest opening for a shortcut, with studs on their clothes, and a bag with 4" nails poking through it. They hardly care about the $500-a-quart paint on your bonnet !
But I still think yuh safe.
Ramish.