HELP!!!! Info on Toyota Altis

Posted: November 24th, 2008, 10:48 pm
by AbuStar
Looking to buy a 2004 Toyota Altis. But was wondering if it was a good idea to do this in terms of service, Parts and insurance wise...... any info would be nice. Would hate to buy and then is ketch arse to enjoy it.

Thanks in advance
AbuStar

Posted: November 25th, 2008, 5:51 am
by AbuStar
bump

Posted: November 25th, 2008, 11:16 am
by AbuStar
bump

Posted: November 26th, 2008, 9:31 am
by ztune
nice car...no complains except when i bought mines, there were very few on the road and insurance companies did not know anything about the vehicle so they do not want to insure...but i see quite a few everyday now, so insurance should not be a problem.

maintenance wise, u dont have anything to worry about except to change oil, filter, plugs etc etc...i have mines over a year now, and i didn't have 2 change any major parts. No major attention needed. Cost of parts, i do not know.

car rides really nice, nice buy.....however the back suspension is pretty soft.

Posted: December 29th, 2008, 8:42 pm
by Injun
Did you buy this?

I've had my Altis for a little over a year and half with no worries other than warped rotors which I got machined.

Pretty decent every day driver... I work it pretty hard, clocking 160-170 both ways on the highway every day... I've done about 50 000 km in it so far. Back suspension is soft, yes.

Posted: December 29th, 2008, 9:26 pm
by A172
^yuh have a fass cyar dey bai :shock:

Posted: December 29th, 2008, 10:41 pm
by psykiddo
lol remind me of the time i make from debe to POS in about 20 minutes. dat was around 12 in de night

Posted: December 29th, 2008, 11:52 pm
by ztune
i hit 190 wid mine already....talk abt luck!

Debe to POS

Posted: December 30th, 2008, 6:54 am
by ramishrrr
Psykiddo.

From Debe (near Penal) to POS is about 45 miles. If yo do that in 20 minutes then by calculation in 60 minutes you will do 45x(60divide20)=135miles.
So your average speed was 135 mph !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I thought only Patrick Manning wanted a Bombardier. Me eh know it have Trinituners who already have one.
Yuh sure is not Dibe in Long Circular ?

Posted: December 30th, 2008, 7:52 am
by ztune
^^nah boi, d car does move...

Posted: December 30th, 2008, 9:26 am
by psykiddo
lol thas from de beginnin of the highway to the outskirts of pos i checking. and yea the car does move.

but ent they reduce the importation of roro vehivles to 3 years, so u may only be able to get the 2005/6 model? but besides that parts rel easy to get. i cah find parts so easy for the japanese ones

Posted: December 30th, 2008, 11:43 am
by Chemical
My wife has the 06 NZE model...the altis is the same frame/suspension as the nze , only the front and back is cosmetically different. The 1.6 VVT-I is a pretty fast engine, & they come with factory extractors.

Suspension is positive & i still feel this is really built for a lady. :lol:

Posted: December 30th, 2008, 12:27 pm
by ztune
the only problem i have with my altis is, it is a little bigger than the NZE, yet sits on the same suspension as the NZE which makes it pretty soft. My rear suspension sucks big time. 2 adult people in the back and the rear goes dowwwwwwwn... :(

Posted: December 30th, 2008, 1:26 pm
by psykiddo
stock NZE isn't as stable on the highways though, with the crosswinds. i had to change my tyres to 205/50/R15, which i find has a rough ride. i may put 215/60 instead. the car is also high which adds to the instability.

but wrt cornering i find it handles really good and doesn't sway. how's the altis with those scenarios?

Posted: December 30th, 2008, 1:29 pm
by AbuStar
is there any aftermarket spring for them to tighten the suspension? because i really heard that the suspension could do with some work?

Posted: December 30th, 2008, 7:18 pm
by A172
Uncle Ben anyone? :|